We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with great views!!”
Review of NYX Hotel Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYX Hotel Cancun
Ranked #51 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I just returned from Cancun. This was our second time there, and we really enjoyed our time at the hotel and the beach. All the staff were extremely kind and friendly to us. They would go out of their way to make sure we had a good experience. Thank you to Pedro, our wonderful waiter, and Eliseo who had helped us find the perfect room for us. The only thing that we feel the hotel could do better would be the options for dinner. Breakfast, on the other hand, was awesome! The overall cleanliness of the rooms were top notch.

The other nice part of our trip in terms of our hotel, is that it was in the center of everything. You could walk to your choice of to malls very close by, and plenty of shops and restaurants to chose from. We definitely would recommend the NYX Hotel to our friends and family. Also, get ready to climb a lot of stairs. At the beginning it was a little bit difficult; however, in the end we got a great work out and always had the ocean and pool to cool us off. Thank you so much for the wonderful experience!! Hasta la proxiima!!

Room Tip: Just because you get a room chosen by the staff, you can always ask them to see about changing, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatadorMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review of our hotel; your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity. We hope that you will return again very soon.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I went with friend and we had a wonderful experience! Friendly and kind staff. Chef Juan Carlos made mole specially for us, we asked where we could go to taste mole since they didn't have it in the menu and Juan Carlos brought the ingredients from home and cook it for us the next day! Miguel it is a great host and very kind to all. Eliezer, our housekeeper very nice and smiling all the time. Daniel the bartender wonderful drinks, great personality. Our servers Rosendo, Gustavo, Roger, Ariel, Pedro, Anahi, Veronica and all really nice and kind. Veronica the manager great person and detail oriented. Great food, great drinks and wonderful people!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Claudia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review of our hotel; we truly appreciate your comments especially to our staff. We hope that you will return again very soon.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were subjected to the most compelling sales pitch ever about a decade plus a ago that resulted in us buying a time share at the Avalon International. I swear, the most persuasive salespeople alive do not sell cars - used or new - life insurance or snake oil, they sell time shares.

The only reason that's important is we've been coming to this property for over a decade so I think I can accurately describe the hotel now called NYX.

It's Cancun, it's Mexico, it's a 3 star hotel with a large standard deviation (although the Russian chap I met at the bar, who's also been a member here for about the same length of time as we, thinks that's very generous - 2 stars at most according to him). What do you expect to get?

It would have been nice to have been informed that the property changed hands and the deal we signed up for, you know, the one that included 3 properties in Cancun and others in Costa Rica and Acapulco, was kaput. But we didn't, so that should tell you something right there about how this place is run.

In reading the other reviews I'm amused by how staff responds to the negative one - "we appreciate the points and we'll make sure we address them" sort of thing. Hogwash - the mold described in the person's bathroom back in February is still there in mid-March and it's so thick on the window ledge in the shower you can carve your initials in it, and I have.

The internet is so bad I'd rather have dial-up. But it is free now, so we have that going for us - see the title of this post. You can't access the 'net from your room, you need to be in the lobby or by the pool which, luckily, we can by sitting on our deck, but the instant we go inside the room the dismal connection gets dismaller (not a word, even in Spanish, but should be). I, too, was told I couldn't charge lunch to my room on Saturday, even after I'd been doing it for a week - I had to go to the front desk and have them run my credit card, again, because a new week had started. Seriously?

There are additions to the hotel since our last stay 2 or 3 years ago - the pool side restaurant is a huge improvement but the menu gets stale after a few days. The palm trees on the beach make the fantastic view much more beautiful. The restaurant off the lobby is mediocre on a good day, but the $40/day for all-inclusive meals is OK; the best part of eating here this trip is going out, for sure. See my review of Tacun, a hole-in-the-wall restaurant about 300 yards north of the hotel, probably the best thing to happen to us this trip to Cancun. Or hit La Distilleria, about a 15 min walk south - great place for great Mexican dinner.

The pool is nice, the beach IS spectacular and the attendants are always willing to help with chairs and towels and umbrellas. They work so hard and probably make so little. The rooms are still dark, the lighting is....well, Mexican, the amenities are simple, the cable spotty. You get ONE packet of coffee for your room coffee maker and if you want more, go ask management.

I have not gotten my money's worth from the time share, and I don't think I will because I'm not sure I'll ever come back, but that's my fault for getting sold the first time.

You get what you pay for, and if you can afford more, spend it elsewhere. But the beach is spectacular.

We're here for another week, so it will be entertaining to read management's rote response to this review. But if they do read it please note this - I'd really appreciate it if you'd scrub the mold off the sill in my shower (picture, attached) because it's pretty skeevy, even if I can monogram it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mdphdbfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel; your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity. We hope that you will return again very soon.

Our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

hotel is very basic, staff isnt very helpful and dont seem like they want to be helpful. I had an all inclusive. The drinks were poorly made with bad low shelf booze. The indoor bar only had 6-8 glasses available at all times! Only corona was an option , any other beer had to be paid out of pocket. The out door bar ... well thats a whole nother beast, They held random hours, open only after noon. We could only eat off one half the menu , other half was paid out of pocket. Corona only, bad drinks. The food at the outside bar was basic at best. DO NOT order the shrimp cocktail .. its not what you think TRUST me. Food orders are slow and food is cold. No pool side bar, so basically the whole all inclusive was ALL INCLUSIVE and it was a disappointment. The Hotel key cards NEVER worked .. had to have then reset few times a day , a friend gave me one of their cards to come over to there room and i used it accidentally on the wrong room and IT OPENED THE DOOR ... think about that .... scary. Walls are paper thin. Jesus at the front desk is a dink. Danny the bartender is a good kid. All in all the beach is the best quality here , perfect beach .. the entire hotel is disorganized and poorly run. I wanted a basic budget beach get away ... and thats what i got. Lesson learned there.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean front balcony room ....its the only way this is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nokodopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your disappointment, we are very sorry that your experience was not as expected.
Your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity.
Our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.
Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The beach and the location of the hotel are great, but rooms are very basic, not-so-fancy. Dimmy, and at least in opur room had a big treshold in the middle, which made visiting bathroom night time bit dangerous. Lot´s of climbing in narrow stairs and carrying package. Some of the staff was great, some not so great... Tips were asked even though service was not that great, but slow and some of them tried not to be paying attention of customers... Our room was by the road and very noisy.

Room Tip: Not by the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nefer075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at NYX HOTEL CANCUN.

Your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity.
Our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.

With kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were there in February 2014 but did not stay. Do not get caught, this hotel is nothing like the pictures. Not a 4 Stars, 2 at the most. Rooms are filthy, bathrooms full of mold, furniture is trashed. Old beat down bulding with a fresh coat of paint. Nothing like the pictures on the website. Horrible service. Employees all look sketchy. The receptionnist "Jesus" is insolent and shady. They will make you pay for the full stay in advance, and will not refund you.
Guests are deseting the hotel for meals, no one will eat at their restaurants.
Do yourself a favor and stay away from this Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mwoo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at NYX HOTEL CANCUN. We are very concerned by what sounds like a disappointing visit at our hotel.

Your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity.
Our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.
With kind regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

NYX Cancun (formerly Avalon Grand)
As vacation club members we were pleased to see the results of renovation completed during the past year. More renovations planned for the coming year. The new restaurant on the beach side by the pool is an outstanding addition for lunch and evening dinner. They have a spacious bar and cooking area right there so meals are hot and delicious. They have a wood burning brick oven right there also and produce delicious hot breads and pizza. The lobby bar is new with more seating and lounge areas are newly redecorated, bright and comfortable. The staff members are very helpful and professional. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. NYX is located close to La Isla Plaza, Flamingo Mall and a quick bus ride to Kukulcan Plaza.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kansastoisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review of our hotel; we truly appreciate your comments.
We hope that you will return again very soon.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#72 of 176 in Cancun
3,030 reviews
3 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 176 in Cancun
5,115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYX Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYX Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $105 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NYX Hotel Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fabulous hotel located just in front of the beautiful white sand beaches and turquoise waters that have made Cancun a preferred tropical paradise for thousands of tourists each year. NYX HOTEL CANCUN is a resort with 163 rooms and suites with an excellent location in the middle of the famous Hotel Zone of Cancun, in the state of Quintana Roo, Mexico. NYX HOTEL CANCUN is ideal for families, couples in love, weddings and incentive groups; we are offering a NEW meeting room. Our group coordinators will work with you to create the perfect menu and select the perfect setting for your event. This hotel provides a friendly and professional service, comfortable rooms, international cuisine, and beach activities among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NYX Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Grand Cancun Hotel Cancun
Avalon Grand Resort
Cancun Avalon Grand Hotel
Avalon Cancun
Avalon Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing