We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solymar condo rental from Michelle & Peter Hermick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solymar Beach & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solymar Beach & Resort
Ranked #155 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Phila., PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Solymar condo rental from Michelle & Peter Hermick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

Just returned from renting a condo with kitchenette from Michelle and Peter. It was spotless and well kept for the week we were there. Fanastic ocean and pool view from our balcony. The price was extremely reasonable for what we rented. Absolutely no complaints other than our schedules allowed us to stay for only one week. We will definately be renting again. They were excellent hosts and were always available to answer any questions we had about Cancun. Thank you.
Jim Nicolo and family

  • Liked — location, price, view, cleaniness
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PaRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    225
    195
    116
    252
See reviews for
191
276
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

Just got back from Cancun. We stayed from December 23-30th at the Solymar. We booked it back in July through the cancuncondodeals.com website after seeing that packages at most hotels were close to $2700 per person.

We were guided through the process by a very helpful man named Paul who manages the website. He helped us choose the right room for our needs as well as sent pictures and alot of information regarding the place, check in process etc. I think he is very good at setting you up with a space that is right for your needs. He was very quick to respond to all of my emails right up to the day we left. Prices ranged from about $90USD for a lagoon side room to about $160USD per night for a seaside with walk out patio. We chose one of the more pricey rooms and were quite happy with it. Most rooms have full kitchens with pots, pans, dishes, fridge, stove etc. We had a king sized bed and a flat screen tv.

We did not go for the all inclusive (this is a separate arrangement through the hotel) so I can't comment on food. Being pretty active and out and about, we chose to cook our own food. A quick trip to Walmart took care of all of our needs for the week. The R2 bus goes right there for about .65 cents per fair. There is a also little store in the hotel which supplied us with a few things we forgot ie: sugar.

The rental office is ran by a man named Alex. He was extremely helpful and they are set up to book you on tours or offer any advice you may require. We booked a Chichen Itza tour through him and were pretty happy with it over all.

The one thing that stands out is that many of the rooms are privately owned by folks that live there year round. On Xmas day we went to the office early and it wasn't opened yet. So in the hall we met a man named Roger who was quick to help us with our question and after we chatted for a while, he invited us up to his place and then later invited us over for a xmas party him and his wife were hosting. I think that Solymar has a nice sense of community and that is what makes it stand out from other places I've stayed at.

Now to be fair, if you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is not the place for you. The hot water took a while to kick in (had to run it for about 5 minutes. The power went out for about 20 minutes one night but staff were quick to respond with emergency lighting and securing the beach/hotel etc. I think they are still dealing with some residual effects of the hurricane that hit a couple of years ago.)

However, if you're desire is to have a safe, clean place with a nice view of either lagoon or Sea, then you will be happy here. It's on a great section of the beach (at KM 18 on the strip) and the pool is pretty cool, 2 sections, 1 consisting of a kiddies pool. The bar and restaurant are right at the pool and there is swim up service if you don't want to get out to refill your Margarita.

I've attached some pictures.

If you do decide to book, I recommend you do it through the http://www.cancuncondodeals.com site. My experience with Solymar is only through Paul, so I can't comment on doing it straight through the hotel or on a package deal.

T

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank tdot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stay 6 nights and it wasn't so bad. Clean and the food is OK.
Beach is nice. No any activities. No telephone in the room or Internet in the hotel.
Anyway it was relaxing and most important you enjoy the sea view all day long.
You must pay for the laundry but it worth it because it is done in 2 hours and you must only go and pick it up.
Staff is OK.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — no Internet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margarita666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed in a family plan at Solymar Cancun. The experience was not surprising but not too bad. As other people said below: food has no flavor, the maids are rude, the managers are not prepaired enough, but we did stand it.

The only thing that I can't forget and it's unacceptable: we were ROBBED inside the hotel. Unfortunately we trusted all the staff, and now we can't assure if the responsible of the theft was the MAID or the BELL BOY (or both...), but I just can say that the worst wasn't that situation, but the response of the managers. They don't know how to treat the tourist, they don't have an organizational culture to promote the wellbeing of the clients, and that's intolerable.

I can't recommend this hotel, I won't be there again, I can't imagine myself inside a place where staff see me as a wallet and the managers don't respect me.

  • Liked — Service in restaurant
  • Disliked — Service in lobby and managers
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank OWIEMty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

I guess your experience at Solymar depends on who you did the booking from and what rooms you get assigned. It looks like the condos are managed by individuals and it all comes down to how they've maintained the place. We stayed at 3 condos during our 8 day stay here. We had originally booked a condo for 8 days (not through the hotel management), but did not like it at all - the place was not clean, had really old furniture and sheets didn't look clean. We wanted to move to another place asap. We found another condo that was available for 1 day and then moved to a 3rd condo for the rest of our stay. The condo that we got for a day was pretty good (think it was 3211) - it was a nice clean room with a kitchenette and a nice ocean view. If we had got this one, our experience at Solymar would have been totally different. The third one we stayed at was average - the room was good, but we had to ask for towels and got hot water in the shower if you're lucky. One day there was water leaking in the bathroom from the floor above. And the room was not cleaned on the last day.

Overall, would not recommend this place - does not make your stay a relaxed and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank qwert123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

Food: Bland. It looked like Mexican food but had no flavor.
Not much variety. The variety became less when the Polish tour group arrived. We ended up eating out eventhough we paid inclusive. The beer was awful. The menu said there were a variety of juices but only watered down orange juice was available.
Service: The girl in the restaurant tried to take my plate away while I was still eating.
On our last day the maid came in without knocking first. I was just finishing my shower. How embarrasing.
Room: No hot water for showers. We were told we were the only ones without hot water. We spoke to several other people in the hotel who had the same experience.

  • Liked — I could not relax in this accommodation. Nothing
  • Disliked — The food was very bland
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank hanseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dena, baby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

You stay here if you like simple, quiet, clean and affordable, but you go to cancun if...

...do I really need to say why?

Booked through Peter and Michelle and had a blast. very attentive, friendly and helpful. No way we need to stay anywhere else unless we become millionaires and want to try out the Ritz. Stumbled upon their website. the reviews for Solymar were terrible overall but great for P&M, so we took a chance and were treated REALLY REALLY good.

Stayed in room 1004 close to the beach, steps away from the sunrise and moonlit nights (with LOTS of privacy). The beach water is very rough at times so be careful. We walked down to club med where the water was calm and also rode up to playa tortuga, both of which were minutes away.

The rooms were clean with a fridge, microwave, mini-range and sink. Limited cable but had HBO - definitely good enough for the one night we sstayed in. Water was $5 for a 3 gallon jug which was plenty for 4 nights.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful enough. If you book with independents like Peter and Michelle you don't get hotel towels but c'mon, just take your own. Small store, nice pool and bar, but didn't eat at the restaurant, which was right over the middle of the pool. Peso exchange was available at the front desk. Don't pay roaming rates on your cell, just get a $10 phone card from the hotel store.

The hotel is on the southern end of the hotel strip, but close enough to the action if you don't mind hopping on the bus. Since the buses run EVERY MINUTE ALL DAY AND NIGHT and cost 65 cents a wop this was actually a plus. Really got to see the city this way.

Transpo from the airport was round trip ($18 per) through grey line - just KEEP AN EYE on your return ticket and do not forget to call 24 hours before you need a ride back.

Enjoyed the movies (english w spanish subtitles) at the Island shopping center, a couple of cool clubs and a really nice boat ride to isla mujeres.

puerto madero was very (okay, SUPER) expensive but with delicious food and the best service ever.

Will definitely be back - same place same thing!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank shakoor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.3 mi away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#158 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
4.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#76 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 2,474 reviews
6.0 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#43 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#83 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solymar Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Beach & Resort

Property: Solymar Beach & Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, with a three stars category and splendid five diamonds beach is the perfect place for families and Couples. It's All Inclusive Plan and also Only room ; it will be an unforgettable experience for who looks for quality, economy and service in a relaxed atmosphere.Located on Kilometer 18.70 Hotel Zone, just 15 minutes away from Cancun's international airport to 10 minutes from the main shoppings mall and only three minutes from the Iberostar Cancun Golf Club. 75 Standar rooms distributed in 3 buildings and 10 suites on the ground floor all them with Air conditioning with individual control, Cable TV, telephone service, in room Safety deposit box at no charge. The room counts with either King Size, or two double Beds. The Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Solymar Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing