We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value--right downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria De Lourdes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maria De Lourdes
Ranked #136 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
omaha
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value--right downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

This little hotel is consistently clean with friendly staff. Most speak only Spanish, so brush up before you come. All the rooms are on the upper floor and there is no elevator and sometimes no one to carry your bags. Ask for a room away from the street. The rear rooms look out onto the courtyard and pool. Continental breakfast is included (toast, jam coffee and orange juice). You can walk from here across the street to Pericos restaurant for a bit of good food and great entertainment. The best part is you can walk back to the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wizardofid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

This motel doesn't not live up to its web-site. I like downtown compared to the beach and I had a room that faced the street. The noise from the window A/C stuck in the wall would barely drown out the noise from the traffic. It was clean and the staff is good but not enough to make up for other short comings. In my wanderings around downtown I found other locations that for a few bucks more are well worth the increase expense.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2005

I just returned from staying in this hotel for one night to make an early flight in Cancun. The reviews seemed to say it was a good place. We found it to not even be worth the inexpensive price, I wish we had payed more for somewhere else. It was a bad end to a great vacation.

The bed was plastic so it was sticky and hot and hard to sleep on. The room had a suffocatingly strong smell of "air freshener" like what would be used in an outhouse. The sink and shower leaked all over the bathroom. The air conditioner was all or nothing (freezing cold or off).

The staff was nice though. But I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TreeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2004

Maria De Loudes is definately a budget hotel. BUT Its well worth its price. The rooms are small and green with two double beds, a TV,an A/C and a mini fridge. It also has a very nicely sized bathroom. The pool is pretty small very shallow and was usually full of leaves.
The staff at this hotel were amazing. They were always on point and friendly. Cleaning services keep that hotel scrubbed down top to bottom. It is very clean. Also, we always had hot runnig water. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who like us had a very tight budget.
Its in the downtown area so you have to take the bus to go anywhere, but it allowed us to experience all of cancun. The food was much, much better downtown then it was at the restaurants we were packaged for.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2004

My friends and I were on a low budget so we ended up stayin at Maria De Lourdes. We didnt know what to expect but once we got there, the service was great and the rooms were always cleaned. It made our trip enjoyable and even though we were away from the club areas, we sure enjoyed being downtown and getting a field of what its like to be in cancun away from the tourist area.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2004

This hotel is great for those on a budget. The staff is excellent and really friendly. The rooms are a bit small but the housekeeping was up to par. They are very clean and have friendly service. The pool is a decent size however it is the shade so it was a bit cold. It was a ten minute bus ride to the hot spots but by the second night we got the hang of it. If you are on a budget then this is it!!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2004

We stayed at this hotel about 14 years ago. On the apple deal "cheap".
Very scary, I can't imagine that the location or the hotel have improved enough to recommend it to anyone. The mexican boy on our bus told us before we arrived that the hotel was not very nice, what an understatement that turned out to be. My opinion of Cancun had been based on this hotel for quite sometime. My husband talked me into going back last year and stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar - WOW what a difference. No comparison - I would go there again in a heartbeat.
Closer to Playa Del Carmen is definitely the place to go!!!

Helpful?
9 Thank JayNLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Rivemar
Rivemar
#127 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#120 of 180 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Colonial Cancun Hotel
Colonial Cancun Hotel
#133 of 180 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tankah
Hotel Tankah
#125 of 180 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites Cancun Centro
Suites Cancun Centro
#128 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria De Lourdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria De Lourdes

Property: Maria De Lourdes
Address: Avenida Yaxchilan 80, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria De Lourdes 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Maria De Lourdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria De Lourdes Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing