We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and fabulous beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Tucancun
Ranked #41 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location and fabulous beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel as it was only a 10-15 minute walk to La Isla shopping centre and you could get a bus just a minute from the hotel to go up and down the strip. It was great to get out and about independently and also walked both directions on the beach - heavenly what more could you want.

After the first night we upgraded to a beach view balcony and it was money well spent, we never got bored of looking out at the stunning beach. There were 2 buffet restaurants with a good selection of foods on offer. My only point is everything is garnished with grated cheese and as I can't eat dairy I found this very annoying as it wasn't necessary, if you can eat anything you would have no problems. Having said that I did ask for meat with no sauce on Italian night as everything was creamy and they were very good at accommodating me.
There was also an a la carte restaurant but we didn't book to try as the buffet suited us better.

Bar areas were good we usually went to the adults only pool bar during the day and you could always get served within a couple of minutes. If you wanted a hot drink during the day you had to go into one of the restaurants I think this would have been much easier if they just set up a self service area so you weren't taking up a dining table just for a tea.

Night time sleep was very broken but then this hotel is close to the party zone so to be expected, take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Beds were huge and fabulous couldn't fault the rooms at all definetly can't wait for my next holiday!

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a beach view balcony as the beach was just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachaeleddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Barceló during your trip to Cancun. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

We are very happy to know you had an amazing time with us, we would feel very honored to welcome you again so please let us know about your next trip, to make it even better


Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,892
    1,576
    678
    306
    225
See reviews for
1,199
1,447
157
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Good Value Accommodation, fun for all, entertainment team kept us happy the whole stay, games, prizes galore, Gustavo, Michelle & Jaime were amazing if your happy to join in you will have the best experience you can, we made friends in the hotel and feel like the above mentioned guys were more like family than friends and will remember them forever ❤️ All inclusive ya won't go hungry something for everyone loved the fish restaurant and the Mexican, room more than adequate ours faced the mall which wasn't the best view but was fine, we could of picked the bungalow when booking and wonder what we missed out on as the corridors were sometimes very noisy from people coming in late at night, sometimes the mini bar wasn't filled but we rang down and they sorted it, this hotel had the you can have what you want approach nothing was too much trouble, if your booking CocoBongo go with the animation team as they will look after you all night, be careful up town the mask men will take loads of photos and then ask for 200 pesos approx £10 try to avoid them if you can, travelling around the bus ride is 10 pesos about 50p and run 24 hours a day, never try to walk back to your hotel at 10 pesos it's not worth it as with everywhere there are always bad parts to every location..the shopping mall opposite has 2 hours of free internet a day if you need it as the net in hotel is approx £5-£6 a day, the lobby bar serves food late at night right thru until 6am I'm told we never had but we were told this lol, we went the flee market but to be honest the bartered price was better from the mall behind, so unless you wanna experience the push me pull me approach I'd just shop in the mall, not a terrible experience, if you wish to do it tho, went to senior frogs for a free lunch we won on bingo brought a drink n tip cost approx £7.50 n was well worth it really nice food, CocoBongo wasn't the experience we expected as we've been told it's changed but an experience all the same I wouldn't go again but once is ok gold member wasn't worth the extra amount we thought but it's all down to personal choice!! We did Xcaret and dolphin swim enjoyed that very much again down to personal choice did the cave snorkelling but a bit of advice if you wanna snorkel on the beach get out just before the end so you can keep the snorkel to snorkel in the sea but if u get out the end they take the snorkel off you..

Ok now the down side, it's not disabled friendly and the only way to get to pool 1 was a very big ramp and also there are no sun parasols on the beach to offer any shade at full heat these are the only 2 things that personally really need seeing to they need lifts to the lower pool and a ramp to the beach and umbrellas I heard other people saying the same thing if you did these two things you would make your hotel that little bit more perfect!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tottyontour1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for choosing the Barceló during your trip to Cancun. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Everything here was perfect, the location right on the beach with shopping mall behind us. The cocktails were so yummy! The food was amazing different themed nights. I'd re come d the Mexican restaurant the food was so tasty in there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocktailbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Barceló during your trip to Cancun. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

We are very happy to know you had an amazing time with us, we would feel very honored to welcome you again so please let us know about your next trip, to make it even better


Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hubby and I stayed here for a week in June…overall, it was a solid choice, with good food, amazing beach, fantastic service, and a great location. The resort itself doesn’t have a ‘wow’ factor per se, but if you can get a good deal on it, it’s a great value, and we really enjoyed our stay.

ROOMS: Clean and spacious, and nice decor. Lots of pillows, and a very comfortable bed. In the tower we stayed in, you can hear people coming home in the wee hours of the morning, so perhaps bring ear plugs if you’re a very light sleeper.

RESORT: Compact, which was nice in Cancun, as it made coming and going from the resort easier. The layout of the pool area, with several staircases, made the design feel interesting, and larger than it is. Lots of nice small areas with tables and shade, to just sit and relax. Plenty of beach loungers around the pool too. Beautiful ocean view almost no matter where you are…by the pool, eating at the buffet…gorgeous view…could just stare at it for hours.

BEACH: Amazing!!! No seaweed/rocks at all (the water shoes I brought never left my suitcase!). Lovely white sand that isn’t too hot, and you can walk on this beach for miles in either direction. The water is a spectacular shade of blue. The waves are fairly big, but were fun to play in, and there was a lifeguard on duty making sure we stayed within a safe area. Keep in mind there are no beach umbrellas on the actual beach, but surprisingly, we didn’t mind that much…we even liked it…the way the resort is designed, you’ve got a perfect view of the beach around all the pool areas anyways, so sitting under one of those umbrellas was just as nice.

LOCATION: Great location! Besides the fantastic stretch of beach, it’s just a minute or so to catch the bus to the club district/downtown. It’s right behind Kukulcan mall, and about a 10-15 min walk to La Isla Mall.

FOOD: Reading all the negative reviews, I wasn’t sure what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised. It’s not a huge resort, so the buffet tables themselves aren’t giant or anything, but many things do change daily, and for the size of the resort, I thought the selection was fine. For breakfast, lots of great choices…for those who really care, no, there isn’t always bacon (only had it 2 days I think), but we didn’t miss it at all, given all the other great stuff. Omelets were delicious, they had mimosas, and they had a huge selection of fresh fruit! For lunch, it would get repetitive if you always stayed at the restaurant by the pool, but the main buffet had a bigger selection. Dinner had lots of nice options, and we really enjoyed both a la carte restaurants – don’t miss these. I should also mention that the drinks at the resort were fantastic (like the Mango Margaritas everyone was having), and I was impressed that they had name brand liqueurs like Bailey’s, etc.

OTHER COMMENTS:
-don’t need water shoes for the ocean at all!
-the buses are fantastic! They’re only 9.5 pesos (less than a dollar), and there are tons of them (rarely had to wait more than a minute or two)
-great staff...especially the people working at the restaurants…very friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGal_Toronto08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Barceló during your trip to Cancun. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

We are very happy to know you had an amazing time with us, we would feel very honored to welcome you again so please let us know about your next trip, to make it even better


Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Loads of pros on staying at this hotel, very little cons.
Pro's first.
The hotel is only about 25 mins away from the airport.
The rooms are very clean and tidy with everything you need including coffee maker, iron and board, tv and mini bar included in the price.
The staff were all very friendly and polite and didn't have a bad word to say about any of them, Antonio one of the barmen was extremely nice.
The swimming pools were all very nice and cleaned on a daily basis (there are 4 to choose from).
The restaurants were all very clean and tidy also with 4 to choose from.
At the front of the hotel is a big shopping centre which has a bit of everything, (quite a few very expensive shops in there too).
We didn't have any issues with the reception desk at all, (some reviews we read on here said they had) and always got an answer to any questions raised.
The hotel beach is extremely clean at all times.
The claraboya (fish) restaurant was the nicest for us and visited it 3 or 4 times.
The hotel shops are very well stocked and good value.
The bus service outside the hotel is very frequent coming it seems at least every 2 mins and costs 9.5 pesos (44 pence) one way, but this will take you the full length of the strip if you want to.
The hub of cancun with its bars, restaurants and shops is only about 8 mins away on the bus with shopping centres all the way there.
There are plenty of sun beds for everyone and we only ever saw about 60% being used, not so many sun shades but we always found one.
Loads of beds on the beach but no shades here.
There are toilets and amenities all over the hotel so no real need to keep going to your room.

Cons.
If you use the fish or Mexican restaurants you have to pay a surcharge for a bottle of wine starting at about £16, a glass is free and the lobster is about the same price but if you eat in the Mexican you get 1 tail, 2 in the fish restaurant if you have it as the surf and turf. We have never been charged for wine in an all inclusive before and only been charged for lobster if you want a whole one.
The swimming pools can get very full of young children at about 2-4pm but if that is a problem then there is the adult swim-up pool but then this gets a bit crowded.
As in all all inclusive hotels the food is repetitive but that is just the nature.
The entertainment was ok on the 2 nights we went there but on the night we went to support a few fellow countrymen in the karaoke they were used to warm up/bring in people but then were shunned by the staff who only catered to the Spanish/Mexican singers and only spoke in spanish after the room filled up so as we couldn't understand what was being said we all left even though the people with us had 4 songs left to sing.
I don't know if the drinks were watered down (reviews on here) but we didn't get even tipsy once but I think this may have been because most drinks were made with a full glass of ice. They are refreshing anyway.
We booked to do the parasailing through the rep where you get your beach towels from by the pool and was told you get 30 mins in the air for about £68 for 2 people, by the time you get to the boat by wave runner and back you only get about 10 mins in the air, bit of a swizz.
Take ear plugs because although the air-con is very good it is also quite noisy.
If you are in a rush and on the upper floors then be prepared for a long wait as the elevators are painfully slow.
This is the first all inclusive hotel we have been to that charges for use of the room safe (not just deposit), it is really easy to misplace the key as I thought I had lost ours on the first day and was told to find it otherwise it was $100 to open as they don't keep spare keys.
Our room key cards stopped working 3 times during our 12 days.

These cons although seem like a long list were not really a bad problem but I am trying to give a truthfull verdict on our stay here.
We really did have a fantastic time here and didn't feel the need to complain about anything to the hotel staff.
We would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor with a small but nice sea view and away from any noise. Room number 5007.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Barceló during your trip to Cancun. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

We are very happy to know you had an amazing time with us, we would feel very honored to welcome you again so please let us know about your next trip, to make it even better


Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I visited here with my mom who has stayed there before it was Barcelo and she was really happy with the place but really unhappy with the food as was I and after reading other reviews so are many others. The variety of food at night was not huge,if they have a special themed night like Italian I believe they changed the spelling of the word Italian to MEXICAN. The burgers are pretty cooked for all of 30 seconds then warmed for a further 30 seconds leaving cold raw mince in the middle!! The bain marries for the use of keeping food hot didn't appear to be on. I'm sure they must not be aware what bacteria and bugs live in poorly heated food. My mom lost one full day through illness and between us we had about 4 days without bad stomachs! All that being said the place is so clean and is still a nice Base the one thing they could also improve on is the evening entertainment. They could do this by having fewer dance shows and it would be great if the two singers at least looked like they had chemistry and got on rather than been two totally separate people. I would visit again if the areas mentioned were improved.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to record your feedback here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate the time and consideration for other travelers you have taken in sharing your opinions on the areas of the hotel that you enjoyed and those areas of which you feel that we could use improvement.


I hope you give us the oportunity to host you again in the near future

kind regards’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here. And we were not disappointed. Paradise location and views are stunning. We overlooked the sea which was breathtaking. Pools and restaurant were clean and tidy.

Rooms had ample space with a lovely big bed in ours! No mirror in bathroom but just outside by the sink area. Balcony was quite small but we werw hardly in the room anyway.

Bus stop just outside which went all along the coast line to the louder party place. Was full of restaurants and bars. Shopping centres etc...
You have to go to cocco bongo!

We will definitely return to this hotel and cant wait


Brilliant time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebees5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Barceló during your trip to Cancun. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

We are very happy to know you had an amazing time with us, we would feel very honored to welcome you again so please let us know about your next trip, to make it even better


Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#69 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
1.3 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#75 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
3.4 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#45 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#30 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Tucancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Tucancun

Property: Occidental Tucancun
Address: Avenida Kukulcan, km. 13,5 | Lote 24, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barceló Tucancun Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tucancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located, with spectacular beach, mostly all the rooms looking for the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Tucancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Hotel Tucancun Beach
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel
Tucancun Hotel
Cancun Barcelo
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing