We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel in Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Ranked #144 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“worst hotel in Cancun”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

bad rum,bad personal, bad service, terrible food and very expansiv hotell.
i was there in cristmas 2013-2014
det orginal price for a room in this complex cost about 180 US dollar but u can find it cheaper if u find Time share then maybe u onley need to pay 100 dollar for a room
it is allinclusive but the food was not eatble and the food cost 35 dollar for buffe breakfast lunch and dinner for a day.

Room Tip: dont pay more then 100 dollar in high season. its not worth it..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    242
    211
    130
    263
See reviews for
217
304
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was raining in the beds....the apart could be with a nice view but to much repairs are need. No free internet. We décidé to change to place. Sorry...because the personne who attend us was very kind, but these apartments need works....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lili210955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario y por su visita y tiempo para dejarnos un comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho, ya que son nuestras áreas de oportunidad a atacar y mejorar.

esperemos volver a atender en su próxima visita alas maravillosas playas de Cancún, México y nos permita mostrarle los cambios que la propiedad y nuestro servicio ha tenido.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have gone to cancun about 5 times and this is my place every time. I always ask for the all inclusive package really worth every penny. The beach front hotel really has the best location on the beach. I enjoyed a message and a cocktail overlooking the ocean on a clear day. My family really loves this place

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
Le agradezco su comentario,ponemos de nuestro esfuerzo para conseguir que clientes como ustedes pasen momentos memorables en nuestra propiedad.

Los esperamos en su próxima visita a Cancún gracias por su preferencia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ok we only paid £50 per night each for the two nights we stayed here so we weren't expecting much for that on an all inclusive basis. We expected the food to be average at best and no frills. However, we were not expecting the pool bar to be taped off, broken doors and the most musty and old rooms you could imagine.

This hotel is a complete and utter toilet and looks like something that would have been built in Spain when package holidays first began.

The only thing this place has going for it is that it sits on a beautiful stretch of beach. As such it should be flattened and a hotel worthy of the location constructed in it's place.

In all fairness the food in the restaurant wasn't bad. It was by no means great, but not bad. The alcohol on the other hand was a complete joke. Perhaps the worst beer I have ever tasted in my life and the. Spirits tasted revolting.

Do yourself a favour and pay a little more to stay somewhere else. I'm just thankful we only spent two nights here!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EvertonBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After checking this place out on Hotwire and Trip Advisor we booked it. Sevice is bad. Wireless is bad quality, only works intermittently and only in the actual lobby. First room was dilapidated leaking plumbing, low quality beds, cabinets without handles. This is a resort???!! Like a last resort maybe!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

From my experience solymar was ok but u cant really expect much from a 3*** hotel, the main thing was that all the staff at solymar were great, especially Victor Vaca his customer service skills were great he knew how to speak fluent english which was a great help for us because we didnt speak a word of spanish, i would definately go back, if you dont expect too much then you wont be dissapointed for sure

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preety k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights in February. It was the cheapest hotel in Cancun and the only way we could afford the holiday. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in. Our rooms were large with 2 double beds, the bathroom clean and a free safe. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the guy that sorts out entertainment, he set up some great days/nights out for us. The food was ok, some nights better than others. Pool and beach were lovely and never too busy.......the bar's not the kind of place you can spend an evening though! It is far along the hotel zone but very easy and cheap to jump on a bus. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
4.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 175 in Cancun
2,843 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#98 of 175 in Cancun
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#150 of 175 in Cancun
693 reviews
6.1 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.0 mi away
Solymar Condos
Solymar Condos
#5 of 132 in Cancun
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solymar Cancun Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Cancun Beach Resort

Property: Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Cancun Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Beach Resort, Cancun's best economic hotel. Nestled away from all the noise in the south end of the strip. In between the lagoon and glimmering Caribbean sea. Lagoon-view rooms and ocean-view rooms and suites, some offering private balconies. Rooms and suites nestled in quiet, peaceful gardens, offering private patios. Private ocean-front villas, offering spacious private terraces and pools. Unforgettable fun for friends and family; throughout the resort. Perfect for holiday escapes, romantic getaways, and an unforgettable family vacation. Incomparable prices, an optional all-inclusive plan giving you access to our delicious buffet-style restaurant and two bars. Unlimited domestic drinks, pool and beach sports and activities. Comfortable rooms and suites, your choice of single king-size beds or two matrimonial beds, each offering air conditioning, satellite tv, telephone service, and a valuables safe box. NO WIFI; only free wifi in lobby. Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solymar Cancun Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing