We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRICE and LOCATION was awesome and the free wifi in the lobby was a big plus!!!”
Review of NYX Hotel Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NYX Hotel Cancun
Ranked #54 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the NYX hotel the first 3 days of our trip. We checked in a bit late, we were greeted with a cucumber drink and led to our room. We werent in the building thats been renovated. First thing we got into our room our light switch wasnt working and we were told someone would come look at it right away... which at no point anyone ever came. The guy at the front desk... wasnt so friendly. He was constantly on the phone or doing something else and we had to wait forever to ask any questions.
The room was good for the price. The a/c was really loud. Way too many stairs to get from our room to the lobby to get out.
The main pool and the beach looked really nice. though we never had time to actually use it. we did get into the hot tub one night which was nice.
But overall PRICE and LOCATION was awesome and the free wifi in the lobby (though a bit slow) was a big plus!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,365)
There are newer reviews for NYX Hotel Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a great place to stay. Wife and I stayed Nov 30 thru Dec 7. Staff very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed Rosendo, always smiling and happy. Daily improvements to hotel and grounds nice to see the changes. Vibrant colors outside pool area. Only negative is food and drinks. Frozen drinks need improvement and outside bar food could improve. Less American food and more local food would be better. Overall pleased with hotel. Would definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler62025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerencia NYX HOTEL CANCUN at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review of our hotel; we truly appreciate your comments especially to our staff, your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity.We hope that you will return again very soon.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I come very often to Cancún both on business trips and on holidays and I always stay at NYX Cancun. It has everything you need at a very reasonable prices. Rooms are quite big, views stunning, staff very friendly and the price is really competitive for the value it offers. Definitely best hotel to stay while in Cancun!!! Plus the deck on the beach is just awesome either to have lunch, dinner or some drinks!!

Room Tip: All rooms facing the sea are amazing!views are stunning!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review of our hotel; we truly appreciate your comments especially to our staff. We hope that you will return again very soon.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

November 29th, 30th.
Hotel NYX(used to be Avalon Grand) was 1/3 full, front desk accommodate the tourists in a building facing Beach Hotel and Kuklukan Blvd. No elevators, you have to negotiate a lot of stairs. The passages are like labyrinth. In the morning we could hear two homosexuals are slapping each other faces arguing about money lost at Playboy Casino. Hotel is under remodeling, looks like they're trying hard. Price was about $66.00 which is very low for Zona Hoteliera. Basic rooms are horrible, windows are facing walls, service roads, parking entrance. To upgrade for better room with a balcony is not worth at all, better to book Avalon Baccarat.

Room Tip: Do not book Basic unless you're fine with a very old mattresses and sticky floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrottingTheGlobe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My friend and i arrived a couple of hours earlier than check in, when we arrived we were asked if we wanted to upgrade our room at a discount as they didn't have a basic room available at that time. We looked at the upgraded room and then asked to compare it with a basic room, which they showed us. we decided to stick with the basic room but we were told we couldn't have the one we viewed as it was a show room which we felt was a little odd and that if we wanted the basic room we would have to leave our luggage and come back in a few hours. We felt we were being sold to and left to explore Cancun a little annoyed. However when we returned a few hours later the receptionist said he had upgraded us free of charge because we had to wait. This was a very nice gesture and the room was much larger with an ocean view and balcony.

From what i gather the hotel has recently changed ownership and is undergoing renovations in the bar/lobby area, it looks like when its finished it will be very nice, just a shame it wasn't done before we arrived.

We were only there for 2 nights and it rained the whole time we were there so didn't experience the pool or beach, but both looked nice. we didn't try out the restaurant. location wise, there's 2 shopping centres within an easy walk (la isla is the better one and has a cinema for those rainy days as well as a few restaurants as this hotel is not all inclusive). there's also a bus stop right outside so its very convenient. there's also a tour desk in the lobby.

one thing to note are the pillows are huge and very firm, i couldn't sleep with them as they hurt my neck so didn't sleep as well as i could have.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zozmo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review of our hotel; your comments are highly appreciated.
We hope that you will return again very soon.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is an older timeshare hotel that was bought out 6 months ago. Formerly Avalon grand. Most taxis and outsiders won't know NYC yet. We stayed as a timeshare extra week exchange so we had a one bedroom suite. Our expectations were low....after reading reviews, but we paid very little so we didn't expect much. We also traveled low season (October) so we ended up in an ocean front room and service was good. I noticed they are making improvements so I would hope that the rooms get updated. This was the only complaint for me, the bathrooms need new fixtures. I went to battle with the shower every time I got in to adjust the spray so it didn't spray all over the bathroom and the flimsy shower curtain would billow in and wrap itself around me...ick. the kitchenette is only a small microwave that didn't work which was quickly replaced by one that barely worked, and an old mini fridge that clicked on and off with the subtlety of a shotgun. No screen door on the balcony, old Microfiber furniture that felt damp all the time, and no privacy in the bedroom which might be a problem if you are sharing the 2 sleeping areas.
Good points...location location! Great outdoor areas, good atmosphere and food at the restaurant on the beach...terrible mixed drinks though. Nice Flat screens, but limited English programming, and it was across from a nice air conditioned mall with restaurants and souvenir shopping. Great buy for the money, but hope they will make some improvements without increasing the price. I was very happy that I didn't have to go all inclusive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Gerente at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review of our hotel; your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity. We hope that you will return again very soon.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has just the most wonderfull beach ever. The Room was OK (6th floor - no elevator- at least some exercise). When we were there the hotel was under reconstruction but it did not bother that much. Nice breakfast and very close to the centrum of zona hotelera (clubs, bars) - just 20 minutes walking. I would go there again

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank TK-Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionNYX, Director General at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,


We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience, and we are very glad to read that it was an overall enjoyable one. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, please believe that the most flattering compliment a guest can pay us is honoring us with their return. We are looking forward to welcome you back to your home away from home and make every effort to exceed your expectations.

Warm Greetings,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 176 in Cancun
2,946 reviews
3.0 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
1.6 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 176 in Cancun
5,013 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYX Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYX Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $102 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NYX Hotel Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fabulous hotel located just in front of the beautiful white sand beaches and turquoise waters that have made Cancun a preferred tropical paradise for thousands of tourists each year. NYX HOTEL CANCUN is a resort with 163 rooms and suites with an excellent location in the middle of the famous Hotel Zone of Cancun, in the state of Quintana Roo, Mexico. NYX HOTEL CANCUN is ideal for families, couples in love, weddings and incentive groups; we are offering a NEW meeting room. Our group coordinators will work with you to create the perfect menu and select the perfect setting for your event. This hotel provides a friendly and professional service, comfortable rooms, international cuisine, and beach activities among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NYX Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Grand Cancun Hotel Cancun
Avalon Grand Resort
Cancun Avalon Grand Hotel
Avalon Cancun
Avalon Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing