We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine.”
Review of Villas Marlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Marlin
Ranked #104 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed February 6, 2011

My husband and I looked into Villas Marlin and as it was late, we got #521 which is a two bedroom, duplex, which is more space than we need. We booked through Alvin and Fernando from Oracle Villas and Tours. They are very easy going and simple to work with. No deposit down is we can confirm our flight itinerary after making the villa booking. We paid in cash so we got to save on the car service which would have otherwise cost twice as much.

The apartment we got (which wasn't our first choice) is fine. The furnitures and decor are tired and old. The bathrooms are very clean and well stocked. The kitchen is well equipped but we did not use it. There's a washer and dryer in the unit which is very convenient. The drawbacks of this apartment are:- lack of a safe, hair dryer (according to Alvin and Fernando, guests in the past conveniently "took" hair dryers home) and rather old and dirty closets.

There's complimentary wi-fi, towels/toiletries, beach towels which are very useful. There's a phone but we did not use it for any local calls. The TV in the living room is a flat screen but is fuzzy for most channels. The one in the bedroom is a CRT.

There's a mini mart, as mentioned in previous reviews. Mind you, it is convenient but it is an absolute rip off. If you need sun screen, drinks, snacks, go to the pharmacy in the plaza across from the villa or else where. On average, the prices here ranges at least 50cents or more than other bodegas/pharmacy.For eg. we bought a bottle of sunscreen for approximately USD $20 and it was sold for $18 in a nearby pharmacy.

The pool area is clean and not crowded. We got lounge chairs easily any time of the day. There is no direct access to the beach as it is fenced up along the edge of the villa to the beach. Don't attempt to climb over as the security may reprimand you. You have to exit the villa's compound through the gate (where cars come in), walk around the bank and there's a public access there.
It is a nice beach, clean, and not as crowded. Clear turquoise water. Very satisfied with the beach.

The location is unbeatable. Its rigt by Plaza Kukulkan (easy to spot while you are on the bus) and close to shopping/restaurants.

We took a bus to downtown Cancun to check out Mercado 28. We are not bargain shoppers and abhor the constant "harassment" by the vendors. We just ate at El Ceja which was reportedly recommended. I would say the food is just so-so, but expensive for area.

We had great dinners at Habichuela Sunset and Asiana. We are from New York City and are very picky about our food, but these two passed our tests. Also, they are pricey but they are in fancier setting. We thorougly enjoyed Habaneros for breakfast and lunch. It is across from Plaza Flamingo and this place is cheap and good. Must try.

Just FYI, El Shrimp Bucket is closed para siempre. It has not opened as of Feb 2011. We went in search for it , so don't waste your time as you already got your answer here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVATC, Manager at Villas Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Ordinarily an operator would be ok with a review that describes the guests stay as fine...However my partner and I strive for excellence....so a review that says their stay is "fine" makes us feel as though we have not done our jobs.

Client booked late and with a specific budget and this Villa is all we had that fit their requirements. Their only complaint was dated furniture (the apartments owner are an older couple)....but certainly in good condition...and the closets were not clean...I imagine that is a function of the rest of the apartment recently receiving a renovation of the bathrooms, Kitchen, doors and A/C......I am sure after reading this the owner will renovate the closets also...he is like us...he does what is necessary to be a cut above.... Cable TV in Cancun is not the best quality...so I am not surprised at that observation either....however the Cable company is not like us...so I don't expect much change there.

No hair dryer...they all disappeared after very few rentals along with our face cloths which ended up serving as souvenir packing material ....no safe...will have the owner rectify that tomorrow...we do however supply starter soaps, shampoo, conditioner and lotion, beach and bath towels, bottled water with Hot/cold dispenser, dishwashing liquid paper towels and TP...

How they missed the entrance to the beach in front of the main pool I am not sure....the same guard that chastised them for climbing over the wall is posted in front of the entrance to the beach.

We were disappointed our service received a 3...we met them when they came in at 12:30 at night and escorted them to their apartment and gave a short orientation (it was late)...they were here for 3 days and never called us for anything requiring service...and I went personally to the Villa to set up their return transportation...which picked them up on time.

All in all I guess, I am too thin skinned... we care about having guests leave us feeling they have received the best service possible....so a just "ok", makes us feel we need to work harder...so we will!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 265 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

Couldn't ask for better service. Unit 715 and Alvin. Fernando and Manuel make sure you have everything you need within their power. Views second to none. A big part of why our vacation was next to perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpresutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

This was our first experience with the Vacation By Owner site-renting a condo and I have to say we were very happy-the first thing everyone needs to understand when going to Mexico-the standards aren't the same as what we are used to in Canada-but they were just fine for us-we didn't go to Mexico to sit in our condo-we went to be out in the sun!! Our room was clean and had all we needed for our stay. The staff were attentive to our needs-which weren't many. The Villas Marlin was a nice, quiet, clean place to stay and so convenient to all the amenities. We enjoyed going out in the evening and walking and felt very safe-the area is very nice and a lot of things to do close by-mall, restaurants, casino etc. We didn't eat out a lot as we found it cheaper to cook in the condo-we did a few trips on the bus to Walmart for all our food needs-taking the bus there and taxi back-it cost 12.00. Some of the things we liked the most was the freedom to do what we wanted when we wanted or nothing at all. I would recommend Villas Marlin to anyone who wants a nice, affordable trip to Cancun. Thanks Alvin and Fernando for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Many other reviews have dealt the Villas Marlin in general, the absolutely great location, beach, etc so we won't get into repeating that.
This is about Alvin & Fernando who provide service and hospitality that goes above and beyond.
We contacted Alvin in November to make a last minute booking for the month of January/11. All that was available was a 1 bed, 1 bath unit which we took.
On Saturday we arrived at CUN an hour late but our complimentary private shuttle was there as promised and had the 2 of us at the Villas Marlin in no time and Alvin was there to greet us.
We were a little disappointed in the size and layout of our unit and we felt Alvin could sense this. On Monday morning Alvin approached us and said a 2 bed, 2 bath unit had opened up and he was moving us. Within an hour we were in our new unit, which was great.
Over the course of our stay we bumped into Alvin or Fernando several times and they always made sure to ask how things were going and whether we needed anything.
We were to leave on January 29 and Alvin approached us a week before our scheduled departure to confirm the time of our complimentary shuttle back to CUN.
Due to a medical emergency at home we had to book a flight home the evening of January 25 to leave first thing on January 26. I went to see Alvin the evening of January 25 to ask if we could get our ride to the airport changed. He immediately called and our ride back to the airport was there first thing the next morning.
To sum up Alvin and Fernando are absolute professionals.
You would do well to give them very serious consideration if looking at a stay at Villas Marlin. They did everything to make our stay perfect and were there when we needed them at the time of our emergency back home.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We found this place on TripAdvisor so thought I should pass on our good fortune and do a review of Villas Marlin so the karmic wheel is in balance.

We stayed here from January 21 - 31, 2011 and booked online with Oracle Villas & Tours, our hosts Alvin & Fernando. Booking was very easy, and I called Alvin to have a couple questions answered (the fact that he answers his own phone was a plus right from the start!). Paperwork flowed smoothly via email including the contract and airport transportation voucher.

From start to finish, this was a fantastic find: airport pickup (and dropoff) in a private van (no stopping at every resort in the zone on the way to ours), the size of the unit for the price, the facilities...everything was great.
Alvin and Fernando met us on arrival and gave the low-down on what we could expect and what they could do to help us make our stay more enjoyable (which is just about anything...these guys go out of their way to make sure you are happy). We loved the quiet, the pool area and the fanstastic beach it's located on. We availed ourselves of the laundry service mid-week, dropping off a huge bag of laundry, and got it back the next day all for about $9 US (110 pesos). The pool bar made a great Pina Colada for about $3. Didn't eat at the complex at all (see below). We also used the on-site mini-convenience store, and while a tad more expensive, it was certainly convenient,especially when we ran out of margarita mix and didn't feel like heading out on a shopping trip. Plus the bag of ice I bought there lasted the entire 10 days, and we still had ice left when we left!

The unit has 2 floors, with full bathrooms on both floors; the kitchen, living room and one bedroom is located on the second floor, with a patio and the fantastic view (see attached photo). There is a water cooler in unit so we didn't have to spend money buying bottled water. The units all have ceiling fans and air conditioning (a nice "green" touch is that each room has its own wall-mounted spot unit so you only need to cool the area needed). In fact, we only used the air in the upstairs bedroom on 2 nights; on all the other days/nights, we left the patio slider and bedroom window open and let the ocean breeze keep the room comfortable and/or used the ceiling fans. There are flat panel TV’s in each room, hooked to cable, with several channels running English-language shows. There’s also high-speed wireless internet in the unit.

We took this unit because we wanted to try a different kind of vacationing, having done the cruises and all-inclusives before. So the kitchen was a key ingredient to our stay and it was adequate: the fridge was fantastic (energy efficient, but kept the beer very cold!), but the cooktop was challenging to use both large burners at the same time (it's a little small). There is a microwave and toaster oven and coffee maker. I'm sure most people would use this for breakfasts and lunch preparation pretty much exclusively, and for that it was fine, but for 3 meals a day, it took some "pan juggling."

We did our own shopping, venturing out beyond our comfort zone and jumping a bus to WalMart for supplies (Alvin gave us the route number to look for). NOTE FOR FUTURE TRAVELERS: the bus does not stop AT Walmart exactly, at least not so you'd know it. It stops either across a small alleyway or at a bus stop in front of it, but there are no signs whatsoever. If it hadn't been for the kindness of a gentlemen sitting behind us, who for no apparent reason tapped my wife on her shoulder and said "If you want Walmart, you'd better get out now" we would have been Subway Charlies, riding the bus to the end of the line. You can tell the bus driver you're going to Walmart, but they don't always remember and announce that you're there. After that adventure, the busses became a daily usage item for us: cheap (8.5 pesos) and reliable, even late at night.
In fact, on that first night, we bailed early because we had no idea where we were going, which actually turned into a blessing because it was right in front of a large supermarket (Chedraui). We ended up shopping there that night and on future trips as well. Even though we don't speak Spanish, we could easily figure out what we wanted and their prices were quite reasonable. They even had a nice bakery where we bought croissants, muffins and other pastries for our patio breakfasts. We did make it to Walmart on one occasion: large, very clean, lot of stock and easy to shop at as well.

Villas Marlin's location is fantastic: it's dead center of the hotel zone, far enough from the entertainment area (around the Forum Mall) to be nice and quiet, but close enough that a 15 minute bus trip will take you pretty much where you want to go. The mall across the street is nice (Kukulcan Plaza), but pretty high end. A 5 minute walk brings you to La Isla mall, also a little high end. If you've got the stamina, 15 minutes walk (or 5 minute bus rides) there's the Flamingo Plaza, a little more reasonable (plus a Margarativille, a Bubba Gumps and an Outback, if you've gone all the way to Mexico for that kind of thing). A 45 minute walk (10 minute bus ride) is the Forum Mall, which is sort of the center of the entertainment area, surrounded by the night clubs and restaurants. There's also a flea market at the beginning of this area, with tons of little stalls for those great moments in trinket price haggling.

We didn't use Alvin or Fernando for any tours, but Fernando did set us up with some transportation we needed at the last minute (and handled it when it changed even more last minute), plus hooked us up with one of his (many) local contacts to help us get into a couple of nightclubs...he was born in Cancun and knows all the ins-and-outs, plus who to see to get pretty much anything you'd want.

We would highly recommend Villas Marlin, for its location and value, but mostly because of the care and attention we received from Alvin and Fernando to ensure you will enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the villa's marlin Jan 13th-18th. The weather for the first two days was rocky but we made the best of it. The villa's marlin is located right behind the Plaza Kulkucan and in walking distance to the outdoor shopping mall. The bus is located there as well as a bank, and the police station so I felt very safe and the property had 24/7 security. The condo's have different owner's and companies who maintain the properties. We stayed in condo 435 owned by Frank John www.ebuymexico.com/Cancun-Vacation-Condo-Rentals.htm he owns five condo's on the property. After finding the location he was very helpful in supplying all the info we needed to enjoy our trip even accomodating us to come in a day earlier than expected. He provided us info for transfers which were absoluty amazing with private transfers to and from the property. If you have been to cancun before you know the hassle you go thru at the airport with all the timeshares. condo 435 is two bedrooms 1 1/2 bath two levels oceanfront. downstairs was a bedroom with 2 beds with a half bath, the full bath was downstairs also which was a little annoying if you had to use the bathroom at night and stayed in the upstairs bedroom, but we got over that shortly when we opened the balcony curtains and saw the blue ocean. the condo had amazing views on the second level. full kitchen, living room area, and second bedroom with a king bed, great closet space. It was nice and clean and the housekeeper Landy who was AWESOME came everyday except Sunday. She made sure we had everything we needed extra towels/washclothes/pillows etc. This property is not contemporary you won't find wine coolers/stainless steel/flatscreens etc. It's decorated in more of a Mexican style with looked to be authentic Mexican furniture with Mexican carvings, no Ikea furniture, so if you are Bourgeoisie and expect someone to cater to your every need then this is not the place for you. If you are spontaneous and like to explore and find thing on your own then you will definitley enjoy this location. We took the bus which was 85pesos about $1us to the walmart for groceries and the walmart had the freshest seafood that I have ever seen, we bought enough for one dinner and some breakfast food and snacks and of course liquor. note if you take the bus make sure to take one of your suitcases with you to put your groceries in. It came in very handy. the bus ride to walmart was about 20-30mins so you can imagine the cab ride. we were going to rent a car but when we found out the bus goes every for about a $1 we rode the bus the whole time. I would only recommend renting a car if you are going to explore xelha or xcaret, or drive to the mayan ruins etc. The only complaint I had would be the pool temp. it was cold because the pools are heated by the sun and the hot tubs were not on, you had to ask someone to turn them on and they were not hot either. But after a few shots of tequilla you couldn't tell the difference lol. I'm sure in the hotter months the pools are amazing. We will definitely be back and stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsgohavefunnthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Upon our arrival we were greeted by Alvin and Fernando. They were very helpful with orienting us to the grounds, condo, and general area. The Villa Marlins was a wonderful place to vacation with our family. Our condo had a perfect location. We walked right out of our doors and was at the pool, the beach was also right there. The beach was very nice and wide. It was very quiet in the evenings, no noise! It is definetly family oriented. The condo is also located within walking distance to many shops and places to dine, I must note Alvin came to our rescue on one instance that will not go unforgotten. We could not find head lettuce at Walmart but Alvin saved the day! This is an example of how helpful they are. I admit I was a little skeptical about staying there after being spoiled in 5 star resorts but it was wonderful and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.2 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#89 of 177 in Cancun
242 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#72 of 177 in Cancun
3,004 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#66 of 177 in Cancun
1,007 reviews
2.2 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Marlin

Address: Avenida Kukulkan Km. 13.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Cancun
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $92 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Marlin is medium sized, family oriented condominium complex located in the center of Cancun's Hotel Zone. On the beach and adjacent to Kukulkan Mall the complex is close to restaurants, activities and night life. The complex features 3 pools, mini market, 24 hour security and is directly on the best beach in Cancun. Villas Marlin features condos of all sizes, price points and features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villas Marlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Marlin Hotel Cancun
Marlin Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing