We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of Ramada Cancun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Cancun City
Ranked #82 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are stopping in Cancun on your way to the other delights situated in the Yucatan peninsula, the Ramada Cancun City offers value & location for your stop-over.

Its proximity to the ADO bus terminal as well as downtown shopping & restaurants, is ideal. It is also close to public bus routes (8 pesos MX for a 40 minute trip) that will take you to the hotel zone as well as the new Maya Museum with the San Miguel archaeological ruins site on its grounds.

The rooms are comfortable with all the basic amenities you would expect a Ramada property to have. Food at the ground floor restaurant is good, particualrly the breakfast buffet.

FYI: ADO has a bus shuttle service going from the airport directly to the terminal. Before heading to the hotel (you can walk it if you are travelling light), one can check bus routes & schedules and purchase advance tickets for your next location.

.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    158
    67
    21
    18
See reviews for
88
135
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in three different hotels on three consecutive nights while we moved about in Cancun and the Mayan Riviera chasing the wind for kitesurfing. We had a very pleasant stay at the Ramada. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel was conveniently located near to stores and restaurants, and although it was a little noisy at night, we managed a good night's rest. The buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant was enjoyable. The Ramada was the best of the three 3-star hotels we stayed at. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay but for a night or two, it would be ideal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shs_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile


We booked this hotel for 5 nights because we were here last year when we were very happy ramada beach club. so great was the disappointment when we arrived and the Beach Club was closed. which we were not made aware by booking on the contrary, there are pictures and description of the beach club . were driven to the beach club where we had to pay 200 pesos for 2 chairs every day. operation at the reception at ramada is extremely slow and not very welcoming

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JetteBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Pool need cleanness
Sink get forever to drain
Room need new ac and clean the floor have stains for the ac. But you can stay secure if you ain't going to be at the hotel and want to go out for nice restaurants and nightlife
Nice staff!
Nothing else to said!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urdanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

So much better to choose from.

I could talk about how we went through three rooms before we got one that was clean and everything worked (and did not have brown stuff smeared on the back of the bathroom door. Just take a guess at what it was), or I could mention that Mr. Pool, the day desk clerk, was a bit of a passive-aggressive jerk and even grabbed the arm of a young woman who was trying to direct us to a place where he did not get a kick-back and stopped her from helping us (seriously, go early in the morning or late at night for help, the night desk clerk was so nice) But what made this place a no-go from our point of view was the night club across the street. Did you ever have a car with a sound system that made the whole car seem like it was going to shake apart pull up next to you? The sub-woofer so intense that you heard the car about half a mile away? Well, that is the club across the street. I even had ear plugs, but deep bass, low decibel sound waves are not something you can block out with ear plugs, the vibration just goes right through. The music goes every night until 4am. The worse part is, when I went outside at 3am to look, no one was even in the club. If the place was packed with party goers, I would have thought, “OK, people are having a great time, Since I can’t sleep, might as well join them”, but no one was even in the place!
In short, we have traveled all over the world and can put up with dirty rooms and bad locations, and jerks at the front desk are common enough, but the hotel can’t control the night club and that is the deal breaker. Don’t stay here.

Positives: 100% Natural is very close and has great breakfasts. They will bring you a basket of baked goods with your coffee. We almost always bought them along with a shared egg breakfast (portions are a good size) to eat later in the day. The juices are very good.
If you only have time for one market, go to Market 23 instead of the nearby 28, it is more relaxing to look around. ADO bus system is great, we took it everywhere.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, ask for a room between 14-18, like 218 or 318, this will put you as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MigiMigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Ramada Cancun City hotel is very close to Mercado 28, and on the same street as many of the mexican restaurants and parrillas.

The rooms in Ramada are standard issue double beds, and the sheets clean. The pillows are above average for a hotel in its class. There is a small swimming pool located in the back.

The breakfast/dining room is open plan behind the front desk, and offers average fare. I had booked the room without the complimentary breakfast option; a few minutes walk away is mercado 28. There are a many outdoor eating options a block and a half from the hotel.

Wifi Internet is available in the room, and power outlets are very conveniently located next to the bed.

The only con was the A/C. The control in the wall was awkward to operate and adjust.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank nightndawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The downtown Ramada is a nice hotel in a great location. Located by a large plaza, restaurants, grocery store and bus station this is a good spot if you want to avoid the hotel zone on the beach. Not a single complaint.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sweetbeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#87 of 175 in Cancun
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adhara Hacienda Cancun
Adhara Hacienda Cancun
#74 of 175 in Cancun
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 175 in Cancun
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Caribe
Hotel Plaza Caribe
#93 of 175 in Cancun
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Cancun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Cancun City

Property: Ramada Cancun City
Address: Av. Yaxchilan 41 SM 22, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Cancun City 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ramada Cancun City opened its doors in February 26, 2010 after a deep renovation program, equipped with new furniture, all rooms with 32' LCD TV, all floor and walls changed, using vibrant colors, new bathrooms, adding hairdryer, vanity mirrors, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, safety box. Lobby, restaurant and bar all with new equipment and concept. High Speed wireless internet access is an addition of our services and it is available in guest rooms, meeting rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Cancun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Margaritas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing