We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Tucancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Occidental Tucancun
Ranked #43 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

From the entrance staff to the housekeeping it was a great stay. Front desk always helpful. The food was good and the Mexican Restaurant was great, try the filet. The room was great with an ocean view. The entertainment was first class and see felix in the bar he knows his business. Going back in October. This was my second stay here and highly reccomend it.

Room Tip: get the ocean view a little more costly but the view most excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,807
    1,555
    667
    303
    223
See reviews for
1,172
1,414
155
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at Barcelo for 7 nights Jan. 23-30th 2012. The first night was terrible, we were very disapointed with the room on the 4th floor of the main building with humidity odor and very noisy clients next door until 2h30 in the morning, they were yealing, banging and vomiting. The next morning we asked the front desk staff to move out of that room into a normal quiet area. They did so, and the rest of the week was OK. The breakfast was excellent everyday with a very good variety, but for lunch and dinner the food was regular and repetitive. The house wine is rather of a bad quality, we switch to beer (only draft Corona served) or cocktails (trend to put too much ice). The spanish buffet of the Don Quijote restaurant is just regular, we went once and that was it; Barcelo shoud move the sea food restaurant (which is a regular buffet during the day) into the Don Quijote which would be a much better place at night. Besides that, the service is excellent. The beach and the pools are well maintained. There is animation at day time and interesting theater representations at night.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilles4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed for three nights and it was a pretty big let down. The all inclusive is only for well drinks and the only beer is corona. The food is pretty much the same at all the resturants. The food is ok at best but I was expecting better. The staff does not always speak English and they can't explain things like why the little store in the lobby is closed when the sign on the door says open. The pool is good and probibly the best part but by 4:00pm it is dead. Lots of kids and elderly people if that's your thing!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigchet420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacrosse, wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at barcelo for our honeymoon recently. it was awesome! the location was perfect right in the middle of the hotel zone walking distance from a whole alot of fun things to do. the staff was wonderful!!. i dont think we waiting for a drink more then 30 seconds- not like the 5minutes plus we useally wait for in lacrosse. the beach is well maintained and most of the staff speak pretty good english- i had a conversation with a life guard who didnt speak any english- never underestimate the power of courtesy and a friendly smile! the room was very comfortable and the maids kept it up everyday- please tip them a few bucks for thier hard work- all the staff appreacaite this- we tipped every driver, bell person, waiter, bartender, maid, guide, on our trip- pretty much everyone that provided us a service. this is customary- so bring plenty of ones or other small bills. the people are very nice. for those of you who had a bad experience i would bet it was based on your own attitude. i thought the europeans were nice- the people that were rude were actaully the americans. every where we when i saw an amerians complaining about something- the food- the way the buses drivers drive- the time share people- costs. and right infront of the staff! we have a reputation around the world of being dumb americas- i fear it is well deserved. i dont get how people could be so grumpy in such a beuatiful place. It is different then america for sure- but please try to be apprecaitive! also not a bad idea to try to learn a little bit of the langauge. we expect people that come to the us to speak english- why wouldnt that same principle apply when we travel to their country. they are very friendly- they know alot about american culture football and music, etc. i didnt hear many people asking them how they were doing, or where they were from, if they like cancun. they seemed shock to have someone actually acknowledge them. this is sad. many are from around mexico city and vacayed in cancun and liked it so much they stayed. also about the timeshare people and all the people selling stuff on the streets: you are bound to have this happen- please decline gentle- keep in mind they are only trying to make a living. i found a simple im sorry we already booked our attraction trips, we already eat, i bought one just like it yesterday with a smile suffice just fine.
about the food at the resort. we loved loved the seafood resturant and the mexican place- good food- excellant service! we did get in one nite with out a reservation- it was later and a little slower. any nice resturant in wi you need areservation- dont get why people complained about this. we eat the buffet twice and im sorry to say the food here was not as good as the sit down resturants. it is very different then our food and takes a little getting use to. this is the only bad thing i can say about barcelo. they even ugraded us to ocean veiw cause it was our honeymoon. Be friendly to felix- he is a very nice bartender! also gotta acknowledge our guides: raoul and his friend from our horseback adventure at bonaza ranch, (wear closed toe shoes, great cause all the animals are rescues)luis from our trip to xel-ha( i highly reccomend going here, all inclusive you wont be dissappointed-bring extra money to swim with dolphins etc.) and andre and his crew who sailed us out to isla majures.( beware of sea sickness). all very good guys! dont forget to tip!
now to ivan: he works for delta and traffic tours and is in charge of booking attraction trips for you. he wears a lite blue shirt and tan pants. his customer service rocks and he has a lot of personality. he travels around to different hotels. he is from near mexico city original and has great knowledge and travel tips that will benifit you greatly! like take the bus it is only 1$ or 8.50 in pesos,what you should tip for different occasions, where to go based on the experience you wanta have, basically any thing at all you wanta know. he is very honest and you can trust him. he is useally around to get feedback about your trip. im am pleased to reccommend you book any trips thru him. dont forget to tip him for his time.
last minute tips: bring a calculator to help understand conversion of money, most cashier put it in pesos and us dollars and are happy to explain it to you. hydrocortizone cream-got a small rash from flora in the ocean. and lastly a wrist watch or someway to keep time. it is okay to ask people on the street- but just as easy to look down at your wrist.
I could write alot more but i fear this is so long it will read like war and peace, so:
in conclusion i loved everything and everyone i came in contact with, would definately stay at barcelo again. and cant wait to come back! happy travels to all. TIANA

Room Tip: ocean view for sure if you can get- checkin early and ask nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank tiana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE.
I recently stayed with friends, we were falsely accused of destroying a santa doll - the manager refused to show us the "security footage" and threatened to kick us out if we did not immediately pay the $300 - we knew who broke the doll, and it was NOT us. Later in the trip a hotel worker assaulted a friend and myself in the elevator, the manager told us there was nothing he could do (where's your security footage now?), he told us to walk ourselves to the police station. NO HOSPITALITY.

The food is exactly the same everyday in every "restaurant", and NONE of it is actually mexican. Besides that, the place is ancient, the showers leak all over the room, and the beds are actually just slabs of stone (I'm convinced of it).

The only good thing about this place is the party company that brings you out to clubs each night and keeps you entertained.
I will never stay in another Barcelo.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJW219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Well this review is a long time coming. Hubby and I went to Tucancun in August 2011 for our 37th anniversary. We have spent our last 4 anniversaries there. I told the staff ahead of time that it was our anniversary and were we surprised. We had a room with an oceanview and king size bed but on the bed were 2 rose petal hearts and these HUGE magnificent swans so detailed(better than any cruise ship ones). We were blushing while the bell hop brought our luggage into the room. The food was good and the shows great. We like to veg out by the pool and do the pool games. They didn't disappoint there. The night of our anniversary the staff at the Mexican Lindo made it special. I know it is their job to make you feel special but they did from our flaming mexican coffee, attentiveness etc. We hope to be spending our 38th anniversary with this August. Thanks again for a memorable anniversary vacation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cirosbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
God's Country - Wisconsin!
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Ok, for $49 a day you get what you pay for. If you don't care about taste of your food or cleanliness of the dining areas then you'll be ok. And get this, you're in Mexico and absolutely NO guacamole anywhere to be found except the Mexican Restaurate where you have to make reservations. The resort was 80% Europeans that were just plan rude, dirty and cheap. Come on, you can't leave $2-3 for the servers at breakfast? They would bring dirty plates back to the buffett, their kids would finger the bread for the toaster and put it back and OMG do they like their cigarettes, you cannot get away from smoke outside anywhere. They would butt in line for the buffets as well. We did not get the room we were promised, so here we were there to celebrate Christmas with our daughter and they brought in an old hospital steel framed rusted bed for her to sleep on. We were to have 2 bathrooms and didn't get that either. The TV's did not work. We were in a Villa which was about 50 yards from beach, but the 3rd night a family of spanish speaking, very loud family took the room that would connect to ours and you could literally hear every word they were speaking, that door that connected was in our kitchen and it was their bathroom - EUUUUU. I have traveled extensively in Mexico and this was by far the worst food I have even eaten. They wanted to charge us an extra $49/night for Christmas Eve dinner, boy am I glad we didn't pay for that. It was just disgusting. The beef wellington could not be cut with a chain saw, turkey under cooked. And the drinks? I don't think there was any real alcohol in them. So very watered down. The only good thing about this place is the beach and water and they have absolutely nothing to do with that. If I were you, I'd take a good look at consistancy of the poor reviews and look elsewhere. We had tiny bugs on our counters and didn't even have any food in the place. There are no vents in the bathroom so it steams up terribly and takes a long time to clear up. I had no issues with hot and cold water in the shower that others have written about, but we were in a villa. Not enough umbrellas around pool and absolutely no umbrellas on beach, no service on beach and if you were lucky, there may be 1 person that came around every 2-3 hours by the pool to see if you wanted a drink. You'd have to stand in line for drinks for only 1 bartender, and again the Europeans would walk up and just order and not wait their turn. Oh, and the bathrooms by the lower level pool? OMG, they smell like a nursing home, very dirty, didn't even want to sit on the seats. Please take your time researching and find the best place that suits you and your needs.

Room Tip: Can't think of any room that would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sonnychacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#68 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
1.2 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
3.4 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#45 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,656 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#28 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Tucancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Tucancun

Property: Occidental Tucancun
Address: Avenida Kukulcan, km. 13,5 | Lote 24, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barceló Tucancun Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tucancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located, with spectacular beach, mostly all the rooms looking for the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Barcelo so you can book your Occidental Tucancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Hotel Tucancun Beach
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel
Tucancun Hotel
Cancun Barcelo
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing