We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”
Review of Hotel Plaza Kokai

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Ranked #131 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

horrible bathroom, horrible smell, horrible bed sheets.
Just horrible.
The only possitive thing is the nice people, location & Starbucks which is located a few minutes walking from the hotel. Besides if you can avoid this place- do so.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    33
    18
    14
See reviews for
22
45
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed 3 weeks in this downtown hotel. Very convenient to everything, 2 blocks from the central bus station, about a mile from the Walmart, 2 blocks from the central bus stop to get the bus to the hotel zone an beaches, nearby restaurants. Nice clean hotel, aways someone cleaning, or painting. Doing lots of maintenance. Rooms have 2 double beds, and are large enough for a family. Friendly staff, some with limited English, and my Spanish is more limited, but we were able to communicate. Housekeepng staff very nice. The renovations can get noisy, but not before 8 a.m. We would stay there again. Nice to get away from all the crowds in the hotel zone.
Nice little park right behind the hotel. Beds are hard though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway away from the elevator. It can get noisy, and people walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in plaza kokai for 3 nights. Every morning at 8am we were woken up to the sound of renovation in the room next door. The noice continued the whole day and it was impossible to stay in our room during the daytime. This was particularly annoying because of our jetlag from our 8 hours time difference. When we asked from the receptionist about when the renovation would stop, the answer was always "in an hour", and of course this wasn't true. The attitude of the receptionist was not good enough consideribg the circumstances. The room smelled of mold and we didn't get clean towels. The breakfast is not huge, only few pieces of bread, juice or fruit and coffee. The hotel is located near the ado buss station, mainly the only positive thing about this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed there for two weeks. The location is excellent-close to the bus station, supermarket, shops, restaurants.The r1 bus stop to the hotel zone is close by too. You can even get a mini-bus to playa del carmen and puerto morales just a five minute walk away. The hotel was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was
excellent.If I ever go back to Cancun I would stay there.:-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

for those who travel by bus, the ADO station is only a couple of street crossing away. I also booked over the internet, cancelled and rebooked, no problem they accommodated my changes. the price is reasonable and the hotel well designed

Room Tip: I prefer the room facing the road, a little noisy but the divided road has lots of trees making it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

nice location downtown cancun,take the bus from the airport and 5 min walk to this hotel,nice location,safe area,quite,grocery 5 min walk,main bus terminal 5 min walk,great shopping at market 28 for gifts 15 min walk,free breakfast,always the same everyday but ok,wi-fi not very good but mcdonalds is 5 min walk also ,good price for downtown,nice staff,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
Maria De Lourdes
Maria De Lourdes
#127 of 175 in Cancun
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tankah
Hotel Tankah
#135 of 175 in Cancun
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#73 of 175 in Cancun
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#89 of 175 in Cancun
142 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
0.3 mi away
Marazul Hotel Boutique
Marazul Hotel Boutique
#121 of 175 in Cancun
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Kokai

Property: Hotel Plaza Kokai
Address: Avenida Uxmal 26 Sm 2-a, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Kokai 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Kokai is located in the city of Cancun, which is often referred to as the Mexican Caribbean. Cancun is in Quintana Roo, on the Yucatan Peninsula. For a good night’s sleep, each room in Hotel Plaza Kokai is air-conditioned, and furnished with a cozy bed, hair dryer, wireless Internet access, luggage rack, and private toilet and bath. Accommodations further have a writing desk and chair. Hotel Plaza Kokai in Cancun warmly welcomes every business and leisure traveler into its safe and amply furnished confines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Kokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Kokai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing