We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Marlin
Nearby Hotels
$316
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$501
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$238
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$595
$495
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$579
$371
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Palace(Cancun)
$616
$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
$886
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$150
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
130
85
24
12
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
85
24
12
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomkukulcan mallhotel zonethese unitsbeach towelscleaning serviceevery other daycleaning ladyfamily poolbus stopconvenience storemain poolair conditionerpools are greatweek staythe ritz carltonbeautiful beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 276 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I've been to Cancun before but this was the first time I did a private rental in Cancun (usually stay in hotel). I enjoyed my stay at Villas Marlin!
Best thing to remember THIS IS NOT A HOTEL. It's a condo. It's not perfect.Decor is decent. If you need a safe, nice location to sleep, relax and you don't need to be waited on hand and foot then this is perfect. We got a FANTASTIC Rate.
Alvin and Fernando were GREAT! Easy to access, very informative, honest and helpful. We stayed in #424 because #420 was...I don't remember, but nevertheless 424 worked for our use. It was right by an easy entry and exit access point to leaving the property and right by the kiddie pool. The balcony view was great (people in previous reviews complained about view of the roof, but you only see if it you are looking down). Only one balcony in that condo, in the living room, no bedroom balcony. But it was nice and spacious.
The water in front of Villas was a little rough (I usually stay on the Northern end of the Hotel Zone) so if you are a strong swimmer I suppose you can but the Lifeguard advised us not to. I was a bit confused about the concession stand hours (very random). It was only open 1 day that I was there. Luckily there is an OXXO right across the street as well as a tiny little market within the condo property.
Bank is right next door so that was great. Bus right outside the front. Fritanga had THE BEST fish tacos (in my opinion) so we ate there every day...sometimes 2 times.
Our kitchen was small but clean. We needed to purchase a few things (extra toilet paper, dish soap, paper towels, a dish towel/sponge for cleaning etc) but I expected that. Needed a broom or some type of swifer (we track in sand from beach and pool area...you don't use daily maid service so would be nice for folks to be able to clean up behind themselves).
We were supplied Towels. Air Conditioner ran great. TV's worked. Adequate pots and pans, microwave, fridge. No ice trays (that would be nice). Bottled water was supplied.

Best part: Location--if you do not want to be dead in the heart of the party action this is a nice location. It's close enough that a cab or bus takes about 5 mins to get you there but you also are far enough away that you can stroll down the street without being asked to buy something every few steps. Easy access to quick food/mall/bank/supplies.
Alvin & Fernando---they were just the most hospitable folks. Fernando took the boys out to show them around the night life and he helped me anytime I had questions on anything. He was right within the property somewhere but without being intrusive.
Quiet--it's a pretty laid back property
Pool Restrooms were some of the cleanest I've seen anywhere.

Room to improve: Just the tiny things above--cheap little broom/swifer so that folks on longer stays can tidy up behind themselves rather than needing to wait for the cleaning service.

Room Tip: I thought #424 was a good spot.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaeJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week in unit 434. What Ann incredible everything! Location, view, housekeeper, furnishings, muy bien! We rented from owner, Frank Johns through VRBO.com. reading other reviews we were a bit worried, or first trip to mexico brought our 15 yr old daughter. Condo had excellent a/c and plenty of hot water as well as wi-fi. His housekeeper took very good care of condo seemed like every time we went out we came home to fresh towels made beds and clean, what a lovely vacation. We booked Ann excellent excursion to isla mujeras at the kulkucan mall across the road. Best day ever, catamaran ride, held a shark, snorkel, included all drinks and lunch all day! Took bus downtown to Wal-Mart but market located in villa marlins had a good selection as well and we are a few meals in the mall. Walked down to isla mall for great restaurants on backside of mall overlooking lagoon. Took Ann even longer wall down to senior frogs one night and carlos & charlies another night. We were up for a walk bus is only 9.5 pesos one way and takes you to all these locations as well. Never lacking a bus when needed. Be ware of "the masks" characters near congo bongo yes, great photo ops but they will tell you who and how much you should tip each of them after you take all the pics with your own phone....
If your not interested in all inclusive villa marlins is place to stay great beach, great pools, excellent security and staff. The Harrielle's, Sterling, IL

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was our first trip to Mexico. We had arranged to meet the manager of unit 705 at Villa Marlin for our key code and introductory tour of the unit. He failed to show. We were escorted to room 705 by a security person and found another couple in the unit. They had a 4-month contract for the same unit. We were taken to the manager's other unit, 707, and gained entrance through a key code supplied by the renters of unit 705. Fortunately, they are a nice couple from Canada; otherwise, it would have been uncomfortable knowing that strangers had access to our unit. Room 707 is not what we were expecting from the reviews we read on the VRBO website prior to our rental. There was no refrigerator, no hairdryers, no cooking oven (there is a microwave), no dishwasher, and no TV due to unpaid cable bills. There was an insufficient amount of dinner plates, glasses and silverware. The mattresses (no box springs) on both queen-sized beds were badly stained, shredded and in need of replacing. The coffee pot did not drip properly and we needed to jury rig it just to make coffee each morning. There was an odor leaking from the kitchen sink because no traps were installed underneath to prevent the sewage smell from backing up into the pipes. The unit itself is very stark - no artwork, no decorations and very little other amenities to make it feel welcoming. The plastic chairs on the balcony were cracked and the legs on the plastic table kept falling off whenever the table was moved. We finally did meet the manager near the end of our stay. He apologized profusely for failing to greet us but we honestly believe that, regardless of the explanation, contingency plans should have been initiated. He offered us a compensated return trip to Cancun and guaranteed us a quick return on our damage deposit. It is now 2 months since our vacation and there has been NO reimbursement to date. We have requested it several times and have communicated with the manager to no avail. I want other travelers to be aware of the negative experience we had dealing with this particular manager/owner. Our vacation turned out to be rather nice thanks to the couple from Canada and other owners we met while staying at Villa Marlin. I do recommend the Villas for the beautiful view, the well-maintained pools, the friendly staff and security personnel as well as the property's proximity to restaurants, and shopping. But, I strongly advise renters to be discriminate about the managers/owners with whom you deal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 30BevK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Tough to evaluate as this is a condo with many different owners. We dealt with Alvin and Fernando who are top notch. Their driver meets you at the airport and they are waiting a the complex to give you a personal walkthrough. We were in 715 which had received some thoughtful comments all of which were corrected when we arrived several weeks later.
Security was excellent. Sunbeds plentiful and an excellent experience. Please understand this is not a 5 star resort but compares vey favorably to condo rentals at U.S. beaches. speaking of beaches--it is 15 miles long and puts 7mile at Grand Cayman to shame. This is not a party central location as bars and clubs are several miles away. A plus for us! We walked to restaurants every night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reddevil1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We are staying at the Villas Marlin January 9 to May 9 in units 705/707
Lets start with the positives. The Villas is situated at KM 13, a really great location on the Cancun strip. Directly across the street is the Kukulcan Mall and a city block walk north is La Isla, a great open air shopping experience,
Tourist police are next door, as well as a major bank and a cell phone company where you can stop in and get a local sim. Many great restaurants in short walking distance, ranging in price fro $ to $$$$ from taco stands to Ruth Chris. Sisal just a short walk south of the Kukulcan for Sunday brunch is great, comes with mimosas, great vegetarian crepes, an egg/omelet station and a great selection of deserts.
The Cancun bus system is wonderful, 9.5 pesos for any one-way trip, no transfers, the paper ticket is proof of purchase only. R1 and R2 run up and down the strip so you can take any one and I assure you there are many. The R2 takes you to Wal-Mart and market 28, then on to Chardraui and Sorians grocery stores and Home Depot, the R1 to ADO bus stop if you want to hop on a wonder coach for 58 pesos and head directly to Playa del Carmen, R1 then goes on to market 23, the place the locals shop. R27, about every 45 minutes, goes to the wonderful Plaza Las Americas Cancun with great stores and dirt-cheap super movie theatre. Catch the bus into the first city stop and a cab in fewer than 30 pesos almost anywhere. Cabs from Kukulcan to down are around 200 pesos. Please use their money, its is far better for everyone and you will get a fair exchange at many money exchanges and bank machines.
In our third return trip to the Villas Marlin, we have met and socialized with many, many of the owners who rent their private homes to tourists like us. 99.9% of them are honest and trustworthy, but not all. There are 3 good on site agents as well as a few freelancers and others on VRBO. Be very careful all of specials and fire sales, good units and landlords do not discount for any reason. Their prices are already fair and equitable. A lot of the units are circa late 80’s or early 90’s. Most with older CRT TV’s and double or single beds, with or without Wi-Fi, so read the listings and call direct. The layouts on many have changed as most 1 bedroom have been converted to 2, with the same square footage, but that’s Ok as you should not be sitting around the room anyway. There are 2,3 and 4 bedroom available for the larger families with multiple bathrooms. We have been in many that have been recently renovated and they truly are jems, but are never described as diamonds.
The staff is efficient and friendly but cannot speak much English, but this is Mexico so we should try to learn some of their lingo. Security is always there and will call on you if you break any of the condo rules, so do not be upset at them doing their job. Jose, the head of security speaks and understands sufficient English to react to any of your concerns, understand that he is your friend and will help you any time. There is a great little store at the lower elevator level in building 2, a little of everything and we try to support this local couple as much as we can. The pool bar is open often but not all the time, depending on the weather and amount of clientele. The pools are good, not hot but refreshing. I have never seen a green flag on the beach since coming here; you must swim only in front of the yellow flags. The villas have some great lifeguards for the beach area and as Marlin beach is a favorite for the locals, expect great crowds on the weekends and holidays. We love seeing the family unit; you may see 3 or 4 generations at the beach together. Remember this is their beach to, do not be upset if they are blocking your view of the water. Grab an s shaped lounger from the guard palapa and join them on the beach. There is a super dangerous undertow here; we have witnessed a few drowning and many people having to be rescued 50 feet from shore. When you hear the lifeguards blowing their whistle, pay attention, it may be that you are about to get into trouble, these boys know the waters.
The jet pools are just that, not heated but relaxing. There are lots of pools to use as shown in most pictures. There are sufficient washrooms at either end of the complex, and they are maintained many times daily.
The VRBO listing I responded to and booked looked wonderful and almost to good to be true, well I was right, it did not live up to the colorful description submitted by the owner’s representative. The original listing number actually changed after I booked it, which made me suspicious, but it has actually changed 4 times, the last 2 showing a different unit controlled by the owner rep. He often mixed info for both units and is using the one listing to flog both.
I will be as subjective as I can be and will state the description and what was actually noted when we moved in for the four-month contract.
New air conditioned elevator- not air conditioned, a few years old and left us to walk to the 7th floor more than a dozen times, with luggage on check in and groceries after Wall mart and Costco. The board is now in the process of repairs to curb breakdown.
Recently renovated-the owner rep told me specifically 2004, he is about 10 years off on his described date. It is nice but never would I call it luxury.
In no way can he guarantee you will be satisfied with your vacation get away, he offers nothing as a guarantee, not even your damage deposit back.
Elegant does not describe any unit in the whole villas complex, these are renovated 30-year-old condos.
Beachfront 3 story, not, one bedroom down one up, only 2 story.
Note to read testimonials that most have been self submitted on his site and edited by him.
This unit is not next to the Ritz Carlton, a mile away, the Barceló Cancun is next-door, and a bit noisy at the south pool sometimes.
24 on call maintenance, never tried but doubt it, they all go home at 5 except security.
Alarm clock-none. Ceiling fans-none. Central air-not-mini splits in 4 rooms.
Freezer in Samsung refrigerator that did not work, lived out of OXO coolers.
Oven, toaster type and convection did not work. Washer-not in this unit, dryer not in this unit. Wi-Fi-worked until the owner took router while we were out and said he had to return it to someone.
Elder access-lets hope the elevator is working. Immaculate, not really, kitchen sink leaked badly and I shamed him in to getting it fixed. Sewer smell as much of the plumbing at the Villas is not properly P-trapped. Kitchen fully equipped, my back woods cabin in Alberta is much better equipped, no egg turner, 3 plates, no glasses or wine glasses, a mix match of cutlery and pots and pans I would not be able to sell at any garage sale.
3200 square feet, both 705 and 707 together including their decks, maybe more like 1300 inside one unit.
Concierge-never met one or saw one. Living room 1 sofa and one chair, OK for kids. Master suite queen, no box spring, sits very low. Use 2 sets of sheets to protect yourself from the gross mattress and your body, not bad for comfort thought. Down stairs 2 single beds, OK, not too gross. Newer toilets but not right-height. Sub-Zero fridge, brand name –this one is a Samsung and did not work properly, had a lot of spoiled food. 6 gas burner is only 5. Dining room has chairs for 5 not 8. Dishwasher that would be me because it is non-existent. Childs highchair-not to be found, oven not stove oven but toaster, pantry items-none, nadda not even salt and pepper or toilet paper when we arrived. No washer or dryer in this one. Fitness room /equipment, I asked many owners about this and they asked what planet I came from-non-existent. Babysitter-on your own finding one. HD box and 42 inch in living are OK, nice blue ray and sound system, no telephone when we stayed there. No TV in master, just box. Fast internet-not in Mexico. Hot tub-not, heated pools-not. Game room-none to be found, books none to be found, video library, non to be found, games, none to be found, music library, none to be found.
He had double booked our 4 month contracted 705 unit no less than 3 times and redirected people into 707, even lying to them that I was sick and could not move. A nice couple from Pensylvania showed up with no one here to meet them. They had a contract for our unit too. I knew the code to 707 as we were given the use of the washer dryer as our unit had none, so I let them in. The owner contacted them 3 days later with some lame excuse.
Owner creaped us out a few times by entering unit while we were not there, actually moving personnel garments and jewelry, nothing was taken. We were told by another resident that he was entertained in the unit by the owners rep while we were not in there. Creepy.
My advise, check the reviews on line, speak to the owner directly and make your decision based on other travelers observation, stay away from this guy.
I have in writing from the owners company representative, from their email address, letters where we were cursed at, threatened with eviction and were forcibly moved to 707 February 14 for the duration of our 4-month contract, and he even refused to amend the contract. So far we have been threatened by the owner’s rep no less than 3 times with security and or police. Our power was cut off for non payment by owner, internet cut off for non payment by owner, sky box cut off by non payment by owner and the villas management has told us that the water and gas will be cut at the end of the month because of 4 months in the rears on HOA payments. Management team here said that he is the owner and can do what ever he wants to. Susan and Carlos are the condo administrators, do not expect any help when you are in trouble, they will kick you when you are down, as they said they will cut the water and gas. My wife has cried more times in the last 2 months than in our 34 years of marriage, thanks to the owner’s rep and Villas management.
Jose, the head of security told us that he was approached by the owner rep to have us evicted because he is upset he did not charge us enough and he is loosing money, called me a whiner because I had no refrigerator for my 6 week stay in 705 and now he wants us out, what kind of person does this, you can guess what his problem is. Nice to your face, shakes your hand and when you turn around, uugh, in the back. The owners rep has not contacted us in a few weeks and we dread hearing from him. We have changed the dead bolt and lock all the storm shutters from the inside every night because he creeps us out soo much. We will go to the Canadian Consulate and see a lawyer tomorrow, wish us luck.
Got to love Mexico
Enjoy Cancun and the great Caribbean Sea.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Retiredtravelers682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews