We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Tucancun
Ranked #42 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I've stayed in Barcelo hotels in Mexico and Latin America, am a member of MyBarcelo, and have never had to write a bad review. Unfortunately Barcelo Tucancun Beach was a big disappointment from beginning to end:
Drove up to the entrance (which is hard to find) and no one came to open doors or assist with luggage. We had to unpack ourselves while the door staff watched us. I then had to ask where to park. No offer of valet or even a friendly advice as to where to leave the car.
At reception there was a line, with only two people on the desk. We waiting about 30 minutes to even be checked in. No apology, no courtesy.
The room looked good although the sliding door was almost impossible to open to get out to the balcony, the air conditioning didn't work and we had to call someone twice to get hot water in the bathroom.
The food never changed and we were only there 2 days. Had we stayed longer I'd have eaten out for every meal.
Internet is not included and there is no business centre for flight checkins and printing boarding passes etc. First hotel I have stayed in for years without internet and/or a business centre.

There are some good things -
the beach is awesome, the view from the ocean view rooms is wonderful (although that would be hard to mess up in Cancun) and Selene on the front desk was very kind. She was the only staff member who was not rude and on departure let me use their computers behind the checkin desk to print my boarding passes.

I am surprised at the good reviews this hotel gets. I can only assume we were very unlucky or I am used to better hotels and expect better service.

What I have never understood about Barcelo hotels is although you can register in their online club MyBarcelo and stay regularly in their various hotels, they never know who you are and never seem to have your details in their system. If you go to a Four Seasons or a Hilton for example they welcome you by name and give you a personal and attentive season. I would have thought these little touches help when customers have so much choice.

I would never go back to Barcelo Tucancun Beach!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank elsimibupan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear elsimibupan

I would like to thank you for taking the time to record your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

we give timely follow up on all feedback from our customers, in fact our manager is involved is all the comments that we get in this way and not only that but it is done with consensus managers of each department to follow the same and to take action.

Again appreciate the time you took and remain at your disposal for any comment.

Sandra Giesemann
CM Cancun Barcelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 5,488 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel really did impress us. The staff were exceptionally friendly and went above and beyond. The breakfast buffet was part of our package so unlimited - a great variety of food. Lunch and dinner weren't quite as great but nevertheless good enough. The staff were happy to make something up for you if you felt it was missing from the menu.
The 3 pools are just exquisite. One for kids, one for adults and one like an infinity pool. They organise activities for all ages throughout the day. The rooms also have a spacious feel to them, although the cleaners don't clean and replace everything unless you specify they do (which I don't think we should have to but anyway).
Overall, affordable and quality.

Room Tip: Sea view is more. Ask for a room away from the air conditioning vents - they are happy to do this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerUK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear TravellerUK79,

Thank you for your kindly comments. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we are delighted to have met your expectations.

We are glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and variety of food since we work really hard to make our guests feel comfortable and make sure they have an amazing time with us. It make us happy that you enjoy your time at the hotel.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in January for our 30th wedding anniversary and had the most relaxing week we could have hoped for. Lovely hotel, Room was perfect, Bed was comfortable, food was fantastic but the service is what impressed us the most. I walk with a cane and walking is a problem for me. The service I received was outstanding from opening doors for me to bring my plate to my table at the buffet. "Charlie" in the restaurant was perhaps the most friendly person I have ever met. He greeted us every day with the biggest smile and always went out of his was to seat us quickly and with amazing views I might add!!! He even sang to us. We will return to this hotel just to visit him again. Hold on to him, he is a keeper! Thanks Barceló for a wonderful week!

Room Tip: 7044. best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nora V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Nora V,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to record your feedback here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate the time and consideration you have taken in sharing your opinions, all this help us to improve day by day.

We are very fortunate to have such an excellent team who give their all on a daily basis. Thank you for noticing, and thank you for the special mention of Charlie

We truly appreciate your recent visit and hope that you will return, will be glad to host you again in the near future.

kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

just did a week at the BT and can't really say there was too much to either rave or rant about. a serviceable 3-3-and-a-half star hotel with a fantastic staff, excellent location, and good bang for the buck.

notice i question the hotel's own 4 star rating on its website and yet give it a 4 out of 5 myself? i'm trying to convey that as for as the broader market is concerned, not a chance; as far as we as a family are concerned, they ticked most of the boxes quite nicely.

THE GOOD.. :}
1 - great staff - no surly waiters, very engaged desk staff. if we had an issue or a reason to engage, they did everything they could to help and made it seem like a pleasure to do so. i've read some negative comments in the reviews about language issues in some cases and i just don't know how to reasonably respond to that given that this is Mexico. try this at home before you go: "buenos dias" + "por favour" + "gracias" + a dash of humility + a smile = happy endings.

2 - great beach - sandy and soft with go great tidal swings. the surf is a bit rough for the little ones but that proved no deterrent to our 5yr old.

3 - location - you can walk/jog for miles in either direction along the beach; there is a mall DIRECTLY behind the hotel on the lagoon side and another within 10 minutes walk north; walking distance to all manner of off-site rentals, restaurants, and other activities; 20 minutes from the airport.

4 - the hotel itself - bathrooms, restaurants, pool, chairs, etc., all in tip top shape and clean clean clean…

5 - the food - fresh, wholesome, and widely varied. lots of fruit and veg, hot things were generally hot, cold things cold, and i never saw an empty display remain that way very long. in 7 days, i can understand the use of the term "repetitive", but unless you're piling all 102 items on offer on your plate every single time you walk in for a meal, having the "same old thing" largely comes down to your choices, not the hotel's. as far as the reserved sit-down restaurants were concerned, we didn't care for the seafood resto ourselves and didn't return, but this wasn't a grave disappointment, just an expression of a preference.

6 - NO insane morning line-ups for restaurant reservations (a concept that is inexplicably bafflingly common to package hotels and NO battle for beach chairs at the pool or the beach, explained by the fact the fantastic beach itself kept numbers nicely split and adequate availability at all of the 3 nicely separated pools hotel-side.

7 - the nice touches - champagne and pastry selection arrived at our room moments after we did (and the check in was a matter of maybe 5 minutes fyi);

THE NOT-SO-GOOD.. :|
1 - for you picky types who seem intent on comparing every hotel to the one 5* boutique hotel you visited that one time years ago that allows nothing to ever EVER measure up, you will notice the dated rooms, bathroom fixtures, etc.

2 - the children designated play area was nothing to write home about. it didn't inspire us or our little one at all, but then again we wanted her outside on the beach building castles, not colouring in some afterthought of a dark corner.

THE VERY VERY VERY BAD.. :{
this list begins and ends with the overly-expensive and completely unreliable internet service. with family health issues back home, solid internet was a must for communication. 15$/day gets you about 15mins / hour of unstable internet in your room. possibly explained by the geographical location of our top-floor corner room in relation to the central server, but it shouldn't have taken ANY negotiation to get our charges ultimately refunded. and to be fair, the hotel did in the end not charge us. i'll be curious to know though if any of you got the "we have a technician working on the problem this week" line.

BOTTOM LINE
we probably would not return to this hotel but not because of the hotel itself, moreso because of our general habit of not repeating ourselves. we would very much recommend this hotel for a quiet family week away. it's not a party palace - thank god! - but seems to cater to a broadly mexican and bizarrely russian (?) clientele with a mix of north americans to boot. we liked it and give it high marks for value.

Room Tip: we were in the top corner, south tower, room 5017. very VERY quiet but do NOT opt for the internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dalevero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear dalevero

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience; this helps us recognize our areas of opportunity so we can provide a better service in the future.

Furthermore, it makes us happy to know you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service. I appreciate the time and consideration for other travelers you have taken in sharing your opinions on the areas of the hotel that you enjoyed and those areas of which you feel that we could use improvement.


Its been a pleasure to serve you and we hope you can visit us again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

First of all I have to say I have a huge complain NO FREE WIFI, they charge and quite a lot if you require daily internet, 14us$ a day or so... besides that the food was not all that, the buffete was average, I lost some money and it fell below a table... so I moved the table... there I found some, hair, papers, and other stuff... yucky...

The PEOPLE where excelent, they catered any needs you had, the place is quite nice, they have daily shows, and well I did not go... but they have a marina.. just a few adjustments and it would be a very nice place !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertoSalva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that we haven't met your expectations, we would like to sincerely apologize.
Also, we want to let you know that all of your comments and opinions will be taken into account to offer a better service in the future and we will submit them to all departments in charged to correct these issues.


Once again, I would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you perceived during your holiday and I hope that despite the disappointment that you have expressed, there were many aspects of your stay in our Hotel, which you found enjoyable.

kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just got back from a quick retreat to Mexico and stayed at the Barcelo Tucancun for the first time. We were pleased with the service staff, who were friendly. Check in did take a while, seemed slightly disorganized, but the ocean breeze made it bearable!
Room at first was at the back, facing the huge shopping plaza in front of the hotel. After 1 night, we requested an upgrade (at our cost) and were sleeping oceanside in very comfy beds as soon as the room became available.
The food was decent - the variations of vegetables, fruit and meat dishes were enough that we didn't feel we were eating the same thing every night. Little secret: the Don Quixote is a buffet-style resto across from the theatre and the food there was TERRIFIC! No reservation required. We did eat in the 2 other restaurants, Mexican and Seafood. Both were decent and the service was attentive and not overbearing.

Attractions? We were there to lay on the beach and relax, but next time I would try to get to the Underwater Museum, in the National Marine Park.
Market 28 was recommended to us and we did go, but were put off by the aggressive and constant selling by the vendors. Had a terrific authentic lunch though.

All in all, happy to have been able to escape the -35C temp at home and enjoy the relaxed vibe at Barcelo Tucancun.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view room with balcony if you can - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kindly comments. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we are delighted to have met your expectations.

We are glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and variety of food since we work really hard to make our guests feel comfortable and make sure they have an amazing time with us. It make us happy that you enjoy your time.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We arrived at approx. 8pm David at the front desk was very helpful and checked us in very quickly. We then hit the buffet you never know what to expect we were very happy with what was offered at 9pm at night. We weren't as impressed for the breakfast so we tried the Seafood restaurant which switched just for the morning to breakfast, it was great!! Edgar, Ester and Nancy were great!! The pool area was fun during the day with Gus!! We would for sure go back to this hotel, it's a smaller hotel but great!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to record your feedback here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate the time and consideration you have taken in sharing your opinions, all this help us to improve day by day.

We are very fortunate to have such an excellent team who give their all on a daily basis. Thank you for noticing, and thank you for the special mention of Edgar, Ester and Nancy.



We truly appreciate your recent visit and hope that you will return, will be glad to host you again in the near future.

kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
2.0 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,131 reviews
2.7 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 177 in Cancun
5,699 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#58 of 177 in Cancun
4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Tucancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Tucancun

Address: Avenida Kukulcan, km. 13,5 | Lote 24, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barceló Tucancun Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $184 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tucancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located, with spectacular beach, mostly all the rooms looking for the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Tucancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Hotel Tucancun Beach
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel
Tucancun Hotel
Cancun Barcelo
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing