We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Best kept secret in cancun"”
Review of Mia Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mia Cancun
Ranked #101 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Best kept secret in cancun"”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is not your tipicle cancun glass and boxy tower. The Baccara hotel is a converted mansion built by one of the former mayors of Mexicou City......it's 2 doors away from the governors mansion.....it would be easy to say that these two new where to pick a beach front location! It's a small boutique style property. Each room is different and has great character....if you like cruises and all inclusive packages please don't ruin it for those of us who have been going there for years. This is the type of place where the hands on general manager,Herberto, knows everyone's name . When you return your greated like family and friends.. Juan the bartender at one of the most beautiful mosaic tile pool,still remembers our drinks every time we return....it's architecture is world class,it's an older property that's what gives it it's charm and character!.....after all the years I'm writing because I think there hard work and dedication deserves a little recognition....so if your looking for the typical cancun all inclusive experience do me a favor stay away! This is not for you...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevemellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    156
    65
    36
    45
See reviews for
79
254
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed there from 12/23/2011 through 12/29/2011 paying $165 per day. The room 307C was one of the worst room with no view at all. If you plan to stay there, please don't stay in any C room. The hotel does not have any good restaurant, coffee shops, bar etc. The beach is non swimmable and it might be one of the worst hotel in the hotel zone in Cancun.

Room Tip: Any room other than C rooms. never 307C
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swapan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have come to this beautiful, quiet hotel for over 15 years, both before kids and now with my own family. This hotel is small, quiet, elegant, and private, exquisitely old-school. It is a real gem, and unlike the huge, impersonal, and loud hotels that populate Cancun.

The friendly and experienced staff, led by the most courteous and friendly Humberto, provides impeccable attentive service.

Unlike most hotels in Cancun, you can walk from your room to the lobby in seconds; from your room to the pool in 2 minutes and down to the beach in 3.

The staff go out of their way to service you but do not stand in your way to enjoy the privacy you might desire.

I stay at a two bedroom/ two bath facing the ocean. With a kitchen (refrigerator, microwave, coffee machine, stove top), dining area, balcony with jacuzzi, and sitting area, the suite is perfect for a family or for two couples to enjoy. The kitchen is perfect for breakfast, lunch, and even simple dinners; however the food at the hotel and the many available restaurants within short walking distance or even taxi rides offer many options. Try the awesome tacos at "Habaneros" just outside of the hotel entrance.

This is a boutique hotel with charm. It is not a Ritz nor is it trying to be. Just relax, enjoy sharing a pool/front of the beach with only 10 people, having Juan know exactly what drink to bring you at the pool in the morning, take a walk on the beach, nap, hit the town and repeat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picklenchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I am a timeshare holder for the Avalon Hotel Group and initially made a reservation for the
Avalon Grand, which basically next door. I had stayed in the suite at the Grand before however, my mom wanted to move to the Baccara as they had free wifi in the lobby. You must pay for wifi at the Grand even though the website says otherwise. I had swam at the Baccara pool before, but had never seen their rooms in person. We sat at the Baccara's inviting and cozy lobby and thought it was quite charming. We asked the very kind young clerk if we could see the suite. He was very accommodating and helped us right away. The suite (a 2 bedroom, kitchen, two bathrooms and a jacuzzi on the terrace) was situated next to the lobby on the first floor making comings and goings very easy. It was my mother's birthday and I had called ahead of time to ask for champagne. The staff brought it right away and made her day. Everyone who works at the Baccara is attentive and have warm bright smiles. :) Thank you for making our family trip so easy and relaxing!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaniemDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
500 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We found the Avalon Baccara Cancun on Trip Advisor and we're glad we did.

We came during the high season (between Christmas and NY), thus big, spacious, ocean-facing rooms were definitely at a premium. We had one of the smaller rooms, which honestly, was probably a little too small for 2 grown adults, so I recommend splurging for a bigger room facing the ocean. Our lagoon room was pretty small and we didn't have windows (there was access to a terrace which was surrounded by walls and buildings and had no view.)

The staff was nice enough to place a small fridge in our room since we were staying for 5 nights, but it was so loud, we unplugged it the first night.
The bed, although wide, was a little too short for me...my feet were sticking out and i had to sleep diagonally...! Also wish they had more comfy pillows.

Besides those hiccups, everything else was great; the staff is so friendly and attentive, the hotel grounds are beautiful in a hacienda-sorta way.
There're less than 30 rooms, so the beach fronting the hotel is pretty much empty because there're so few guests and no other big hotels nearby with folks encroaching on your beach space.

The pool is huge and fun for such a small hotel, and includes a wet bar.

It's also right next to Habaneros, this cheap and tasty little taco stand run by Mario; we had dinner there one night and couldn't spend more than $10 total for our entire dinner- we were stuffed! Lunch the next day was just as good and cheap.

The hotel is also an easy 5-10 min walk to La Isla, a huge open-air mall with lots of restaurants and shops. The Flamingo Plaza across the street from the hotel is pretty dead but convenient for stuff like bottled water, snacks etc.

Recommend for young couples who are looking for more privacy, less frat-boy type parties, and wouldn't mind climbing stairs to rooms (there're no elevators; 4-storey high). Swing for the bigger rooms facing the ocean if you intend to hang out at the hotel during your stay.

Room Tip: Splurge for bigger, ocean-facing rooms. Some lagoon-facing rooms do not have windows, just a terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My hubby and I had a small intimate wedding ceremony and reception at this hotel. We had a wonderful Mayan ceremony right on the beach under the stars. We also stayed here for part of our honeymoon in the honeymoon suite, and we could not have picked a better place. The event coordinator Raquel was so helpful in putting together our dream Mayan ceremony on the beach as well as helped to organize our cocktail hour. We did not even pay for them to decorate the balcony during our cocktail hour but to our surprise the staff went above and beyond all of our needs and expectations. They took it upon themselves to decorate the balcony designated cocktail reception without an extra charge. The drinks were great and all the food that we picked for our reception was delicious. All the staff members were so kind and helpful. The hotel itself is a little hidden treasure. We cant wait to go back and stay in this little paradise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeya99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Some folks love Cancun for the bars and the party atmosphere, some folks love haggling with the aggressive vendors that fill the malls and flea market, some love the pounding music and poolside games at the big all-inclusive resorts; we don’t. The Avalon Baccara stands out like an Oasis! The AB is a 27 room former hacienda and one of the older structures along the hotel zone in Cancun. It’s also the only resort in the Caribbean we have visited more than once.

It can’t just be coincidence that the entire staff busted their butts to make out trip a perfect one; management has obviously carefully screened new hires to find hard workers with great and friendly attitudes. Juan Carlos (our breakfast guy), Juan (at the pool bar and grill), and Thomas/Humberto (our evening bartender & waiter) come to mind as I write this, but everyone did a fine job for us.

We had the honeymoon suite, room 407. With its 25 foot high wooden ceiling it felt either like being in a small chapel or in the state room of an old sailing ship. It has a king-sized bed, a kitchen with a small table, an L shaped couch, a front balcony with a jacuzzi facing the Caribbean, and a rear balcony facing the lagoon. Other rooms are larger or smaller as no two rooms that we had seen were the same.

The beach here is pretty big, and the lounges are very generously spaced to avoid feeling like a sardine. The buildings on either side of the AB are also smaller properties, so the beach remained not crowded as compared to the big resorts further to the north or south.

We only had dinner one time at the AB. I had angel hair pasta with shrimp and an alfredo type sauce, and my girlfriend had pork on skewers with mushrooms and a dark sauce that I really can’t describe; both were delicious and very reasonably priced.

I’m kind of a mattress snob, am used to sleeping on memory foam; so I wouldn’t rate the mattress any better than “average”. Other reviews have mentioned all the steps here; there are no elevators, so if you have a problem climbing steps (or if you just don’t feel like climbing steps while on vacation) you need to get a room on the lower level.

So if you like great service and a quiet vacation, or at least a quiet place to return to after a big night out at CoCo Bongo, we highly recommend Avalon Bacarra.

Room Tip: On a prior trip we stayed in 307, which is basically a small apartment, and also has a jacuzzi tub o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluewater1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#85 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#71 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hostel Natura
Hostel Natura
#11 of 127 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Condominios Carisa y Palma
Condominios Carisa y Palma
#17 of 127 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Cancun

Property: Mia Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Avalon Baccara Cancun)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mia Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mia Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Baccara Cancun Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing