We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
326
156
42
26
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
156
42
26
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury mall kukulcan plaza rooms are large pool bartender la isla hotel zone beautiful room we loved our stay the entire staff restaurant staff jacuzzi oscar caribbean tubs
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 602 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2018

Don't be fooled! This Hotel looks lovely online...the photos definitely much better than in person? I like to be on the positive side, so our 2nd Floor Jr. Suite was very spacious. The view from the deck was amazing. The location was fantastic. We spent every day at the beach, it was quiet and nobody bothered us.

Negatives...I will only name a few...
We called ahead and ordered a Shuttle to pick us up as we were arriving very late. The driver showed up an hour Late and had clearly been drinking, the vehicle reeked of Alcohol.

The Linen on the bed was a "10" count. As this is advertised as a 4 Star property, I can honestly say I have never seen such horrendous Linen! The White gray, limp sheets with a store bought foam pad underlay was insane. The crusty Cover....well we just put it on the floor..The Tile floor was so wet from the humidity you had to walk so very carefully to avoid wiping out. The water in the shower did not drain so you had at least 4-5 inches each time...The Toilet did not flush properly..The Hot Tub on the deck? did not work.

The TV rarely worked, and during the Superbowl..yup and we are huge fans, it went out. We had to go downstairs and watch it which was better and bigger...

The Restaurant? the Staff were lovely. The food was ok... Cappucino Machine was broken. The Pool Bar, we had to beg him to bring us drinks, he never once came down to the beach to ask.

Lastly, when we checked out they overcharged us! Made us pay in Mexican Pesos rather than US FUNDS which we booked at. BUT gave us the highest conversion rate which should have been 17(we paid this everywhere else) instead charged us 19.50

So I would NOT recommend this property although it has lovely Charm,which was the main reason we chose it, but as certified Builders we could see this Hotel needs an enormous amount of work and TLC.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WigglesnJiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasTurquesa, Casa Turquesa at Hotel Casa Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Dear guest,

We are very sad to hear that "you have been fooled" because in this case we did everything for you. First, we fixed your reservation, originally you booked a non-refundable room for 9 nights. You asked for a change of check out and despite the policies we helped you. You stayed only 6 nights. Second, you were in the 3rd level and we gave you a free room upgrade. We gave you a double size suite compare than you paid for, with a larger balcony, walking closet and an amazing view.

You mentioned about a drunk driver. We have two drivers at the hotel and both are diabetics, we know them, and they do not drink. We do not know why you mentioned that.

About the humidity, we suggested you at the check in that if you were thinking in opening the window you should turned off the air conditioning to avoid the condensation. But you did it your way and the result was humidity. Cancun is a hot weather place and the AC gets wet as fast as it gets in contact with the warm air.

We asked you about your stay and room every day and you did not mention anything about the shower. We have a maintenance team at the hotel if you had asked we would sent somebody to fix it. In addition, you blocked the toilet with paper, we asked you to deposit the trash in the basket, but you tried to do it your way.

On Super Bowl Sunday, 5 minutes before half-time the TV signal went out because of the TV supplier, we have made a request to the company, so they can check our service. As you mentioned, you joined us to watch the game in the bar, we gave you drinks and food for free even your reservation was room only. We were very nice with you. We care about the people who stay at Casa Turquesa.

Also, we did not overcharged your credit card. People like you must know the difference between buying and selling dollars, the exchange rate is different. Your credit card is from a Canadian bank, we charged Mexican pesos making the conversion for USD. Exchange rate is a factor we cannot control.

Finally, you wrote that you do not recommend our hotel but when we asked you at check out you said that you would like to come again in your next trip to Cancun. We are very disappointed for double version story we got from you. Nevertheless, you are very welcome to visit Casa Turquesa anytime you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018

Hotel is old, clean, outdated.... but that was okay. Price was fair. The manager was so kind to us!!! He went out of his way everyday to make sure we were happy... on site restaurant was okay. We were treated like royals from the start.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Steflgpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasTurquesa, Casa Turquesa at Hotel Casa Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Dear guest,

Our compromise with our guests is to take care of them individually. We know that every guest is unique and deserves the best service. We are happy to know that you enjoy the vacation. Please feel free to book again with us. Casa Turquesa will be waiting for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

Upon check in we upgraded to ocean view on the fourth floor. Our room was very spacious with an amazing view. The hotel had beautiful artwork and lots of charm. Staff was friendly. We had breakfast included in our stay, which was a great way to start our day. If your looking for an affordable place to stay and can look past areas that could be updated this would be a great choice. It is a great location with many shops and restaurants within a couple of blocks. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasTurquesa, other at Hotel Casa Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Dear guest,

Casa Turquesa is very well located. Next to our property you can find Kukulcan Mall and if you walk five minutes you get to Plaza La Isla. As you mention we have many good restaurants around us. We are a very good option if you don’t want to be attached with All Inclusive programs.

Please feel free to book with us again, you will be welcome anytime at our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Full disclosure: the only reason I choose to stay at this hotel was because we got a ridiculous BOGO deal during low season while trying to coordinate with other family members who decided to vacation with us at the last minute, otherwise, I would not have stayed here. We stayed in one of the older rooms.

Prior to arriving at the hotel, we received a phone call from the hotel asking us about our transportation, itinerary, number of people in our room, food consumption, rules and regulations. I thought it was odd since that was a first for me. I get it—they were trying to sell me their all-inclusive package, tourism packages, and transportation. They made it known that outside alcohol and food was strictly forbidden.

Upon arrival, they emphasized the no outside food/drink rule again and guest limit restriction otherwise, the maid will alert the hotel and incur an additional fee. They told us there was a mandatory housekeeping gratuity of $2 USD per person per day or $56 USD gratuity for a family of four for a week. Again, this is a first. If you break the rules, be prepared to feel like a naughty child like sneaking your own snacks into the movie theater.

They could not renovate the hotel fast enough—because it's like a dying hotel. Front desk told me it was built in the 80's but it look much dated than that. They had the vintage-tired metal safes and metal keys to get into your room. Besides the stains and rust, it had underlying issues like cracks in the foundation and mold. Quality was sub-par especially by standards of the Mexican hotel & hospitality associations. Other hotel industry workers have never heard of this hotel despite how old it is which, to me, was indicative of it's ranking and fading into obscurity.

Management was not very accommodating—for example, number of bath towels were not to exceed number of guests. Their business model was as if trying to save as much and make as much money by inflating prices for cash-cow guests in order to stay afloat with the competition. A cup of 6 oz coffee was $90 pesos and their breakfast was $20 USD. We just ended leaving and going to Hacienda Tequila restaurant in the luxury mall next door(Kukulcan Plaza) for their $10 all-you-can-eat breakfast.

This hotel is okay for staying a day to explore the area. The only redeeming qualities were that the rooms are spacious, workers seemed nice, the turtle habitat at the beach and close proximity to buses, Kukulcan Plaza Mall, Soriana Supermercado and La Isla Cancún Shopping Village but it just wasn't enough for us to stay for another week despite a free second week stay.

Room tip: Skip the $20 USD breakfast and $90 peso coffee for the all-you-can-eat breakfast ($10 USD) next door mall at Hacienda Tequila.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sleedunfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasTurquesa, other at Hotel Casa Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Dear guest,

Our property was built during the 1980 decade. We are not dying, as you saw we are working in some areas, we are renovating suites, restaurants and pool area. We are a small hotel, we are a unique hotel, we are not part of any big hotel chain. Our suites are bigger than any regular hotel, all our suite are on the beach side and our service is very good.

We know that our hotel is not for everyone. Our clients like the small and quiet hotels, the always look for a place to rest and spend a relaxing vacation. Nevertheless, we are going to share the info with all our departments, so they can know how to improve the service, so you can see the difference in your next stay. Casa Turquesa will be glad to have you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

We stayed here over Christmas and were terribly disappointed. The building could be a very nice boutique hotel...if ....they deep cleaned the place, changed the water in the pool, brought the pool side bar to a functioning level, hired a real cook and barman (and cleaner and and and). We had to request a change of pillows as ours (one per pax) were thin and brick hard. My bottom sheet had stains on it, electrical outlets were falling out of the wall, no glasses, amenities to speak of, gray frayed towels with holes in them (!!!!). We asked to eat in as we were tired and were shown into the dining room, which was completely empty but for cheap furniture. The manager convinced us to eat on a terrace, where we were completely gouged: Over 120 USDs for 2 mixed drinks, two children drinks and four plates of pre-fabricated, stale tacos. The wifi didn't work at all. This place needs to be shut down and have some heavy investment made in it before reopening.

Room tip: stay away!
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSt0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasTurquesa, Casa Turquesa at Hotel Casa Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Dear client,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the time you took to write this. We are working on the hotel appearance, we are remodeling some areas, restaurants, pool bar, suites. We understand your opinion but when you were here you did not mention anything about the issues you wrote. We like to take care of our guests and we know that everyone is important, so we gave you the best service, we were nice and friendly and tried to give you a nice vacation.

Every supervisor will know about your comment, so we can continue working on this. Please feel free to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews