We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,585)
Filter reviews
6,585 results
Traveler rating
2,937
2,037
913
415
283
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,937
2,037
913
415
283
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north tower alberto martinez lobby bar la claraboya mexico lindo the mexican restaurant ocean view mall across the street main pool activity pool entertainment staff beach resort spring break make reservations beautiful beach picky eater hot dogs
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 6,585 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2018

Our vacation stay was pleasurable. The resort is not too big and not too small. The service was very nice and gracious. We upgraded our rooms upon check in for a nominal fee and were given great ocean facing rooms with balconies. This was a god send given the weather was sunny all week and we were able to savor each sunrise. There are three pools of which one is the activity pool. The adult pool was not very clean. The food is mediocre and the best restaurant available for dining was the Italian restaurant. The spa services are highly recommended. The beach is very clean, but the seagrass is becoming a problem. Overall we had a great time enjoying the beautiful weather.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank EliSnow15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Asistente de Gerencia. at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear EliSnow15:

We appreciate your opinion about your vacation at our hotel; The satisfaction of our guests is our main objective and there is nothing better than knowing that we have achieved it. We are very happy that the hotel and the employees were able to meet your expectations during your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you on your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards,

Paulina Arroyo
Management Assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Entertainment amazing a lot of fun the shows and music at night is awesome the activities are great special shout out to Xavier and billy the food the bartenders drinks are awesome we loved it here number 1 spot

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Asistente de Gerencia. at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Andy M:

We want to thank you for sharing this opinion about your recent visit to the hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we agree with you that our attentive staff plays a key role in the overall experience of our guests. The whole team works very hard to ensure that we offer a high quality service and a different and memorable experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards,

Paulina Arroyo
Management assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

I’ve worked in hospitality and customer service and the staff were beyond what I could have hoped. The housekeeper was so friendly and kind and was always available for whatever we needed. Everyone was kind and informative, I never felt there wasn’t someone standing by to assist me even though I didn’t speak Spanish. A few hotel staff who were exceptional and took the time to take care of us like we were family, Will the bellman, Valeria in the italian restaurant, Filiberto in the main buffet. Every bartender was gracious and funny. I’ve had worse experiences in America where staff are rude and too busy to help the guests. Overall, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. I’d recommend this place to friends and family and I’d go again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Janet0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Asistente de Gerencia. at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Ms. Janet0824:

We want to thank you for sharing this opinion about your recent visit to the hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we agree with you that our attentive staff plays a key role in the overall experience of our guests. The whole team works very hard to ensure that we offer a high quality service and a different and memorable experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards,

Paulina Arroyo
Management Assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Awesome vacation. Good food and good drinks. All staff were friendly. Best entertainment staff ever. Especially Xavier , Mitch, Paco and billy. So good we’re already planning on coming back! Gracias occidental hotel tucancun.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Asistente de Gerencia. at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Robyn W:

We want to thank you for sharing this opinion about your recent visit to the hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we agree with you that our attentive staff plays a key role in the overall experience of our guests. The whole team works very hard to ensure that we offer a high quality service and a different and memorable experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you on your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards,

Paulina Arroyo
Management assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

This vacation really took me by surprise, i wasn’t that excited going on this trip at first, but as soon as i stepped in this hotel, it totally changed. Here, we were welcomed first class customer services by the staff. We came at around 8 am, our check in time is supposed to be at 3pm, all amenities ‘though were opened and available to us immediately. With the help of a very friendly Gregorio Lopez, we were allowed at our room by exactly 11am. Friendly and accomodating staff made our stay very relaxing and homie! Entertainment and infos is superb which made our day trips well organized. Upon dinner times, servers were the best in the class, kudos to all of them, especially one of our favorites, Miguel Sanchez, a funny and has always smile in his face. Thank you all, i promise to come back in 2 years to see this place and staff again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best especially on the 2nd floor. It has bigger balcony.
Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Arnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Asistente de Gerencia. at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Arnie C:

We want to thank you for sharing this opinion about your recent visit to the hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we agree with you that our attentive staff plays a key role in the overall experience of our guests. The whole team works very hard to ensure that we offer a high quality service and a different and memorable experience.

We would love to have the pleasure of being your hosts on your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards,

Paulina Arroyo
Management Assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews