We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay while Working”
Review of Antillano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antillano Hotel
Ranked #114 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Belize
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay while Working”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great place to stay while doing work in a foreign country. Our group was treated well. The rooms were clean, spacious and staff was so attentive as to our needs. Even though we did not have any meals at the hotel (only continental breakfast provided),the hot coffee and sweet bread/toast and other food was adequate for us to start our day.

I would recommend anyone to Hotel Antillano because of its proximity to downtown Cancun. Its a walking distance from the bus station and stores.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    58
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
23
47
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent quiet hotel in downtown Cancun. The staff and management could not have been more friendly or helpful. The place was kept spotlessly clean. Towels and sheets changed daily.Location was quite good with a very frequent bus service only yards away. The hotel has an arrangement with a nearby beach club which was very good with decent food and drinks available. In all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

splendid older hotel right in the middle of Downtown. Efficient helpful and friendly staff, very clean and well organised. Lively bar in the evenings. On the main street, so easy for public transport (taxis, buses, minibuses), and also near the main clubs - particularly the gay and metrosexual ones Sexy, 11-11, and Karamba, all about two minutes walk away. There is also an amazing self-service restaurant round the back on Alcatrazes selling local food cooked for the love of it really, and very inexpensive, so a good place for a late breakfast or lunch (closed for dinner and on Mondays).
Cool quiet rooms, unless you're on the Avenida itself, which can be noisy. We were upgraded to a suite for a very good deal, so ask.
Down points were the simple complementary breakfast, which needed healthying up a bit with some muesli or granola and some fresh fruit; also the Wifi was a bit intermittent in the rooms themselves, thanks to the thick walls, but the management seemed to be trying to remedy the problem while we were there.
From the airport, we got persuaded out of the shuttle ($22 per person inc tax) and into a private taxi ($65) though this was a rip off, as it was sold to us as direct (it wasn't as he took on a third fare) and quick (took over an hour rather than the stated 25 minutes). So we recommend you turn right out of the terminal, fight off the taxis and shuttle men, and keep walking right to the end of the parking lot - it's not well signposted - where you will find the ticket desk for ADO buses - every half and hour taking 30 minutes to the central bus station just ten minutes walk down the Avenida de Tulum to the hotel, all for $2 or so each.
Matilda and the team in the in-house travel agency (both in reception, and on the corner of the hotel itself) were great for advising and organising trips to the various sights. Xel-ha and of course Chichen Itza were particularly worth the usual struggle with tour guides and the like.

Room Tip: if you want quiet, ask for a room away from the Avenida, or looking in on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

my husband and i absolutely loved this hotel. nice and friendly staff. we booked over the phone. it is downtown away from the SPRING BREAK fever of the strip. plenty of eateries near it. there is a bull fighting ring close by. there are a few pan handlers in this area but all in all it was great. we didn't have any problems with the staff and our room was always cleaned daily and nothing missing. but like any place don't trust every one with your belongings. anything important carry with you do not leave it in the rooms. but that is the case with any trip foreign or domestic. we had no issues with that. there are a couple of bars in the neighborhood and the police station is very close along with a medical facility. if you want to visit the main strip you will need transportation if you do not want to use the public transit. the area was clean. the rooms were nice and cozy. i would stay here again! the price was very good!

Room Tip: book here if it's spring break to get away from the teen scene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veta_Boles_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

An OK little hotel in downtown Cancun. Not expensive at all. Lots of restaurants and shoppes nearby. Nothing much else, though. One thing I found annoying was the male prostitutes hanging out along the street and tending to congregate across the street from the entrance to the hotel. Some were quite lewd and aggressive. That's OK is someone needs to do that sort of thing to make a living, I guess, but in this location it was more of an annoyance than an amusement.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Stayed here with three kids. Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the ADO bus station. This hotel is a great value and is close to the bus station and shopping. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Wireless internet, cable, breakfast (bread, rolls, cereal, juice, and coffee), and taxes included in rate. Surcharge for using credit cards; I paid cash. Small bar in lobby with beer and soda. Charming small hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkCChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed in this hotel on the last night of a month long trip around Mexico & Central America and we found it to be really good.
We chose it because of it's location primarily as we arrived by bus and intended to catch a bus to the airport the following day. It also had the additional benefits of continental breakfast included (adequate but not amazing: coffee, juice, cereal, donuts), swimming pool, bar and air-con.
We felt that the rooms were safe, quiet, clean and comfortable.
The staff were friendly and helpful. They gave us information without being pushy, particularly the staff of the travel-agency in the lobby who told us how to get to the beach area on the local bus.
Also, the price was pretty reasonable. Less than the price listed here. About £30 i think.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaka1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#131 of 175 in Cancun
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Batab
Hotel Batab
#122 of 175 in Cancun
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 175 in Cancun
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rivemar
Rivemar
#126 of 175 in Cancun
41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#104 of 175 in Cancun
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antillano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antillano Hotel

Property: Antillano Hotel
Address: Av. Tulum y Claveles 1, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antillano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antillano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antillano Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing