We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Tucancun
Ranked #41 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from our two week stay at this hotel. We weren't expecting it to be anything amazing for the price we paid but we were pleasantly surprised.

I can find no major fault with the hotel and therefore give it Excellent. Nearly every member of staff was friendly, food was great, especially in the two specialty restaurants (you must book these at reception between 8am and 2pm on the day you want to eat there - no additional charge), and all the pool areas and beach are spot on.

All inclusive says domestic alcohol only but many international brands can be had for no additional charge e.g. smirnoff, barcardi, many other spirits. Alcohol was very good quality and measures very generous! Also Mini bar was included which is rare and very nice to have. Fairly big cocktail menu, but if they don't have it tell them whats in it and they will give it a shot!

The hotel really has something for everyone. There is music all day and different poolside games run by the entertainment team throughout the day at the main pool, but if you would rather have some peace and quiet the other two pools are great, especially the adult pool with the swim up bar! The main pool is by no means rowdy as said in other reviews, and we spent most of our days there. Other than that there is a different evening show every night, which were actually really good, not your typical hotel show! The urban dance and circus shows were probably the best.

The entertainment team also provided free buses to a different club every night if you wanted, however the clubs in Cancun are incredibly expensive, at least by my standards! Most of the decent clubs were $45 US or more for open bar. (no non open bar tickets available). We only went to Coco Bongo which was $70 for Open Bar, but don't let the price put you off! Definitely worth it for Coco Bongo, its unlike anything you would have ever been to. The shows are spread out between the music and really are amazing. There weren't any loud groups late at night as you might expect because of these trips, never got woken up, so if clubbing isn't your thing this shouldn't put you off!

Strongly recommend The Albatros Boat trip to Isla de Mujeres, a great day out, and again great friendly staff. This can be booked through the hotel. The Chichen Itza trip booked through the hotel was also great (if you can't stand the heat this probably isn't for you, incredibly hot and sweaty day out but if you appreciate history its definitely worth it!). The hotel booking agent was surprisingly not that expensive, especially if you booked a couple trips at the same time (they offered us 10% off both trips).

Last thing worth a mention, the hotel has a photo company onsight and has a deal with them. Every guest is entitled to a free 30 minute shoot around the hotel, and 1 free photo (no obligation to buy extras). Extra photos are only $10 (very cheap if you have ever done this kind of thing before!). we only planned to buy a few but loved the photos so much we got a very good deal on the whole lot on a cd!

Room Tip: Stayed in South Tower with an Ocean view room. We booked lagoon view but they upgraded us as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,049
    1,653
    718
    321
    230
See reviews for
1,290
1,556
168
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Tucancun Hotel in cancun had agreat time hotel was great the staff very good the hotel very clean we had a great room over looking the sea what a great view Cancun itself was fantastic we went on a speed boat trip to the reef and snorkeled brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barcelo Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you read all the reviews about this hotel, all the negative ones are from Americans and the good ones are from us British.

The rooms were always clean and tidy and i loved the massive shower rooms you could literally lay in the shower it was that big.

The food selection was ample and the service was always top notch. The drinks were always free-flowing especially the cocktail of the day!

The only critism was that the night entertainment was a bit poor but the reps always had free tickets to either Coco Bongo and The City for us youngsters who wanted to go out until the wee small hours.

The bus stop outside came in handy as you could just jump on and in 5mins your in the main centre. Make sure that when you do go its NOT during Spring Break as all you get is loud American youths shouting and screaming that they can drink at 18 instead of 21.
I would definately go back here

Room Tip: they are all sea facingbut the highier up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bigborisbushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketig Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you read through this review before booking this hotel, I think your stay can be a very pleasant one! First of all, beware of the blue shirt people (we called them Smurf people) when you land at the Cancun Airport. They pounce on you from all directions trying to get you to book tours with them. We were so confused as to whether these people were our transfer to the hotel or not. They WEREN'T. They just want to sell you tours. So what you need to do is head directly outside to the kiosk with the name of your transportation for transfer to the hotel and check in for your ride to the hotel. Avoid the blue shirt people unless you want to book tours right away. We read a lot of the reviews for this hotel so we were prepared for any bad service from the front desk or bad food. We are giving this hotel an AVERAGE rating simply because of the first issue we ran into, which we considered to be huge. When we checked in at the front desk, we got our room key, went to our room and found it wasn't the room we booked, which was supposed to be the Superior Oceanfront with balcony which we paid extra for. It took us 2 days and a lot of persistence to finally get the room we were supposed to have. So, of course, that puts a damper on things right from the beginning. We figured out real quick that the issue with the front desk hotel employees was the language barrier. We decided that every time we went up to the front desk, we would first ask "which one of you speaks English?" You would then be turned over to the one person who understood and spoke minimal English. Otherwise you were doomed to get shoulder shrugs and no help at all. We read a lot of reviews saying that "David" at the front desk was very rude. Actually, it was David that was persistent with the Desk Manager in helping us get the room we were supposed to have. I think the hotel would benefit greatly by putting at least one person at the front desk every shift that speaks fluent English. As for the food, we found that the buffet had a very good variety to choose from and the Mexican and Seafood Restaurants were very good as well. The drinks were free flowing and the fact that they weren't very strong was a plus. It was very hot while were were there so the frozen drinks were welcome without getting drunk too early in the day! The beer and wine was cold even the champagne was free! That was a delightful surprise and we had the waiter pop the champagne cork for our group at every meal. We traveled with two other couples. We found the hotel to be very clean. We observed the pools, chairs, areas around the pools, floors and windows being cleaned constantly. The woman who cleaned our room everyday did a fantastic job! We got great service whether we tipped or not. We did tip when the service we received was outstanding, which was all the time while we were there. A smile and hello goes a long way! As far as TOURS are concerned
do yourself a favor and book with the Barcelo tour desk in the hotel lobby. We made the mistake of booking with one of the other tour companies in the hospitality area and we had the worse snorkel tour we have every been on...and we've been on several in the past years. Carmen Corona at the Barcelo tour desk was very knowledgeable and helpful. The difference in pricing was about $9 dollars per tour going through the Barcelo tour desk. The turquoise ocean water was warm so we swam for hours everyday. We loved the waves...they gave us a great workout and lots of laughs! The white sand beach is gorgeous! You never had to worry about getting a chair on the beach or by the pool. There are 3 pools! There were plenty to go around. The waitress came down to the beach everyday to take drink orders and they were happy to do so! One last thing.....if you want to print your boarding passes the day before you leave, pay the $7 for the 1 hour computer service, but make sure you choose the computer that is hooked up to the only printer in the computer room, otherwise you will not be able to print your boarding passes! We were told that the computers in the computer room printed to the desk copier/printer...they do not. Talk about confusion! Luckily we chose the computer closest to the printer and plugged the printer into the computer and we were able to print the boarding passes for all three couples. We did have to go to the front desk for paper though! Good luck and we hope this helps you have a great trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We went for our honeymoon but we were so disappointed that we decided to “redo” our honeymoon later this year.
Room: best part of hotel. Nice shower, bed & TV.
Food: Terrible. 2 restaurants (seafood & Mexican), require reservations, but they would lie to us about when they were open, full or closed. The one we did eat at was awful. The buffets were like Golden Corral but not as good. In both buffets and snack area, each chef that was cooking burgers would handle raw ground beef then handle cheese and bread without ever washing hands. Nasty.
Beach: nice. Relatively few people trying to sell you crappy knick knacks.
Atmosphere: Bad. Always had bad music playing everywhere. Could not escape it. They would play covers of bad 80’s music over the loudspeakers inside and outside. They didn’t even have the decency to play the original artist of a bad song. We prefer a place to be quiet, but that was not the case here.
Pools: mediocre. No good waterfalls or privacy in any of the pools. No hammocks by the pool. No food service by pool.
Drinks: AWFUL!!! The drinks were bad bad bad. Everything is served in these really small crappy plastic glasses that remind me of the cafeteria glasses we used in elementary school. And the drinks didn’t taste good! Complete waste. Beer was warm and served in one of these glasses. Pina Colada had no flavor and was served in one of these glasses. It was all just bad.
Surroundings: big mall right behind hotel.
Guests: were mainly locals, not many people from U.S. Seemed like kind of a “Mexican redneck Riviera”. So I’m thinking that the positive reviews on here are from “less than cultured” clientele. Just a suspicion. There were kids everywhere running around and screaming. If you like that sort of thing then maybe this place is for you. If you want a nice quiet place, then STAY AWAY.
Staff: not incredibly friendly. The big lady at the front desk was pretty rude and lied to us about a couple of things. Hard to get any drink service at pools, but didn’t matter because drinks sucked anyway.
Wi-Fi: was $12/day or $25 for a 3 day pass. Could only use the code on one device. So once you signed in using any device, the code could not be entered on another device at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryzbryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I just returned today from spending 7 nights at the Barcelo Tucancun and sadly I would not recommend this place to anyone to stay. The resort itself is very nice, the people are extreamly friendly and helpful (except David at the front desk, not sure if it was the language barrier but he is rude and not helpful at all) but he rest of the staff is very nice. I really liked Oscar who booked our excersions, he was great. The waitstaff and bartenders are very hard working and NEVER ever had their hands out looking for tips as others have stated.

The biggest issue we had with this resort is the food is very bad. I would give breakfast an A how can you go wrong with make your own omelets, eggs ect. Lunch was ok if you wanted a burger every day because their options are very limited. But dinner, horrible.

The seafood restaurant was poor at best, the mexican restaurant we could not even stand to eat. The spanish restaurant with their buffet was ok some nights but others things were not even warm and my husband and I actually both got sick while we were there, from something. I don't know if it was the food, ice, water or whatever, but I have been to Cancun before and never got sick. The food at this resort is horrible.

I read all of the reviews before I went and thought no way, we are not picky eaters, we will be fine. Nope, not so. We ate out almost every night, which became costly.

The location of this resort, the pools, the beach, the staff were all excellent so if your not doing all inclusive and eating out, then yes stay here, but if you plan on eating at the resort, you will be sorry.. or sick.

Also, you are limited to 2 water bottles per day. I don't know about you but when its June in Cancun, I need more water than 2 water bottles. I like a good cold beer but having to go the mall next door and buy water when staying at an all inclusive resort is not good.

Our room was average, the shower leaked like crazy all over the bathroom floor, but we just put a towel there and they cleaned it up everyday.

I was very disappointed to say the least. I loved the pictures of the resort and when we arrived and were treated rudely by the person who checked us in (David) I was worried it would go down hill from there and it did.

I am sorry to give a poor review but spending the money we spend to go on a nice vacation, I expect a little more then we received from this location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

don't know why people have bad reviews on this hotel because its absolutely brilliant.
food, first class.
rooms first class filled mini bar up everyday no charge its all 24 hr all inclusive.
drink first class, but some of the barman do like a tip but i only gave a tip when i wanted to so if you don't get a good masseur then do what i did vodka and coke then order a straight vodka lol but i didn't have to do that much also the cocktails are really good Marcos is a great barman.
like i said before fantastic hotel had a brill holiday 2 weeks of pure luxury i will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxandpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Tucancun Beach It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.0 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#73 of 175 in Cancun
552 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 175 in Cancun
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#44 of 175 in Cancun
5,118 reviews
1.0 mi away
NYX Hotel Cancun
NYX Hotel Cancun
#57 of 175 in Cancun
2,055 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#29 of 175 in Cancun
8,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Tucancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Tucancun

Property: Occidental Tucancun
Address: Avenida Kukulcan, km. 13,5 | Lote 24, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barceló Tucancun Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tucancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located, with spectacular beach, mostly all the rooms looking for the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Tucancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Hotel Tucancun Beach
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel
Tucancun Hotel
Cancun Barcelo
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing