We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine for a few nights stopover”
Review of Hotel Plaza Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Caribe
Ranked #93 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in early Feb as we were starting a tour of Central America and it was the hotel used by the tour group.
The hotel was fine - a little unconventional by western standards in terms of the bathroom/shower situation but otherwise it was fine.
The room was clean, the air con worked well (and boy did we need it) and there was water supplied which was great.
The ADO bus stop across the road makes this a really handy location - if we'd realised earlier just how easy it was to catch the ADO bus we'd have definitely caught the bus to the hotel rather than got a private transfer. It's walking distance to some good food and there are plenty of convenience stores around
The wifi could be a bit patchy but overall it was okay and the pool looked good.
The hotel was quite noisy and there appeared to be a school group there rehearsing their drama play, which made for some interesting noises! But it wasn't a big deal.
I wouldn't be booking this hotel for more than a few nights and definitely not for any romantic holidays, but for our purposes it suited us just fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 356 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Terrible/rude customer service. Room smelled really musty and mouldy. Badly designed bathroom that allow other guests to see you using the toilet through the shower glass... I could go on. Conveniently close to the ADO bus station so we should have just caught the bus straight out of Cancun.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I spent 3 nights here because of convenience to the ADO. There is plenty of renovating going on in some of the buildings and reception is unfazed at giving you a room next door to one that's demolished inside and under construction, noisy. Beds and pillows are not the best, linens are thread bare, housekeeping is slow, towel exchange longer(expect towels to be removed from room by noon or before and not replaced until between 5 and 6pm). Because of rate I paid I did not get a remodeled room, if I were going to spend more time in the room it would have been worth it. Bathrooms in old rooms dingy, old, dirty looking. Mosquito spray (Off) needed until bell man could come back and spray room with Raid. Pool, lobby and grounds are nice. Exotic birds nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernest g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Poor planning found me at the Cancun bus terminal at 11:45pm with a dead cell phone and nowhere to stay. I wandered around a bit before deciding on this place, which is literally right across the street from the terminal--there was a sign outside advertising a double room for $590 pesos ($44 US), and I was desperate, so I figured why not.

I took the deal--it was 590 total, with no extra taxes or fees added. The cheap rooms were all on the third floor (no elevator); however, the room I got was nice--nothing fancy, but quiet and clean, with a tv and separate bathroom.

I wasn't at the hotel long--I left the following morning for Isla Mujeres--but I noticed that there was a nice, big courtyard that would have been an enjoyable place to relax for a bit. There was also a restaurant, where I ate breakfast--not included with the special price, but still not that expensive.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly, the room was nice and not that expensive, and the proximity to the bus terminal is a huge plus.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank JDirron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at the Plaza Caribe in mid November. We had a small poolside room which was ideal. The pool was clean & well maintained and ideal for the sunny Cancun weather. The hotel location was great - right across the street from the ADO bus terminal. Many small non-touristy stores, bars and restaurants well within walking distance. Two of our favourite higher end restaurants within walking distance are Labna and Habichuela ( side by side). There are two community parks closeby with local and cultural activities. The large artisans market is a few blocks (easy walk) away - prices for arts & crafts and souvenirs are a fraction of the price in the hotel zone (for the same items).
We had made separate reservations (at different times each for a different night). We we arrived home we discovered that there was a payment for both nights and also for one night (in error) on our credit card. I emailed the hotel about the error (which was unintentional) and they informed me that they already noticed it and had put through a credit. They attached a copy of the credit slip. How remarkable is that!! While at the hotel the staff was always friendly and asked about our needs. We will stay here again and also recommend it to our travelling friends.
BTW a previous review suggest that there was no door on the bathroom - in fact the shower door when left in the open position was, in fact, the bathroom door, permitting privacy.

Room Tip: poolside rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I've stayed here twice now. Both times I've travelled in by bus from Valladolid late, stayed in this hotel overnight then caught the bus to the airport in the AM. The hotel is literally across the stree from the bus station, so you only need to drag your suitcase by 100ft or so. The staff are friendly. The restaurant is OK; pretty tasty food but uber slow service. It's OK if your not in a hurry. Both times I've stayed in the newer rennovated rooms, and both times I've been on my own, and all I can say is thank god for that. A word of warning. There is absolutely no privacy as far as using the toilet is concerned. It's right in the room, although I suppose you could say it's technically behind the shower. However, you sit there in your full glory open to the room. It's a little weird.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentM_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Air condition filter was so clogged that air was not cooling everything else was perfect, restaurant great, the location was excellent, Maintenance should be more efficient for the Hotel and the clients, temperature is very hot


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nilo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#89 of 176 in Cancun
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Cancun City
Ramada Cancun City
#83 of 176 in Cancun
385 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Bonampak
Hotel Bonampak
#82 of 176 in Cancun
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#104 of 176 in Cancun
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 176 in Cancun
449 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#84 of 176 in Cancun
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Caribe

Address: Avenida Tulum | With Avenida Uxmal Lot 19. Sm 23, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $49 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Caribe Cancun hotel is a 3 star hotel located in the city center of Cancun. With the best location in the area we are the best choice for those who come on a business trip or tourism. We have 134 rooms of different categories and services, from the simplest rooms for those who need a hotel to spend the night, to the most luxurious ones that are ideal for those who seek the best comforts. In the hotel we offer wireless internet, open-air swimming pool open 365 days a year and traditional Mexican a la carte restaurant. The hotel is surrounded by small shops such as self-service shops, pharmacies, travel agencies, leasing companies and several food consumption centers. Moving around the city is easy if you stay with us since a few steps you can take public transport to any point in the city, also it is easy to visit the beaches about 15 minutes by bus and nearby places like Playa del Carmen or Puero Juarez to visit Isla Mujeres. In addition we are located in front of the ADO ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Caribe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing