We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Passable all-inclusive resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solymar Beach & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solymar Beach & Resort
Ranked #155 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Goa Velha, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Passable all-inclusive resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked this resort as it was on the last leg of our return journey to the US. The rooms are difficult to get to as the floor plan is quite confusing. Reception staff are just OK. Food was not that great as we had stayed at other places in Cancun earlier. Rooms were large and with all amenities but room cleaning was not up to the mark. We had a sea view room which was rather lovely. Service was not that great either but we were there just for a day so it was not a big deal for us. There are better hotels around but you have to pay more. You get what you pay for finally so if you are there for a longer time spend a little more and go to a better place. If you want to save or just spend a day, I guess its OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
ponemos nuestro mejor esfuerzo para conseguir clientes como ustedes pasen momentos memorables en nuestra propiedad, agradecemos sus comentario. Y nos es muy grato saber que su estancia fue satisfactoria en términos generales ,por supuesto hemos tomado buena nota de lo que nos indica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    230
    199
    119
    255
See reviews for
197
281
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I first have to say I am a pretty easy going guy. I rented a private condo and the owner was the best part of the trip.. Aside from 2 bartenders, there wasn't anyone else in the place that didn't try to rip me off.. And I am sure it was condoned by the hotel including the taxi drivers out front that offer a smorgasbord of drugs and hookers for inflated prices.. I finally lost it when a cabbie from the hotel tried to rip me off on the way to get out of this surreal flashback of a hotel.. There are 4 waring groups that own units in this place and your chances of getting a good unit are the luck of the draw. There is no entertainment and the food is edible at best.. The beach is nice but with the rip tides the red flags are always up and I actually got dragged down the beach about 50 meters on my first day unnoticed by the lifeguard.. Hey my fault.. There is a reason why this joint is reasonably priced and as a guy it was ok but a family and ladies might find it troubling... Not worth the risk people if your laying out serious coin to travel to Cancun.. Spend a few extra bucks and don't worry about the tv and a/c not working...

Room Tip: If you want a nice room, go 2 hotels to the south of this joint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tequilasheila666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Google Translation
agrademos su comentario su visita y tiempo par dejarnos este comentario la cual le agradecemos mucho, hemos tomado buena nota de los que nos indica

esperemos tenerle muy pronto por as maravillosa playas de Cancún México y nos permita mostrarle los cambios que la propiedad y nuestro servicio ha tenido.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Huddinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Service is very poor. Reception staff arrogant and unfriendly. Service staff unhappy and seem to be frustrated. As customer and guest i feel I'm a problem and a nuisance. Not enough towels in the to give each person their own towels. Restaurant service event driven - no foresight or planning. Very few sun chairs on beach.
Beware of rainfall! First room completely flooded (1-3 cm of water all over the room after moderate rainfall for three hours). We became a "problem" requesting a new room!!
Pool area OK. Restaurant food ok, just. Excellent view and location. Rooms ok for 3-4 star.
Excursion sales in reception area sold a full day excursion to Chichén Itxa and Valladolid which was excellent!
Summary of reveiew - avoid this hotel - no value for money spent!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel - no value for money spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sune K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
primero que nada comentarle que lamentamos su experiencia no haya sido la esperada, muchas gracias por su vista y tiempo para dejarnos un comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho ya que son nuestras áreas de oportunidad a atacar y mejorar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Me and my girlfriend had a wonderful relaxing week, from an all inclusive package at this hotel resort. The room may have been a bit basic with furniture, but normal for a 3 star, I think other rooms in the hotel are 4 stars, but we did not care, as we were kindly given a sea view room which was very special for us. The beach was clean, lovely and not overcrowded, the food good and abundant at all times, and generally we were able to relax in privacy, we got on very well with the staff, and were able and make the most of our first Mexican experience. We did not need luxury and we wanted peace, and we got very good value for money for what we paid. Marco

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
muchas gracias por su visita y tiempo para dejarnos un comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho.

esperemos tenerle muy pronto de nuevo por las maravillosas playas de Cancún, México.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This place feels dead. It feels like the present management is away and waiting for someone to buy them out. Nothing seems to be attended to. The sofas in the lobby (the only place you can get the Wi-Fi to work) are ripping at the seams, literally pulling apart. The only ATM doesn't work, and no one seems to care, or know whom to tell. Our room doesn't have a room number on the wall of the hallway. You enter a doorway, go up a little flight of stairs, and to the right is our room. Very poor beds, and plastic table and chairs in the corner. A bit icky. If we hadn't needed an extra night in Cancun due to a flight being canceled, I would not have stayed here. The price was right for an extra (unexpected) night, and I thought it would be nice to be on the beach. I would not recommend this to anyone unless they were in a real pinch.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank anniekifft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
primero que nada comentarle que lamentamos su experiencia no haya sido la esperada, muchas gracias por su visita y tiempo para dejarnos este comentario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

bad rum,bad personal, bad service, terrible food and very expansiv hotell.
i was there in cristmas 2013-2014
det orginal price for a room in this complex cost about 180 US dollar but u can find it cheaper if u find Time share then maybe u onley need to pay 100 dollar for a room
it is allinclusive but the food was not eatble and the food cost 35 dollar for buffe breakfast lunch and dinner for a day.

Room Tip: dont pay more then 100 dollar in high season. its not worth it..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was raining in the beds....the apart could be with a nice view but to much repairs are need. No free internet. We décidé to change to place. Sorry...because the personne who attend us was very kind, but these apartments need works....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lili210955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Beach & Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario y por su visita y tiempo para dejarnos un comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho, ya que son nuestras áreas de oportunidad a atacar y mejorar.

esperemos volver a atender en su próxima visita alas maravillosas playas de Cancún, México y nos permita mostrarle los cambios que la propiedad y nuestro servicio ha tenido.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
1.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#95 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.0 mi away
Solymar Condos
Solymar Condos
#7 of 110 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solymar Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Beach & Resort

Property: Solymar Beach & Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, with a three stars category and splendid five diamonds beach is the perfect place for families and Couples. It's All Inclusive Plan and also Only room ; it will be an unforgettable experience for who looks for quality, economy and service in a relaxed atmosphere.Located on Kilometer 18.70 Hotel Zone, just 15 minutes away from Cancun's international airport to 10 minutes from the main shoppings mall and only three minutes from the Iberostar Cancun Golf Club. 75 Standar rooms distributed in 3 buildings and 10 suites on the ground floor all them with Air conditioning with individual control, Cable TV, telephone service, in room Safety deposit box at no charge. The room counts with either King Size, or two double Beds. The Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Solymar Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing