We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
Ranked #40 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We just returned from this resort on Saturday March 19. We are a young family (two children ages 6 and 4) and traveled with another family (children ages 12 and 8). Although it was US College Spring Break - they weren't too rowdy most of the time. This hotel is small and on the more expensive side for all inclusives so there weren't tonnes of college partiers there, although there were a few.

The hotel is spotless in all areas. It is totally well taken care of and isn't showing an signs of age.

The room we had was in the Premier Tower and on the second to top floor. The view was amazing of the whole beach and ocean.Our friends' view was slightly obstructed by a wall, but still beautiful none the less. The bathroom shower was very nice with a rain style head and two jets coming out of the wall.

We spent most of our time at the larger of the two pools which had the activities at it. The activity staff as many people have commented are fantastic. The bartenders are very good and it's super busy so they work hard. The drinks were not watered down at all, in fact some were quite strong! In order get your choice of loungers at the pool(s) you need to place towels on them by 7:30 or so in the morning - but this is usual for most all inclusives in high season. The water is very cold but our kids loved it anyway!
There is a little kids' play area by the end of the pool and although it's fairly budget, there is a trampoline and swings as well as hammocks that the kids loved. The tramp is modern with the netting around it.

The beach is very well groomed and clean. There is a lifeguard on duty during the day and he works hard to make sure people are swimming within the yellow flags. The waves are strong, but our kids were able to play in the shallow areas and were comfortable with the water.

The food was excellent. We ate at the buffet most times with the exception of El Mirador (the Italian) and La Concha (the poolside restaurant). It is a pain that you have to line up fairly early to get a reservation time at the italian place - we were in line second and still didn't get our choice of time as 'management' reserved the entire 8pm slot. A bit disappointing, but the meal was well worth adjusting our schedule. A note: if you want babysitting in the hotel it's expensive - $15 per hour for two children until 10:00 and then $25 for two children hourly. The ekinox lounge on top of the italian place is nice, limited to those over 22 years old which is nice during spring break as most of those rowdies didn't go there!

The buffet was excellent and there was always a good variety of foods. I've travelled to several all inclusives in Mexico and in Cuba and this was very well done. Any restaurant gets boring after a week but this one tries hard to have a good variety. Food is alwyas brought out fresh and the food service areas are kept spotless. There was always a good selection of simple foods for the kids if they were picky eaters (hot dogs, cheese quesadillas, plain or cheese pasta, ham and cheese sandwiches, fresh fruit, simple desserts, cereal, veggie sticks), I ate salad every day at lunch (someone mentioned not finding salad there, but I ate lots!) topped with delicious toppings such as chick peas, celery, nuts, cheese, beets, snow peas, jicama, carrots etc. There was always a selection of meats done in a variety of ways. There was also always a vegetarian main meal in addition to all the side dishes. For breakfast the main things were the usual - omlettes, eggs, sausages (no bacon though!), waffles and pancakes. There was also yogurt in individual pots, fruit salad, sliced fruit (pineapple, watermelon, papaya, two kinds of oranges, grapefruit), and a variety of buns. At lunch the buffet was loaded with deli meats, cheeses, buns, salads, as well as a nice selection of hot dishes. There was always two soups available also. The 24 hour ice cream and sandwich bar is nice too - the sandwiches are freshly made and tasty. The ice cream (gelato I think) was delicious and a hit with all the kids!

Cancun itself is a noisy and bustling tourist site which is noisy at night. It never bothered my kids, but sometimes I had a hard time sleeping due to the club noise across the road - ear plugs would solve this and it's not the problem of the hotel - there are clubs all the way along the hotel zone!

The hotel offers 24 hour room service and stocks the in room bar daily with two of each pop, two coronas and 4 waters. All of this is included which is sometimes an additional charge in all inclusive resorts.

As another review says, they want to charge for internet, but on our deck we were able to get free wireless from the next resort over. Charging for internet these days is a bit ridiculous in my opinion!

The staff are all friendly and will make all efforts to make sure you are well taken care of. I think it's a great value at this hotel and worth going for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snowfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,650 - 3,656 of 6,890 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

This was an amazing vacation. The hotel was so incredibly clean and the workers worked so hard from sun-up to well after dark. The activity directors were incredible. They were always organinzing some type of activity... waterpolo, volleyball, trivia, etc. Diego was our favorite.

The rooms:
Incrediblely clean... yes the beds are a little hard, but didn't matter to us.
They were kept well stocked with beer, sodas, and water. We drank the water in the rooms and at the restaurants and never got sick at all. Keep your fans on at night and the patio door cracked to drown out the disco noise though

The food:
amazing!! We loved the buffet and the snack bar and the pizza bar. My kids must have gone to the Cafe sol at least 10 times a day to get gelatto. We never went to the oriental restaurant or the Italian restaurant... didn't want to get out of our shorts! Room service is also included and for the most part great. The later you order at night the worse the food is and it takes forever.

The bars:
Incredible. We loved the bartenders, esp Roberto at the main pool bar! they offered the same service whether you tiped or not, but we tried hard to tip every so often, as they work very hard!



The event staff....
The best ever. They worked so hard to keep everyone busy with activities. They are so kind and friendly. I was amazed that they remembered people's name day after day. I wish they would offer a teen club though for the under 18 and above 14 crowd though. after 10 pm there wasn't much for them to do but either hang in the bars or go to bed. This was the only thing missing from this hotel

The beach
the beach was great. It had a decent sized area that was yellow flag everyday. The kids (age 11-17) were able to board and play in ocean all they wanted. It is too rough to snorkel though... go to cozemel for that.

The pools
A little chilly, but it felt great after 1 min, esp when playing volleyball, or waterpolo. we stuck to the main pool mostly. The upper pool was really windy and they played boring music.

Helpful hints..
Bring a sweater and/or jacket.... it was really chilly at night, as the wind blows hard.
we went to Isla Mujeros one day. It was ok, nothing great, probably wouldn't do it again, but it wasn't awful. The snorkeling was really rough. The zip line was fun, but a long wait.

We went to the Coral Negro market a couple of times. was really fun, and you can really barder with them on prices, although the prices in the hotel gift shop were really good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This was our first trip to Cancun and it was AMAZING! We were with people that had been to Cancun before and they said this place was by far the BEST one yet! We are already trying to plan our next trip to back, the bartenders, housekeeping and food service staff were all very amazing. We know it is their job to welcome you put it was amazing to us how they (the staf) would go out of their way to make sure they said good morning or just hello.
The pool entertainment group, Maria, Arturo and Paco made our first day one to remember! Water arobics, water polo and the balloons over the volleyball net (can's remember what they called it) were all so much fun.
We traveled with 6 people, none of us got sick...From the food anyway...maybe the tequilla!
Our bartenders were always accommodating, Thank you...Georgio, Giovanni, Fransico, Salvador
We would (will) be going back to the same location without hesitation!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanLisa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Traveled with three other couples and only one person out of the group didn't get sick. One of our group members couldn't even leave his room for two days! Another group of six we spoke with at the resort all got sick as well. Only thing we could narrow it down to was something on the buffet.

The resort was clean and the staff were pleasant but considering we were too ill most of the trip to enjoy much of the hotel activities makes it difficult to give a positive review.

The Italian restaurant was very good. The oriental one was not good. The snack bar was lacking in variety: hamburger or hotdog. The pizza was so-so, edible but nothing to get excited about. Ice cream shop was good. STAY AWAY FROM THE BUFFET.

The view from the Premier Tower rooms was gorgeous. Thank goodness since we spent more time in the room than we've ever done on a beach vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pressler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We had a great time at this hotel. Arrived Sunday around 4pm. Greated with cocktails at the check-in. Reguested a room higher up so we could enjoy the view and ended up on 4th floor. Fantastic views from the room and balcony. Weather was perfect all week and so was the service, food and the drinks.

Room:
We were in the older premium tower. Furniture in the room was starting to show its age. King size Bed was comfy but a bit hard. No problems. Maid serivice was excellent. Make sure you leave a tip. Also kept the min-bar stocked with pop water and beer.

Food
We ate at the italian resturant 2 times and the oriental 2 times also. I thought the food and service was great. Sometimes a longer wait to get served at the oriental resturant. Get in line about 11:45 in the morning to secure your spot as it fills quickly. Nice new bar on top of the italian resturant to enjoy a before or after dinner cocktail also. The buffet was great for breakfast. Will make your eggs any style. Fried scrambled or omlets. No bacon but lots of sausage. Lots of fresh fruit and juices also. We ate 2 times at the buffet for dinner and thought it was just ok. Great snack bar for delecious hamburgers and hotdogs and nachos. Pizza also available near the pool bar.

Beach
The beach is huge since the new beach construction from a few years ago. I can remember the water coming up to the walls of the pool in the late 90's. Now its got to be 50 yards wide. No problem getting a shady tiki spot in the morning if out by 8am. Some chairs around the pool filled up fast. Main pool was a little chilly but not bad. Hot tub was luke warm. The infiinty pool I thought was ice cold! The ocean was nice and warm. Red flags most of the time but there were some areas where yellow flags were out and you could play in the surf. Lots of pool activities if you care to join in also. The staff does a great job.

Drinks
Bar staff super friendly and will make anything you like. Beer choices were limited to Corona and Modelo dark. Drop a tip as these guys work hard all day! The bar inside the hotel is very nice and a great spot to unwind at the end of the day before or after dinner also.

Would highly recommend this hotel and plan to go back soon. Perfect location!

Internet. They want to charge $18-$20 per day which is outragouecrazy. Was however able to pick up a free wireless signal from the LeBlanc resort next door. So that worked out LOL!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthCountry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

The Cancun Caribe Park Royal Grand hotel was an excellent hotel for many reasons. The customer service was spectacular from the front desk personnel, the workers in the restaurants and buffets, the entertainment staff, and the housekeeping staff. This is a perfect hotel for any age group. There were some spring breakers, some older crowds, and some people in the middle (which we were). There was great entertainment by the pool during the day (including contests, trivia, kids activities, and volleyball) and there was also entertainment like karaoke and casino night later on. The staff also coordinates the planning at clubs for the night time if you wish to participate. They take you in a shuttle to the club which was a great feature. The food options were endless from the three buffets, the three restaraunts, and the snacks (burgers, hot dogs, chips/salsa/nachos) and they were all included....not to mention the cafe with amazing gelato.

Overall, this was the best vacation I have had in Cancun and I have been there 4 times. Great service and great value.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

If you're in college and you're looking at this page, do not look anywhere else. My 2 roommates and I stayed here for 5 days for spring break and we had the most incredible time. Everything was perfect, not to mention that it was the least expensive resort package offered on Expedia.

We arrived on Monday, and were immediately welcomed with a frozen fruit drink. The hotel staff took our bags right away and we were given our all-inclusive wrist bands for the week. Do not ever lose your wrist band, it costs a pretty penny to replace it. We paid for a "garden view" room, but were surprised that we were staying on the top floor of the main tower overlooking the ocean! The hotel staff work hard and are very friendly. Tip them well, and you'll be treated like kings for your stay (especially the bartenders!).

The entertainment staff was by far the best part of our experience. Diego, Andres, Arturo, and Maria are simply hilarious people who really love what they do. Every day they had activities either in the pool or on the beach that tended to be catered more towards college kids, but I think that would probably change during other months. Our personal favorite was tequila volleyball :)

Each night they would lead a hotel excursion to one of the local night clubs. It costs more than the standard cover, but it is totally worth it. You skip the entrance lines and get bottle service for your table that they constantly refill in addition to the open bar. If you're going for spring break, make sure to bring a couple hundred dollars worth of cash, you don't want to miss out on the club experience.

The food was exceptional, we really enjoyed the buffet and the other smaller food places. Both the Oriental and Mirador restaurants were fantastic, but it was very hard to make a reservation for Mirador. They tell you to call at noon, but it's better to actually show up to the restaurant at that time since the phone is always busy.

The only downside I could possibly see is that the hotel may not be the best for younger families. Lots of places in the hotel either have an age limit or dress code, and during the spring break weeks lots of attention is focused on the college kids. Then again, if you're going to Cancun during March, I imagine avoiding spring break is a very difficult task no matter what. Other than that, I have a hard time criticizing anything about this place.

Overall, if you're looking for a place for spring break, this is it. Great location, great food, great people. We're coming back next year, and hopefully for a few more days this time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lmartin605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.2 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#31 of 177 in Cancun
8,415 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#58 of 177 in Cancun
4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.9 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
2.7 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 177 in Cancun
5,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 10.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#32 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $222 - $858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe is an exclusive resort that stands out for its personalized service and vast gastronomy that will delight you with Mexican, Italian and Asian specialties. Admire spectacular turquoise shades on its extensive fine white sand beach. Let your senses be enchanted by amazing sunsets and the best view of the Nichupté Lagoon, while refreshing with a sophisticated cocktail in the Ekinox Lounge Bar. The fun is guaranteed thanks to our activities program and nightly shows for all the family! Live the Grand Park Royal experience in Cancun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe Hotel Cancun
Caribe Park Royal Grand Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing