We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Tucancun
Ranked #42 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
“Great Beach!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My boyfriend and myself recently stayed here for an all inclusive week mid Feb. Nice smaller resort in the heart of Cancun hotel zone. You can walk anywhere or hop on a bus. We found the resort beach amazing, as you can walk for miles up and down, beautiful sun and waves. The room was average, decent for price with ocean view. Restaurants were good, however the buffet at lunch was lacking, burgers and hot dogs everyday. I found that there was little 'mexican food' other than at the mexican restaurant, we love mexican food so this was disappointing, no guacamole! Also found the dinner buffet a bit bland. Overall for price not bad! Beautiful Cancun beach, amazing view, close to everything, decent price for a week away from Canadian Winter!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,874
    1,573
    676
    305
    225
See reviews for
1,194
1,440
157
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2weeks & it was fantastic, the hotel was really clean, the room was very spacious, the staff were all so friendly. The food was very good although a bit repetitive,fajitas for breakfast & hotdogs & hamburgers every single day on the lunch menu but as there was so many other choices on the buffet table it wasn't so bad! The pool areas were spotless & were cleaned nightly, the majority of the staff spoke English, the one thing that I really would criticise was that wifi wasn't free, when you pay a lot for your holiday you don't expect to pay extra for wifi but our rep told us that if we to the mall across the street we could get wifi free there so that wasn't to bad but you're obviously restricted to opening times. All in all we had a good holiday & would return if it wasn't for the 10 hour flight!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I planned this trip during my spring break and had an awesome time. Not sure why there is so many negative reviews... maybe just super picky people? The food was more than I expected for a buffet type meal (as I have been to resorts in mexico before and have spent the whole week eating very little) and they also have other places to eat in the resort if you book ahead as well. Staff were super awesome, happy, and engaged in conversation.I could certainly name my favorite 5 staff off the top of my head. It's nice because the mall is a minute away, and it makes for something to do when you're tired of the sun. It was nice that we also had an ocean view and the resort was super clean.... though there is another side of the resort that has a bad view of the back of the mall. The only thing I didn't like what the prices of the extra tours as sometimes I found them overpriced compared to other places you could go to that weren't in the "resort" location. They had one "entertainment" pool, but I wish they would have had another one at the adults pool so we could have had music to listen to at least. I think if you wanted to come here to "party hard" all week, this could be disappointing as there are different ages. For me, being 21, I would have liked a more party atmosphere but I'm sure it's the way it is to accomodate the different guests they have at the hotel. I would definitely book with Barcelo resorts again. Definitely do try out the excursions offered though as they're awesome!

Another thing is if you want a good spot at the main pool, you have to be up at 8am at least as the spots fill up really quickly. If you wait till 11am or so you don't have much of a choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an "ocean view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylorlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you are going on vacation to sleep, don't go there.

The hotel is nice but everytimes someone get out/get in of his room the door bangs.. Hate that !!! They installed automatic closing system to all doors to make sure they don't stay open but the problem is that if you don't hold it, it bangs... So a night of sleep is impossible there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allococo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Costumer

Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered issues during your stay. Could you please help up with more information about your stay with us like stay dates, under what name the reservation was, also if you remember the room number.


Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal City, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I went here for my 18th birthday and it couldn't have been more fun. They have a very friendly and inviting staff and there is always something to do. The food was ok as well. There is nightly entertainment at the hotel for free and every night they go to a different club around the area with the hotel. It is very safe here. Also do not pay for the wifi, if you walk right out the front of the hotel there is a mall that has many wifi spots in it and most places will give the passwords. I know Haagan Das Ice Cream has a very good wifi in the mall.

Room Tip: The villas are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan A, Gerente at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 21, 2016
Dear Josh,

Thank you for your review and for choosing us to celebrate your 18th birthday. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a delight to read your compliments on our staff. We pride ourselves on our dedicated service in making your experience an unforgettable one.

We hope to have you back to celebrate your 22nd birthday!

kind Regards,

Juan Carlos Arce
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed, all inclusive, Feb.7 to 14th in celebration of our 50th anniversary.I am not a sit on a chair & watch the world go by type of person. I am fit and active and can out dance, out weight lift,out Bike ride ,and out Zumba people 1/2 my age. .so this is not a review made by a couple of old fogies. To preface this entire review,I have no idea how some of the reviews were so negative.??????
This Hotel was spotlessly clean, all staff always greeted you with genuine smiles,even if they were not dealing directly with you. . Dress codes for dining room only restrict bathing suits, bare chests and and bare feet. Evening meal attire varied from very casual to full length dresses, no suits.We were always able to find a good meal, choosing from the formal dining room buffet`s huge variety of beautifully presented fruit,vegetable and entree`s.We are not wine connoisseurs, but the wine was fine for us.The alternate buffet for breakfast was in a lower level,, same food offered in a more casual setting. We ate once at the Mexican reservation restaurant & had a great tasting but very thin T-bone steak, a little grisly. Great service,our server could have worked in any elegant restaurant I have ever been in in any country..
That being said; We were only in 2 rooms but didn`t hear other people complaining. All the common area`s were immaculate and in good repair.
1st room, 3037 was nice, but located above the massive outside Generators for the hotels air conditioning..too noisy to speak in normal speaking voices on the balcony ,with Lagoon-Mall, west view..When asked for a room change we were upgraded to room 6022 the next day, east beach front at no extra charge.Breathtaking beautiful view of the main activities pool,white sand beach and Aqua coloured Caribbean.Some days the beach or parts of it was red flagged due to strong undertow at which time would not take any children there and even strong swimming adults (both of us) could get in trouble, though as far as I know no one did)) We were in the sea twice, water was great temperature, small waves great for jumping and fun once, and the second time was red flagged but not a bad temperature.
Nice room,bar was stocked with beer, pop,water, peanut snacks etc..the staff doing the stocking is not the same as ones which clean rooms, but very accommodating. Let front desk staff or the "stock -er"if you see him. know what you want in fridge, don`t overload or it does not cool too well. Room was not at all noisy at any time. Hall doors bang if balcony window open at all , which is simply a given in any room in any hotel!Our linens were clean and sparkling white. Any used towels you want changed were to be placed on the floor, reusing if you desired to help the environment or not if you so desired.
The staff were always cleaning unobtrusively, scrubbing pool decks,chaises,pools. Cleaning between new guest`s stays were up to one hour thorough cleaning with regular fumigating for insects of any kind.( we didn`t even see fly`s or mosquitoes) The bars ( Lobby, Swim up, and one on the pool deck of each of the other pools and one in the auditorium for the nightly entertainment.) were staffed by friendly,attentive,respectful staff. The shows which I saw were good, one Los Vegas style, one hip -hop,rap,(really a lot of fun)and one Mexican traditional with a little Argentine thrown in. Good singing and dancing and costumes in all shows
Activity staff around the main pool were great at their jobs, Water fitness classes were good, especially for upper body and Ice breaker fun.It was like "instant friends of all ages from Canada, U.S.,Germany,France, Russia, Lithuania, Solomon Islands , Chili and more I can`t remember.Many activities available.. beach and pool water polo,water aerobics,ping pong,darts & volleyball and more. My only disappointment was there were no Zumba classes or Dance classes, one of my fitness passions. Many extra $ tours were available. We went Para-sailing and it was GREAT. (it is about a 20 or 25 minute walk down the beach, would be hard on arthritic knees and hips There is another one much closer, but we didn`t know about it.)The Sea-do ride out to the tow boat was also an adventure, not for the faint of heart..
Any tips were greatfully recieved, even small ones and were not neccessary for good sevice.

I would return in a heart beat and highly recomend this deserving 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: If you get a room with any problem tell the front desk and they will give you a different room withi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were at the Barcelo Tucancun Beach the first week of January with a group of 14 people, two families with ten kids (including six 18 year old boys). Everyone had a great time! The buffets were ok (good burgers at lunch) We liked the Don Quijote buffet better than the main buffet for dinner. Most of the dinners we ate at the specialty restaurants which were very good. The staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. The lobby bar was fun and the bartender was great! The location was good, across from Plaza Kulkulcan and a short walk to Las Islas Mall. Our six 18 year olds went with the hotel group to Coco Bongo one night and had a great time! The main pool was nice, clean and fun. The beach was great and the kids liked the waves. The rooms are fine, large and clean and the mini bars are restocked daily with drinks and snacks. Since the 18 year olds were paying their own way, our budget was tighter than usual, but I would stay here again even if we weren't on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plainfield-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#69 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
1.3 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#75 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
3.4 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#45 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#30 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Tucancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Tucancun

Property: Occidental Tucancun
Address: Avenida Kukulcan, km. 13,5 | Lote 24, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barceló Tucancun Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tucancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located, with spectacular beach, mostly all the rooms looking for the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Tucancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Hotel Tucancun Beach
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel
Tucancun Hotel
Cancun Barcelo
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing