We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ughhh...don't stay here”
Review of Hotel Plaza Kokai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Ranked #136 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This place was really gross. The room had textured white washed walls with some drips and stains on the walls. The bed was well worn and the coverlet was old and faded. The lighting was dim and I believe flourescent. The batheroom tub had stains and backed up when we took a shower. The water started running brown, though it did clear up after 30 seconds or so.

The drain on the bathroom floor was broken and I kept catching my foot on it. I've backpacked in Asia and stayed in some pretty run-down places, but they were $5 a night. At $90 a night, I expect clean!

Also, they advertise free parking for guests...this is street parking that they hold at the front of the hotel, and you have to pull up on the curb. And, the pool was green tinted with algae.

The only bright spots in this dismal experience: the staff is absolutely lovely and they gave us a refund for the nights we'd already paid for when we checked out after just one night. The continental breakfast was just coffee, toast and either juice or fruit, but the coffee was awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 129 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2010

Kokai Plaza has a great central location (in el Centro close to bus station). The hotel's rooms are adequate - somehow the air conditioning never really functioned well. Tile floors and hard beds probably resemble every other budget hotel in Mexico. But room was clean and had bottled water. Pool is very small and not so clean. Restaurant attached serving continental breakfast is good. Staff was helpful. I would probably stay at Radisson down the street in future for a few more pesos.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmlandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

This was an ideal room for what we needed-A hotel near the bus station and the centre of town. The hotel was friendly, clean and comfortable. We Paid about 700 pesos and that included a full breakfast and air conditioning in the rooms. They also let us keep our bags behind reception while we explored downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalesHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

Friendly and helpful staffs. Help us with making a lot of arrangements. Convenient location. Easy walk to bus station and downtown restaurants. Amenities commensurate with price.

We basically used the hotel as our base for exploring the attractions in surrounding areas. The hotel staff help us get rental car in which we drove to Chichen Itza, Ek Balam, Coba, Tulum, and so on. It's a perfectly fine place for our kind of travel, but if you want to spend a lot of time enjoying yourself in the hotel, you should look at beach-front hotels instead.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mdtrvlr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

I paid $39 per night for three nights via Hotwire, and to be honest if I'd paid much more than that I would've been gutted!

Room 203.

Pros:

Location. Just a three minute walk from the R1 bus stop to take you to the Zona Hotelera if you wish. To get to the main strip takes about 15 to 20 mins and costs 7 pesos (70 cents, 35 pence).
Price.
Staff. A couple of the guys that could speak English on front desk were very helpful.

Cons:

Room. AC hardly worked, and the door lock felt very flimsy. It also smelt musty.
Pool. A bit of an excuse for a pool really, with lots of leaves in it. However, it did soothe my aching feet after a lot of beach walking.

If you're on a budget and can't afford the $180+ of the mega hotels, then this isn't a bad alternative, depending on how much you end up paying.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FozzieBear2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
12
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Clean-towels are birds and toilet paper roses--fast room service--reasonable prices for drinks and food in restaurant and room service: Great lounge with live musica--very friendly staff-plan to return

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NYC
15
Reviewed March 31, 2006

For those who is using Priceline to book this hotel, you may encounter some problems. I recently went to Cancun with a friend and we had ordered our tickets and hotel through priceline. Everything went well untill the last night of the stay. On the last night of the stay on of the the workers told us that priceline has not paid them and that they have tried to call. I was asked to pay for the hotel first and then when I got back to NY, and contact priceline they will submit a full refund to me. (on top of that they told me that they will wait for at least 10 days before charging my credit card, so I would have the chance to get the situation straight.) But instead they charged my credit card immediately right after my stay and Proceline told me that they where not coorprating with priceline. They were not returning their calls. I have personally called them and the manger told me to email him. So i did and he never respose back, ok maybe he didn't understand english so I translated my email into spanish but yet there is no response. Therefore I don't believe I will ever recieve my refund. I just want travelers to be aware of this hotel. Other than that, the hotel was Ok. It has a weird --- smell. The pool was really small and it was in the shape of a triangle. There is a bus that will bring you to the back of a beach where the nice hotels are. The bus nly make a trip at 10 and 11 am. You will have take the public bus back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Suites Cancun Centro
Suites Cancun Centro
#162 of 176 in Cancun
23 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel del Sol
Hotel del Sol
#109 of 176 in Cancun
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Cuates de Cancun
Los Cuates de Cancun
#153 of 176 in Cancun
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#114 of 176 in Cancun
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#104 of 176 in Cancun
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Kokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Kokai

Address: Avenida Uxmal 26 Sm 2-a, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $35 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Kokai 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Kokai is located in the city of Cancun, which is often referred to as the Mexican Caribbean. Cancun is in Quintana Roo, on the Yucatan Peninsula. For a good night’s sleep, each room in Hotel Plaza Kokai is air-conditioned, and furnished with a cozy bed, hair dryer, wireless Internet access, luggage rack, and private toilet and bath. Accommodations further have a writing desk and chair. Hotel Plaza Kokai in Cancun warmly welcomes every business and leisure traveler into its safe and amply furnished confines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Kokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Kokai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing