We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MMMMMMMM”

El Rey Ruins (Zona Arqueologica El Rey)
Book In Advance
More Info
$188.99*
and up
All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo
More Info
$93.50*
and up
Cancun Day Trip: Museo Maya and El Rey Ruins Tour
Ranked #19 of 152 things to do in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The past meets the present in this ancient Mayan structure located right in the middle of Cancun's Hotel Zone.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“MMMMMMMM”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just OK, it was acrossed our Hotel so we went there as I mentioned in my other reviews it was raining so we had to do as much as we could indoors, I defo won´t do it again

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    559
    285
    35
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Elm, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lots of Iguanas!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Be prepared to deal with hordes of iguanas. If you bring bread or cereal from your hotel you can feed them, they are pretty aggressive and will surround you to try and get food if you are not careful, my son and I liked it but my wife and daughter thought it was a little creepy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teammcwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“El Rey Ruins”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The El Rey Ruins are located within the hotel zone in Cancun. I've visited them a few times over the years. It's nice to be able to experience the history without spending a lot of time and/or money to take a day trip. Obviously they are much smaller than Tulum and Chichen Itza but you still get a feel for how it was.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good stop with little kids”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a Mayan archaeological site in the hotel zone. US Dollars are accepted, although not advertised as such, and they charge you more if you want to use a videocamera. I think I paid about $5 US per person. The hotel zone buses stop right out front. This is a nice place to take young kids to run around. The ruins are nice, remind you a bit that there is more to the region than all inclusives, but they are not impressive anywhere in the same leagues as Tulum, Chichen Itza, etc. What's fun is that there are lots of iguanas hiding around the ruins sunning themselves and the children have fun trying to spot them.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joshdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peace and Iguanas”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

It was a short walk from the hotel and amazingly peaceful. Without having to go far, we got to climb some Mayan ruins and see lots of iguanas. It was a nice change of pace.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rey Ruins (Zona Arqueologica El Rey) also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Rey Ruins (Zona Arqueologica El Rey)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing