We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for and smiles are not free”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Occidental Tucancun
Ranked #40 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good: Animation/Entertainment staff. clean grounds, small size of the hotel made it easy to get around. Good layout. Beautiful Beach

Terrible: Service at front desk, food, restaurants, drink service, no music at Swim up bar, no wifi provided. Had to pay for room safe

Positives: Great location on the Cancun strip. Beautiful Beach. Close to airport, downtown and shopping mall.

13 years ago, I stayed at Barcelo Maya Beach resort for my honeymoon and LOVED it, so when my friends and I planned a girls getaway to Cancun, I was comfortable endorsing the Barcelo Tucancun, based on my previous experience. What a mistake!!! We were on a budget, and this hotel fit within that budget. Yes - you do get what you pay for, but SERVICE should be part of the deal no matter what you pay! Front desk service was rude and basically dishonest. I can't count how many times I heard "I so sorry but" to any request we made. Many times they flat out lied to us.It seems to be acceptable protocol with this hotel: "tell them no and to come to check back later". Who wants to spend their entire vacation trudging up to the front desk only to be told "no, I so sorry". One of our requests was to upgrade to a balcony room - we were willing to pay for that, but no, they so sorry, that was not possible, check tomorrow. ANYWAY - We certainly are not high demand customers - and we are all well-traveled. The food choices and restaurants were very bad. Fried burgers, steaks and seafood (not grilled), and hot trays full of saucy mishmash. Not a slice of bacon the whole time. Only good thing was the Mexican restaurant - chips and salsa, fajitas were good. The Animation/entertainment staff were the only staff that I saw smile, laugh or actually care whether we were having a good time. They work very hard and help make our trip better. The beach was beautiful - BUT NO DRINK SERVICE!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank npcommunications
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Costumer

Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered issues during your stay. Could you please help up with more information about your stay with us like stay dates, under what name the reservation was, also if you remember the room number.


Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 5,561 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is graded 3.5 star and it far exceeded my expectations. My room had an ocean view and it was lovely, the minibar in the room was a nice touch and re-filled daily with beer, soft drinks, chocolate and peanuts. The hotel has a main pool where all the entertainment takes place but there are other pools you can escape to for peace and quiet. I loved the adult only pool with the swim up bar. There's a good shopping centre opposite the hotel (Kukulcan Plaza) and the La Isla shopping centre is about 5-10 mins walk away. It's really easy to get buses up to the main nightlife, they're really frequent and it's only about 45p. Taxis were quite reasonable too. For those that want to party one of the bars is open until about 6am and serves nachos until the early hours. The hotel has a main restaurant and also has other restaurants you can dine in that you need to make a reservation for, the seafood one is nice. I found the food to be really good for a 3.5 star. I was really impressed with this hotel and found it great value for money. It was far better than I expected it to be.

Room Tip: Definitely try and get a high floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NinaG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Costumer
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our room was directly above the ventilation equipment on the main street.,when we booked an ocean view. The front desk would not help and finally management was going to move us to the room we paid for the night before leaving. NOT....; instead they gave us 4 40oz bottles of liquor. Like that was going to help.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank disappointed595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Costumer

Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered issues during your stay. Could you please help up with more information about your stay with us like stay dates, under what name the reservation was, also if you remember the room number.


Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo in Febuary and have a wonderful time. It was our first all-inclusive so didn't really have any expectations. The food was great, the weather great and the beach and views were awesome!! The hotel rooms were clean and the the staff did a great job of keeping fridge in room stocked and the place clean. The staff were were all very very friendly!! They went out of their way to make you happy! The city bus came within a block of the hotel and that was easy to ride and get places. I would recommend reserving dinner at one of the restaurants for evening for something different. The shows every night were also fun to go to. Will for sure go back to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I went there two years ago with my girlfriend. This was our first all inclusive trip so we didn't have any expectations. We had a wonderful time there. Room was nice, resort was nice, food was good, staff were very friendly, shows were pretty cool. The only downfall we found to this resort was there were no umbrellas/shaded areas on the beach. Of course we burnt easily and had to stay in shaded area by the pool most of the time; which was no problem at all as there was a swim up bar right there! Although it would've been nice to be on the beach more... For the price we paid, it was a great deal. Overall we had an excellent time and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Clean and nice resort. Great location. Only towels need replaced and only 2 restaurants. The wine was terrible but other drinks were fine. Pool water was extremely cold. We were there 26 Feb to 6 Mar.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are nicest but we had a lagoon suite on 8th floor (top) and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ziggyfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Barcelo the week of February 26th and had so much fun. The only downfall was that it rained everyday we were there but the sun did make an appearance here and there so we made the best of it. The location is great and the bus ride is only $1.00 to anywhere you want to go and the Barcelo is close to everything and only a 15 minute ride to the airport which is great. The staff is super friendly and always willing to help with anything you need or questions you may have. The food was good but they didn't really have a lot of different options everynight in their buffet which is pretty typical of most all-inclusives and one thing they didn't offer was guacamole at any of their restaurants. My suggestion for something different for an evening meal is to make reservations for their Spanish, Mexican or their Seafood restaurant which all offer amazing meals. If you like to sit by the pool during the day it is best to reserve your chairs by 9 a.m. because after that it might be hard to find any chairs available. They also don't wait on you as you're sitting around the pool or by the ocean which is understandable. The beach is beautiful and clean and the pools are nice and always clean. The motel is a little outdated but for the price we paid to stay here it was definitely worth it. They're also really good about keeping your mini bar in your room stocked with peanuts, pop, beer and water. I had read a few bad reviews about this motel before our trip and was hesitant to stay here but we have no regrets at all about our decision to stay at the Barcelo. Getting an oceanfront room is also definitely worth the extra money. The view is so beautiful. We will definitely be staying at the Barcelo again!

Room Tip: Oceanfront or a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
2.7 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
2 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 177 in Cancun
5,756 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,096 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Tucancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Tucancun

Address: Avenida Kukulcan, km. 13,5 | Lote 24, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barceló Tucancun Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $185 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tucancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located, with spectacular beach, mostly all the rooms looking for the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Tucancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Hotel Tucancun Beach
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel
Tucancun Hotel
Cancun Barcelo
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing