We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth an hour!”

El Rey Ruins (Zona Arqueologica El Rey)
Book In Advance
More Info
$188.99*
and up
All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo
Ranked #19 of 142 things to do in Cancun
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The past meets the present in this ancient Mayan structure located right in the middle of Cancun's Hotel Zone.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth an hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed At the GR Solaris & it was a short walk from the hotel. My husband & I went total cost $8 USD. We brought bananas to feed the many iguanas roaming. You can freely walk around the ruins at your leisure. Well worth the price!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ntaylor626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    540
    276
    35
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“So worth going to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

South end of the Hotel Zone. Take a taxi, the buses, while good are bizarre and hard to get off of. They are cheap as hell though, so depending on your price range, bus might be better. Like a dollar for two people to ride.

This was so cool. There are iguanas everywhere, so if you have lizards watch out. They are kind of skittish though and you probably won't get to actually touch one. Wear shoes. I had flip flops and it made climbing harder. You don't have to climb, but you are going to want to.

It is so neat, and a hidden area that not that many people who go to Cancun go and see. It's waaaay closer than the other ones, and it was really neat.

It costs a few dollars, maybe around $5, I don't remember anymore, but it was worth it. There is a guy who offers to give tours who is kind of a jerk. He was really condescending when we turned down his tour. We heard him give the tour to other people and it was nothing you couldn't get from reading the signs they have everywhere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jackknive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Larger site than we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Larger site than we expected. Much shade. And those wonderful iguanas. It is worth a visit just to see them. You can get very close, makes for some fun photos. People were climbing on the pyramid.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Iguanas more fun that ruins”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Took a walk out one morning from Secrets the Vine (just about as far as I'd like to walk in that humidity) and returned by local bus. Had a look at Playa Delfines on the way up also.

The ruins not particularly inspiring but feeding the Iguanas whilst having a breakfast of fruit/juice and pastries that we brought with us much more fun. I'm a birdwatcher and a few birds (including humming birds) around and about site.

A nice way to stretch the legs and see a bit of the local area. This site allows payment in Pesos or Dollars (4 USD per person)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Newportnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Little ruins but close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Accessible, a great little introduction. The ruins at Chichen Itza are worth a trip! You may also want to go to Tulum and Coba. Beautiful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rey Ruins (Zona Arqueologica El Rey) also viewed

 

Been to El Rey Ruins (Zona Arqueologica El Rey)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing