We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice economy location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solymar Cancun Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Ranked #151 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice economy location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

It is best to say the hotel is a bit tired and needs some TLC. The first room had no hot water and the second the air con was not too great. The ocean views were lovely and the staff were friendly. The rooms are very big but don't expect a good selection of food although most was nice. With the bar it closes quite early and if it rains you won't really be able to stay dry as there is only a pool bar. Also the range of drinks is quite small and only expect beakers or plastic cups.

There is a small shop in the lobby but it isn't cheap so best jumping on the bus to a local supermarket if you do need supplies.

There aren't any bars or eating places without a good 40 minute walk but the buses are every few minutes and the bus stops out front and is very cheap to get about.

It seems quite an international resort although mainly Americans seem to visit. The staff all spoke good English and of course Spanish.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a sea view and check everything works
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    236
    207
    125
    260
See reviews for
209
293
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PG BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel Solymar not expecting much after reading the reviews. We figured people were either exaggerating or just a but harsh. We were there for 2 weeks,the first room we had was very cozy ,the maid came every day and cleaned . It was small with a nice little balcony overlooking the sea.The food was not exaggerated in the reviews as we soon found out. It was not eye appealing, nor did it taste very good and the variety was lacking. Fruit was only available at breakfast and it was a small selection of mostly watermelon.No toaster on site, for those who are toast and coffee breakfasters.The rest of the meals were pretty much the same everyday ,and not once did we have anything that even resembled a true mexican dish!
The beach was nice ,but lacked tanning loungers for the amount of people and the lifeguard was annoying ,blowing his whistle when ever some one ventured past there knees in the water.
The most disappointing for our trip was the lack of anywhere comfortable to sit or lie while sunbathing except in the sand. The loungers around the pool areas were hard as rock ,made out of wood ,the stools at the bar were cement, and the chairs in the dining area were plastic patio type and uncomfortable. Thankfully our room had a nice couch and bed .
For those who go all inclusive because of the drinks ,go elsewheres,the drinks are watered down ,the poorest,cheapest alcohol is used and the bartenders though they try hard ,lack experience.
Our last night there was the last straw for us , upon going to our room we were told we would have to move because of a problem with our room,we saw no problem,we later found out they booted us out to accommadate one of the owners who had shown up for a hotel meeting! They put us in a huge basement suite ,that had no view and was too large to be cozy for 2 people. This was the first vacation we actually looked forward to ending and going home !

Room Tip: make sure you have a room near the reception desk.with a balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseekingbratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

we have checked in only for the low price and we did regret it later on. the food is bad, the only thing i enjoyed was the seafood but meat and even poultry was very hard to chew. salads were lovely but who cares about salads :) the restaurant was not nice at all, for 14 days we spent there we had not seen a tablecloth on a table nor the buffet bar. i sure saw a cockroach! every table moves with you when you try to put your arms on it so be carefull! breakfest are very poor, always the same stuff and not always enough for everyone so be quick! :) beach is nice but again a lack of sunbeds and even if you lucky to get one ist pointless as they havnt got a matrace so san will do much better you can dig a little to make it much more comfy. pool was good but dont think they do as the sign says ''the pool is under a chemical treatment every night'' or something simillar. also, bring your own hoover and a bucket and mop as the room wont get cleaned regullary - 14 days there and got cleaned 4 times! first time we left some small changed pesos on the table as a tip for the cleaning and guess what? it all went but the room didnt get cleaned. no joke!! bring some extra toilet paper and your own towels - we literally had to steal a toilet paper roll from the public toilets near to bar haha and keep telling to the receptionist for 3 days that we need some clean towels! even if you manage to get a towel dont expect a fancy one! i wouldnt try to dry a scabby dog with it! the door on our room was about to break down every time we put the key in (yes they dont use a card but a normal key) the room smelled i dont know of what but wasnt a nice smell so a air freshener must be a part of your luggade too! also, there are some bugs in beds i havent seen any but the proove is on my legs - a few nasty bites that itch like hell. you better speak spanish (or mayan) as not many of staff speak english. hope this helped you, have a nice time :) Pete

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPeteBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Not being very picky, we decided to ignore all the bad reviews and check in this hotel, thinking it can't be THAT bad. Well, it is! It is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
The hotel seems abandoned, smells like mold, has broken couches even in the reception area. The lagoon view room we had smelled very bad, had broken furniture, cable tv not working properly. We tried to change rooms, but at the reception they told us there was no ocean view room available.
The restaurant was terrible, there was a foul odor, mold on the walls, dirty buffet table and very stained tablecloths.
Cocktails at the pool bar were terrible.
The beach seemed to be beautiful, but totally not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

What a dive!! Since we arrived at this hell hole it has been one problem after another! First of all, don't count on the following things if you stay here: Dont count on a nice refreshing shower, because the hot water doesnt work at all! The rooms are riddled with bugs, the food is only about one step above slop u would feed a pig, and dont count on a good nights sleep cuz the Euro-trash that stay here will drag there furniture around there room all night! Our room has o tv remote, when i tried to call the front desk.....GUESS WHAT?!?!?! IT DOESNT WORK!!! So i walked down to ask about the phone and remote and i got the same answer i got when i asked about the internet...."we will fix it tomorrow." Guess what? they didnt fix anything! now i have too get on a plane as a sweaty mess! Ive stayed in nicer motels!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank khalid111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is run down, stinks of rotted wood; the pool is green, there is only one bar and restaurant, the staff is rude. Basically, save your money and don't bother staying here- for the ten bucks you'd "save" spend a little more and go to a decent hotel- save yourself the headache.

Room Tip: Don't bother- each room including the suites on the first floor aren't kept clean also, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

this hotel was by far the worst the worst and worst of all hotels I ve ever been. bloody sheets, finger nails on tables, poor quality of the food, horrible service, smell of mold, nasty bugs inside the bed, no tv no nothin this hotel sucks period . do not be fooled by the cheap price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
7.3 mi away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#154 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#90 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solymar Condos
Solymar Condos
#5 of 118 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solymar Cancun Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Cancun Beach Resort

Property: Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solymar Cancun Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, with a three stars category and splendid five diamonds beach is the perfect place for families and Couples. It's All Inclusive Plan and also Only room ; it will be an unforgettable experience for who looks for quality, economy and service in a relaxed atmosphere.Located on Kilometer 18.70 Hotel Zone, just 15 minutes away from Cancun's international airport to 10 minutes from the main shoppings mall and only three minutes from the Iberostar Cancun Golf Club. 75 Standar rooms distributed in 3 buildings and 10 suites on the ground floor all them with Air conditioning with individual control, Cable TV, telephone service, in room Safety deposit box at no charge. The room counts with either King Size, or two double Beds. The Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Solymar Cancun Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing