We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balance of location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ramada Cancun City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ramada Cancun City
Ranked #91 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Balance of location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I was in this hotel for a mini-vacation after a business meeting. I had been advised to stay here as opposed to the Zona Hotelera and I'm glad I did. I found it better to go to the Zone and enjoy and then come back here for sleep. The area is safe to walk around at night and there are some decent restaurants along the main strip. It's also close to Walmart--the cheapest place to get souvenirs and Mexican vanilla in the city. If you want a resort feel, by all means go to the Zona Hotelera. But if you actually want to see Cancun then this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    124
    53
    20
    14
See reviews for
63
102
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel ticked all the boxes for me during my stay in Cancun. I arrived without a reservation and they happily accommodated me in a huge room that was very quiet. The WiFi, TV and air-con all worked well, and the shower was nice and strong. This was the perfect option for someone who didn't want to pay hundreds of dollars a night to stay along the beach strip, as the hotel provides a free daily shuttle out to a beach club. So you can still have the same beach experience at half the price! The hotel is right amongst a number of good restaurants, and just a couple of blocks' walk from the ADO bus station. And just down the road is a massive shopping mall with a cinema, restaurants and hundreds of shops.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The staff was good but location wise this is not a good place to be for the price you are paying.

The most ridiculous thing about this hotel is the policy of providing only 2 small bottles of water per day. They call them selfs 4 star hotel and they expect their guests to drink only 2 small bottles of water per day. I was asked by the hotel staff to go out and buy water bottles if I use more than 2.

same goes for the soap and shampoos. The bathroom toiletries were not up to the standard.

The staff was polite and the room was cleaned well. Other than that there is nothing good about this hotel. I will definitely not stay here again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
269 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Booked for Wyndham for 60$...hotels in the city are way cheaper than in the Zona...

Arrived around 1PM...walked from the ADO terminal and got a bit lost, so get a good map if you are walking it...its only 5 minutes once you know the proper route.

Check in was courteous, if a bit cold, and was provided a room facing street. Noise was not too bad, but not balcony, as those unit facing the pool in the courtyard. The room was large but with spartiate decor. As other mentioned, the bed was hard. Furniture is sparse and Ikea style. Good LCD TV with a few English channel. Wifi was free and worked well for me. Bathroom was very bare but large, with a big shower stall, a nice sink and loo...but the water pressure sucked.

There is a small gym with older cardio equipments, no weights. The pool was nice and clean. I did not partake to their breakfast buffet (around 10$) as there are plenty of dirt cheap options around for food...the ADO bus station have a few vendors selling tacos for a buck.

The hotel is in walking distance to Zone 28 market, but this is mainly a kitsch tourist trap market.The shuttle has limited departure times to the beach, and was not available on my short stay due to the beach area event for spring break (people sploshing colors on themselves...).

I would go back, given the location and the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel looks great, the rooms are comfortable, I felt rested after sleeping in bed.

It was a last minute choice for work, however, was sufficiently pleased.

What I did not like was that there was no soap or shampoo for hair, have only one dispenser.

The location is not the best but for the price worth it. Not much place to park and leave the car on the street is not an option

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joselo527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Really clean rooms with air condition. Nothing faulty to find.
Very central position in Cancun, ~5 minute walk to the bus station and tons of restaurants around.
But pretty expensive, considering there's no breakfast included.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank qaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
96 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have never understood why people choose to stay in the hotelzone. Its overprized and full of drunken trash. The centro of Cancun is the place to be in the evenings, great restaurants and good prices. Last time we stayed at Ramada Cancun Cituy and it was natural that we chose this great place once again. The rates are very very good and the location too. Rooms are very clean, well maintaned and furniture quite good. Could not ask for more for this price. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larzon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
Adhara Hacienda Cancun
Adhara Hacienda Cancun
#92 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#83 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.4 mi away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#69 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
1.2 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#114 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#79 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ramada Cancun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ramada Cancun City

Property: Hotel Ramada Cancun City
Address: Avenida Yaxchilan 41, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ramada Cancun City 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ramada Cancun City opened its doors in February 26, 2010 after a deep renovation program, equipped with new furniture, all rooms with 32' LCD TV, all floor and walls changed, using vibrant colors, new bathrooms, adding hairdryer, vanity mirrors, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, safety box. Lobby, restaurant and bar all with new equipment and concept. High Speed wireless internet access is an addition of our services and it is available in guest rooms, meeting rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ramada Cancun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Margaritas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing