We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Year, another amazing time.”
Review of Mia Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mia Cancun
Ranked #104 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed January 2, 2014

New Owners, some of the same employees. Everyone went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy. Our air was not working and they had someone working on it within the hour and get it fixed. This is not for someone who wants a 5 star experience of water sprayed lightly on your face with a massage or choice of sleeping pillows. (Although new mattresses were being delivered when I left) There are not large pools, fighting for beach chairs, or having to walk 1.2 mile to get to the beach. It is simple, beautiful, and charming. Yes, the owners could put some money into the property for upkeep. There were new pool chairs, but small things will have to be done to make sure upkeep keeps up with the times. Staff is great and attentive. We love it! There are stairs.

Room Tip: Face the the beach. 101 best unit in the place imo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picklenchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 474 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at this resort over Thanksgiving break. The size of the resort, the character and the staff were great. At times you feel as if you have the place to yourself. Yes, you can see the hotel's age in some of the details, but these imperfections are easy to overlook with all the other positives. No searching for beach chairs, excellent location to walk the beach, good food and drink in the restaurant, and friendly staff everywhere: special mention to Nestor in the bar and restaurant who went out of his way to make us feel welcome. If you want a major party place this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a nice hotel to relax at a good value, this is it.

Room Tip: Ocean side views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The former Avalon – Baccara, now known as the Mia – Baccara is a boutique hotel, with only 27 rooms, located on the beach amongst the modern giant hotels. I find this a respite from the “Vegas” style mega hotels now occupying most of the beach front in Cancun. True that the building is showing her age with cosmetic imperfections from years of neglect by the former owners, but then this is part of the charm of the hotel.

During our two night stay, we had great service by Alex, Juan, Daniel, Dan, and Louis – they went out of their way to make us feel at home….from check in, to changing our rooms, to drink and food service on the beach. And being at home is the feeling one gets while staying at this hotel. This is not so much a hotel, but rather a villa on one of the best beaches in the world.

One word of caution – no elevator so if you do not do well with stairs, this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpazCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

great place to get individualized attention in a resort town. close to shopping and eats on foot and what views and ease to sun and surf!!!! we loved the staff, so helpful with transportation issues, food service and housekeeping questions. Our room overlooking the pool and beautiful Caribbean was dreamy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OakIslandTickleMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a 2 bdr oceanfront room and just loved it! Clean, well appointed, comfortable beds and we could almost reach out and touch the beach. After 4 nights here we had booked into two different mega resorts that just didn't come close to the ambiance of the Baccarra. Staff was excellent and restaurant was well priced. If we ever return to Cancun again, its the only place we plan on staying.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for oceanside room...worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank platobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

great view of the ocean from the bedroom. WC was clean. Very spatious room. poorly maintained jacuzzi at the balcony(rust and salt all over).Old furniture. It took ages for the 1 employee to prepare breakfast, eventhough it was just us in there at that time, but it was really good after all. Not willing to provide info as to where a tourist can go around that area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasiliki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Place difficult to find, place need a lot of refurbish to become a nice place. Very nice people working there as it is usual in all México. the beach in front is great and that´s it. Nice localization, nice view but not nice rooms very old!!!! Don´t go there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge_Guedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#71 of 176 in Cancun
3,031 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#91 of 176 in Cancun
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#88 of 176 in Cancun
152 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
4.7 mi away
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Avalon Baccara Cancun)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $200 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mia Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mia Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Baccara Cancun Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing