We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Tucancun
Nearby Hotels
$336
$329
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$372
$292
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$263
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$508
$412
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$465
$342
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$538
$387
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$315
$224
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$495
$328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$604
$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$817
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,078)
Filter reviews
6,078 results
Traveler rating
2,620
1,933
861
390
274
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,620
1,933
861
390
274
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalberto martineznorth towerlobby barla claraboyamexico lindothe mexican restaurantocean viewmall across the streetmain poolactivity poolentertainment staffspring breaksenor frogsoceanview roommake reservationsbeautiful beachhot dogs
Filter
Updating list...
1,920 - 1,925 of 6,078 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Well, I did my homework both on TripAdvisor and the internet and chose the hotel due to its location, facilties & price and booked with Thomas Cook through work.

We arrived, and the hotel looked seemingly ok....views and location on the beach was great, garderns and pools looked amazing! Checked in, and we had a room on floor 5 overlooking the Lagoon at the back of the property...our room was above the hotels Air Conditioning Units, which were extremely noisy both through the day and night. The hotel corridors resembled a prison corridor, doors slamming and eveyrthing echoeing.

By the 4th night, we noticed fleas on the walls, bathroom, bed sheets, balcony, everywhere. We immediately asked to move, being given a 7th floor seaview room with no balcony. After 3 more nights, we discovered fleas, again in the beds, under the beds, walls and wardrobes and asked to be moved again. The rep wasn't helpful & we got a 3rd view room with balcony & seaview - again with fleas....lots more this time! We asked to move and the recpetion staff repeated that they didnt understand us and refused to serve us, instead turning their backs and laughing.

Cleanliness is non-existent...our maid came to the room each evening around 5pm/5:30pm...towels were not changed daily nor was the bedding, floor was never swept in any room, and I even left some paper under the beds in our 3rd room - it was there for 5 days until we left! Showing you that under the beds where never even brushed!
Our 3rd room change, we got to look at the room before they cleaned it for us so we could change into it - I MARKED THE TOWELS & BEDDING WITH BLACK BIRO TO MAKE SURE THEY HAD BEEN CHANGED....AN HOUR LATER WE MOVED TO THE ROOM AS IT HAD BEEN "CLEANED FOR US" THE BEDDING & TOWELS STILL HAD THE SAME BIRO MARKS ON! THEY HADN'T BEEN CHANGED FROM THE PREVIOUS GUESTS WHO HAD BEEN IN THE ROOM!!!!!

The food was extremely repetitive - we are not fussy eaters and explore local cruising, however each evening Pork, Chicken and Beef was served in Annatto Sauce (a spicy tomato sauce), this also was served the following morning at breakfast & lunch. The food was always cold and tasteless, whether you used the Mallorca or Poolside buffet or the a la carte restaurants. And we even saw people scraping their leftovers back into the buffet dishes!!

The Russian clientele are extremely rude and loud, and the hotel is starting to show this - becoming very tired and tatty. The staff in general are unhelpful and rude apart from Esther in the Poolside Buffet who was the exception and nothing was too much trouble.

The beach, pools and gardens was the best bits of the holiday. Tucancun was a complete let down and we couldnt wait to leave. I would strongly recomment the Ritz Carlton just 2 hotels away or the Excelsior Chain...Barcelo have a lot to say about this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Costumer
Receive a warm salute from Barceló Tucancún Beach
I hope this message finds you well. Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay, because customer satisfaction is our top priority and it seems that you
didn´t have an entirely pleasing holiday . Although we work really hard in order to guarantee a worry free vacation.
Please help us with some information about your reservation, under what name was, stay dates, also if you can help us with an email so we can keep in touch with you.

Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter.
Please don´t hesitate to contact me for any further comments.

Francisco Vazquez
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The list goes on and on... No free internet, not even in the internet cafe, you'll have to pay 10 dollars a day or 50 a week. We paid for the week and the internet was down 2 of the 7 days we were there. They wouldn't refund us of course. No fitness area, no hot tub (or bath tub in the room), and the beds are as hard as a rock. All inclusive is the biggest understatement, you have your choice of 1 beer and 7 liquors. Any other drinks you'll have to pay for. The food, uh, it so repetitive. There are 4 restaurants on site and 3 of them serve the same exact food every day (which itself is nothing to brag about). We're not supposed to drink the water, so they have bottles at the front desk, but only sometimes. And the ice, no luck, i'm fairly sure it's contaminated so i hope you like warm drinks. I had a friend visit from another hotel and they wouldn't let her through to the beach. So we found beach access and then they still harassed us on the beach, despite it being public. Good thing she spoke spanish and told them off, because of course no one speaks 2 licks of english. If you think you're getting a mini bar, there won't be any beer or liquor, just soda and peanuts. Everyone has been rude and unhelpful. There is a mall across the street with free wifi, but of course no one will tell you that. I'm laying in bed now on day 6 at 615am because i got a wakeup call i never asked for (2nd time this week). I will never come back here, probably not even to cancun, and will deter anyone from going to any of the Barcelo properties. I understand its only a 3.5 star resort, but it deserves 3 and a half stars less than that. For the money we spent here, this place was awful.

Room Tip: We requested a balcony, king size bed and minibar - we got soda and peanuts. No balcony and 2 double beds that might as well of been rocks.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kcooper160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Costumer
Receive a warm salute from Barceló Tucancún Beach
I hope this message finds you well. Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay, because customer satisfaction is our top priority and it seems that you
didn´t have an entirely pleasing holiday . Although we work really hard in order to guarantee a worry free vacation. Please help us with some information about your reservation, under what name was, stay dates, also if you can help us with an email so we can keep in touch with you.

Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter.
Please don´t hesitate to contact me for any further comments.

Francisco Vazquez
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel messed up our pre-paid roundtrip transportation from the airport and then refused to refund us the money (or take us back to the airport upon departure). We booked the hotel and transport directly through Barcelo.com, so I was not expecting issues.

There was hammering inside the hotel 3 out of our 5 mornings - that woke us up at 8:00am. We called the front desk to ask them to stop it and they denied the hammering. When we asked someone to come up and hear it for themselves, they refused.
One of our rooms (we had 4) leaked water for 2 days and the hotel refused to move them to another room or compensate them in any way.

Front desk staff was extremely rude. Bartenders and housekeeping were nice though. Food was ok, but we had low expectations. Hotel was run down, but it's Cancun and we expected that for the price.

We had a large group and we still had a great time, but I wish we had stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinzRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Costumer
Receive a warm salute from Barceló Tucancún Beach
I hope this message finds you well. Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay, because customer satisfaction is our top priority and it seems that you
didn´t have an entirely pleasing holiday . Although we work really hard in order to guarantee a worry free vacation. Please help us with some information about your reservation, under what name was, stay dates, also if you can help us with an email so we can keep in touch with you.

Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter.
Please don´t hesitate to contact me for any further comments.

Francisco Vazquez
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned from Barcelo Tucancun Very good beach front location and not far from two Shopping centers also on a bus route. there were 3 pools so we never struggled to get a sunbed also you have the lovely beach. Good assortment of food and Friendly Staff. Was Spotless all over the hotel. The entertainment team are good and try to get you involved but if you don't want to thats fine as well,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yelkcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.

With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We just got back last week from our vacation at the Barcelo Tucancun Beach Resort! Had a wonderful stay!! Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff was very friendly! Everyone went out of their way to ensure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable! We were there for our anniversary, and when we checked in there were rose petals on the bed and around the room, and a bottle of wine waiting for us! It was great! The food was great! The specialty restaurants were very good!!! Everything was clean and sparkling! We had a great time! This was the 3rd time we have stayed at this resort and am already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower behind the desk are quieter!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Costumer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you with your family on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews