We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice pool area, bad rececption service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Tucancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Occidental Tucancun
Ranked #43 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice pool area, bad rececption service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

the hotel, its bars and restaurants, the pool area etc is better than i had expected. a huge disadvantage is the bad service at the reception. our flight was delayed one day so we informed them that we would arrive one day later and if our pre-paid stay of 2 nights could just be transferred for one day. Was not possible although I don't understand why since 2 nights were pre paid and it was completely low season...
the beach area should be improved, no umbrellas. It might be US style to stay at a pool direclty at the ocean but Europeans want to stay at the beach too. Air condition was terribly cold in the room and could not be adjusted. we had to turn it off. Food was not too good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Barceló Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us. We appreciate taking time to review our services.
I assure you that all departments involved on this claim where well informed about it, corrective measures and evaluation will be taken.

Warm Regards
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,824
    1,557
    669
    303
    224
See reviews for
1,176
1,418
155
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

the hotel was pretty nice and all inclusive. the food is good better than alot of the 5 or 4 star hotels in U.S. and it was 4 pools and right on the crystal blue beach. but the bad things about the hotel is that, the shower is either too cold or too hot. you have to keep adjusting the water temperature. another downfall of the hotel is that you have to make ur dinner reservation on the same day before noon!!!! u cant make an reservation the day before or later on in the afternoon. u have to do it on the day u going to dinner and b4 noon. but lot of times they let u in even without a reservation. other than that, the hotel is pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barcelo Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.

With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed for 10 nights 29th aug - 9th sept. Had to ask twice to change rooms due to bugs in our bathroom and a faulty door lock. and also had to complain about our hairdryer which blew up and then when replaced fell off the wall! Reception were massively unhelpful when I returned from a night out after having my bag stolen, i only wanted advise on what to do and to ask them to call my travel rep for me to which they replied that they had to outside line and that I needed to call myself - that would have been fine had my phone not been stolen! Very disappointing service from the reception all in all.

Food was as you'd expect from an all inclusive. Some dishes were better than others but they had plenty of variety with the evening meals and we were happy with simple breakfast choices like eggs and pancakes. Although getting a cup of tea was like getting gold!

We didnt see much of the entertainment because we spent most of our time at the beach in the day and we went into the party zone at night but the pool entertainers were great. Eric inparticular was a crowd pleaser, he was pretty much the only staff member to interact with us (unless you're spanish speaking getting a convo from the staff is like getting blood from a stone) He's a great asset to the hotel despite his rather dodgy english accent though. Someone please tell him not every English person is from Essex!

We did notice priority was given to spanish speakers when at the bar and the restruant.

Hotel is only a 10 min bus ride from the partyzone and cost less than a dollar so it's in a decent location.

No free wifi! HELLO it's 2012! Get with the ages! This is the first hotel I've encountered where you have to pay a stupid amount to use the wifi. Cogo bongo bar has free wifi as does the Hagen Daz icecream in the mall opposite the hotel so don't pay their ridculous charges, just go to one of these places to message your loved ones for free

All in all i will definitely return to Cancun but I will not be returning to Barcelo Tucancun.

PS don;t let the fact its hurricane season put you off going this time of year, we saw less than an hours rain on the first day and nothing but beautiful blue skys after.

Room Tip: room 4002, great pool and ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J_SW4LL0W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Costumer,
Greetings from Barceló Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us. We appreciate taking time to review our services, and I am glad you have rated most of our services very high.
I assure you that all departments involved on this claim where well informed about it, corrective measures and evaluation will be taken.

best regards
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Let me say first that I have stayed at this hotel in the past, and absolutely LOVED the service, staff, room, and food at this resort. This past experience was the reason we decided to book our 10 day anniversary trip to the Tucancun. Read the entire review, as there is a lot of info. With this being said, let's begin the review...

Check in:
We arrived at 2:40, so we did not expect our room to be ready. We were told that the room would be ready at 3pm, so we decided to go have lunch in the buffet. After lunch we went back to the desk to check on our room, only to find out that it was not ready at 3:10. We were told to come back in 15 more minutes, and again after that . Finally, at 4pm, we were on our way to our room. We really weren't upset about this, but if check in time is 3pm, your room should be ready at 3pm.

Room:
When we arrived in our room, there was a swan towel arrangement with rose petals on the floor and the bed. It was a nice gesture from the hotel for our anniversary. We were anxious to get to the pool, so we left immediately after arriving in the room (and taking some pictures of the gesture).
We arrived back at the room and found that a bottle of champagne had been left along with some pastries. Another great gesture! This was the end of the love we felt for the room, as we would eventually look out onto our balcony and discover that we had a beautiful view of both the hotel next door and the hotel manager's balcony.
During almost our entire stay, we heard the air conditioning units from the hotel next door and noise from what we would discover was a laundry room, day and night. The air conditioning in our room was also not very good, and most nights we slept on top of the sheets, with the fan on, just to stay somewhat cool. The television in the room would also shut off randomly, and not turn back on for 30-45 minutes. We also had to ask the housekeeper to remove the pastries on the 3rd day of our stay, as they had not been removed. We feel this may have had something to do with the ants that ended up in our room for a few days.
We would have loved a room change, but were told the hotel was "booked", but we could upgrade to a different room.

Buffet:
During our last stay, the buffet was fairly standard for breakfast, with eggs, pancakes, sausage, etc., and it was the same this visit. The lunch buffet virtually the same from day to day, with hamburgers, hot dogs, and a variation of fish in a sauce, which wasn't appealing after a few days. We only ate the buffet for dinner once, as it was not very good when we ate it, and we both had upset stomachs afterward. The service was pitiful, with someone coming by our table to see if we needed anything only a handful of times during the 10 days we were there. We actually had one occasion where our table was cleared while we were getting dessert.

Restaurants:
The restaurants require reservations the day of. This was not explained to us during check in, but we knew from our previous visit that it was required. We also were not given a schedule of when a certain restaurant would be closed.
Mexican Lindo - GREAT! The service was great, and food was good as well. The Mango margarita was my wife's favorite!
La Claraboya - Good, but the service wasn't great. It took the wait staff a long time to bring food,and we rarely received refills.
Don Quiote- Not bad, but this restaurant has a lot of wine sauce recipes, which aren't particularly our thing. Still, all in all, not bad service and food.

Bars:
Both Jose's were great, and always made sure we had strong drinks, just as they did during our last visit. Past them, the other bartenders poured light drinks that were heavy in syrup. The bartender at the Guacamaya bar was rarely at his post during the mornings, and it took a while before someone returned.

Nightlife:
This hotel had a fun and active nightlife 2 years ago. Since it is several minutes ride to the bar area, many chose to stay at the resort and socialize. This was not the case during our visit this year. With the exception of when a soccer game was on, the lobby bar (main bar) was empty, or next to it.

Overall:
We were upset to find that there were very few English speaking visitors to this hotel, but this did not make or break the experience for us. What upset us was the Spanish speaking visitors received better service in the restaurants and had more conversation with the management staff. This spilled over to the pool area as well.
We were also told that our wristband color indicated where we booked our trip (Barcelo website, outside site.) We were told by a manager that the blue bracelets are VIP's because they booked on the Barcelo site. We noticed that the blue bands received faster service in the restaurants and at the bars.

Overall, we will never book at a Barcelo because of the unpleasant experience we had at the Tucancun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sir
Receive a warm salute from Barceló Tucancun Beach.
I hope this message finds you well. Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay, because customer satisfaction is our top priority and it seems that you didn´t have an entirely pleasing holiday . Although we work really hard in order to guarantee a worry free vacation.

We have strong commitment with customer satisfaction and high quality in our products, we work hard to maintain our property in optimal condition.

I assure you that all departments involved on this claim where well informed about it, corrective measures and evaluation will be taken.

Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression and regain your confidence on a future vacation.

Please don´t hesitate to contact us for any further comments.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice clean hotel with comfortable rooms. In a good location with transport and shopping. Not overly large so easy access to everything. The food was really good especially in the mexican restuarant!

The views are great. The sand is white and lovely. The beach looks amazing but watch out when entering the sea, even when it appears calm. There are many currents in this water. Especially when you first enter, it can smash you down before you are aware of whats happened and trust me it can rip off your bikini bottoms!!! You have been warned!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, N.C.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

There were 7 of us ladies who went to this Resort to celebrate my upcoming marriage and we had a ball. The resort was very nice and clean. The staff was AMAZING form Lisbeth at the front desk to Sexy Eric with the entertainment staff. The "FOOD", I was a little worried about the food from all of the reviews here, let me assure you the food was very good, the buffet was really good, the seafood place was very very good and the steakhouse was AMAZING!!! One of the best NY Strip and T-bone I have ever had (no kidding) it was awesome.

When we first arrived around noon, we all were upgraded to oceanfront rooms with large balconies FOR FREE!!! That's right FOR FREE!!!. My room was ready right away and the other ladies had to wait a couple of hours, no big deal as we arrived there super early.

It was super hot while we were in Cancun and I will say the only thing i didn't like was that their lobby is open air, so with no air condition it was really hot and when I go back it would not be in mid August. Notice I said when I go back, because even the heat would not keep me away from
this resort. :)

The pools were very nice, never really crowded and always a chair availiable (not too many chair hogs) the ocean was beautiful and the waves were rough but fun.

To sum it up...if you are thinking about this resort, have no fear and go, it all depends on what you are looking for. The staff were friendly, the service was great and the food was GOOD!!!

There is so much more that's so good that I can say about our experience, but not enough space here to do it. Good VALUE, Great STAFF, So just GO!!! :)

If you have more detail questions, please feel to e-mail me, I would be happy to answer any question you may have. Have as much fun as we did at the Barcelo Tucancun Beach!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0uche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have just come back from a fantastic 2 week stay with my husband and 12 yr old daughter. We had a fantastic time and would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. For the record we had no problems at all in fact we requested a change of room (the first being situated above the lobby bar on the 2nd floor and rather noisy) and after speaking to reception the situation was resolved swiftly and amicably - no extra cost either - to a room on the 6th floor overlooking the pools and the beach. Perfect. We found reception, although busy at times, really helpful, not at all rude (as stated on other postings) and this applied to all staff who were courteous and polite. Not once did we feel pressurised into tipping. The fridge was restocked daily free of charge (no tips required) and we were often asked what we wanted more of. We have stayed at many all inclusive hotels and this was a pleasant surprise. One teeny tiny grudge was having to pay for the use of the safe. I've stayed at lowcost motels in other countries and the safe was free for the duration of the stay ...

The food was good with a wide variety of choice in the buffet restaurants, the a la carte restaurants and anywhere else we ate. We had no problems whatsoever finding something to eat. Making reservations at the a la carte restaurants wasn't a problem either. We were always offered a time suitable if not exactly when we wanted to eat and were never refused a table that night. Maybe if you were staying for 3 weeks the menus could become repetitive but we were more than happy during our two week stay.

The location of this hotel is spot on. Right opposite the main entrance of the hotel is the rear of the Kukulcan Plaza shopping mall and it's only a 15 minute walk to La Isla shopping village (beautiful - a must). The local bus stop is a 5 minute walk away with buses ferrying you up and down the hotel zone every 10 mins. You'd also be hard pressed to find a nicer beach. We walked up and down the beach checking out other hotels and their beaches didn't compare.

On a final note if you have children try to visit Crococun Zoo. It's on the way to Puerto Morelos. You will need to hire a taxi but it's well worth it. You get a personal guide who takes you on a tour when you feed the animals, hold a crocodile, a snake, have your picture taken with a parrot, help feed the spider monkeys. It's a small gem of a place and not widely known about. Well worth a visit. Another favourite of ours is Wet N Wild water park (another short taxi ride away - don't mess around waiting for buses they are hit and miss travelling here).

Pay no attention to the bad press this hotel has been given. I would gladly stay here again for another 2 weeks. Fab place, fab weather, really great stay.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room on the 6th floor - they all seem to have the essent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barcelo Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#68 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
1.2 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
3.4 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#45 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,677 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#28 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Tucancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Tucancun

Property: Occidental Tucancun
Address: Avenida Kukulcan, km. 13,5 | Lote 24, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barceló Tucancun Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tucancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located, with spectacular beach, mostly all the rooms looking for the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo and Despegar.com so you can book your Occidental Tucancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Hotel Tucancun Beach
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel
Tucancun Hotel
Cancun Barcelo
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing