We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic, well run good value hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Ranked #99 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Consider the price, we paid less than £800 for 2 weeks all inclusive. It isn't a luxury hotel and for the money we paid, it shouldn't be. For the money you get great food, attentive staff who make every effort for you and very good facilities.

Some people always want luxury for little money. This hotel is not the flashest on the strip but gave us an amazing holiday. The entertainments team are first class getting us involved in games all day and the entertainment at night. The hotel then arranged trips out into Cancun itself to a different club each night. The staff even waved us off on the coach back to the airport.

Seriously, brilliant value for money. Nothing to complain about and a great staff. What more do you want for £800 each for 2 weeks?? I just wish we'd stayed longer - I hadn't won enough t-shirts and we miss our favourite bar man and his cocktails!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrkevbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 818 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2009

i just returned home from my holiday in cancun was advised by my travel agent that this was a 4 star hotel its only a 3 and its a dump we asked to be moved but it would cost 650 dollars and we couldnt afford it

two days we went without water from 7 in the morning till half past 1 in the afternoon couldnt even get a wash or brush my teeth had to go to the shop and buy water so we could a least get a was and brush our teeth

the food wasnt even edible it was discusting the pictures in brochure do not look like the hotel its advertised badly
theres an a la carte restaurant but you have to make resevations and if your 15 minutes late you dont get in

theres also a snack bar that has a big menu but they never have anything on it just burgers, hot dogs, french fries and tortillo's
snack bar is ment to be open from 10 till 6 but shut early near enough every night

it has 3 bars 2 that open at 10 and close at half 5 the lobby bar opens at 5 and shuts at 1 in the morning the evening entertainment last 4 1 hour maximum so its not exactly a holiday of a life time

i was also told that my boyfriend would have some sort of birthday in resort we never got anything

i hated every minute of this hotel the room was ment to be cleaned everyday i had to phone reception to have my room cleaned theres a sign your put onb the door to have room clean early in the morning but the maids dont pay any attention to the signs

so my dream holiday that cost me tyree thousand pound was a total night mare !!!!!!!!1111

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

The Aquamarina Beach Hotel opened in 1986 and reveals its age through its architectural style.

The Hotel is built to an "open" design - the rooms are approached from open balconies to which
there is external access, there is no barrier between the Hotel patio and the beach (which is public)
and lobby area has no doors - it is, literally, open ... however Reception is staffed 24hrs and
there is a Security team at all times.

I was a little concerned about the security aspects of this, but I was assured that it is a safe
area and indeed we had no problems.

The Hotel was refurbished in 2006 and the rooms and public areas are in good decorative order if
somewhat plain in appearance, with polished marble floors throughout.

Our room was a good size and very clean, with effective air conditioning and a small balcony that
looked out over the Hotel's internal patio and pool bar to the sea beyond, a pleasant view.

During the check-in process the Reception clerk will fit a plastic band to your wrist, and you
must wear this at all times - indeed you have to, as you cannot remove it - it is cut off when
you check out.

This band has two functions: It indicates that you are a resident of the Hotel, and entitled
to be on the premises (because of the open nature of the site - see above) and the colour indicates
your entitlement - the Hotel offers three accommodation packages, WHITE is room only, YELLOW is
room and breakfast, BLUE is all-inclusive, this includes room, almost all food and most drinks
(including Mexican produced alcohol) at the bars - you pay extra for certain speciality dishes
and imported "Branded" alcoholic drinks.

There are two pools, three bars and two restaurants, and a pizza and burger bar on the patio.
There are also table-tennis tables and two hot tubs in a patio area on top of the "Las Perlas"
restaurant - these are not easy to find. The hot tubs are not large and the temperature (not
adjustable by the user) varied considerably from day to day !

The pools are flat floored and not deep - adequate for swimming but not diving.

The "old" pool is the original pool and is rectangular with a uniform depth of four feet.

The "new" pool is an interesting design of three interlocking circles, the main area is the
swimming area and has a uniform depth of four feet. This intersects with the bar area which
contains the swim up bar (with seats in the water) and has a uniform depth of three feet.
From the bar area, beyond a barrier, is the childrens' pool which has a uniform depth of two feet.

The bars are "El Timon" in the lobby, "El Ancla" which is the swim up pool bar and "La Brisa"
which is between the old pool and the beach. "El Ancla" and "La Brisa" open from around 1000
to 1800 and "El Timon" opens from 1700 to 0100 next day ...

The restaurants are "las Perlas" which is a buffet restaurant that is open for breakfast
and in the evening, and "El Ancla" which opens as a buffet for lunch and with table service
in the evening - this is included in the BLUE package although this may not be mentioned.
"El Ancla" is an attractive open fronted thatched building that is contiguous with the pool bar
of the same name - it seems that at some time in the past it has been known as "La Palapa" but
this name is no longer used.

To be honest, the food at the Aquamarina Beach is not the main attraction. The breakfast
buffet at "las Perlas" is impressively extensive if a little unexciting. The lunch buffet
at "El Ancla" is perfectly adequate but the evening Al La Carte service is a little disappointing
especially as it is such an attractive and romantic setting.

There is an events staff (somewhat alarmingly called the "Animation Team") who arrange
activities for children, and somewhat less successfully attempt to extract adults (especially
those on the BLUE package) from the bars for games of beach Volleyball and the like ...
There are also massage and beauty therapies available by the pool area and on the beach.

The Hotel opens onto a beach of fine white sand - excellent for sunbathing but not so good for
swimming as it is somewhat shallow and has a problem with seaweed.

The Hotel seems to be well staffed and run and we had no communication problems with customer-facing staff who were friendly and efficient.

There is a small but useful shop with internet cafe in the lobby.

Rooms on the street front of the Hotel may suffer from road noise and, on Sundays, music and singing from the Church opposite !

The Aquamarina Beach Hotel is not the newest or the most upmarket Hotel on the Strip but it is very clean and well maintained with efficient and helpful staff. It is in a good location on the main road through the Hotel Zone (Boulevard KuKulcan) with good access to buses, taxis and the beach.

We would recommend it as a place to stay, especially if you can get a good price for the inclusive package.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RabbitRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

having been a late booking for another hotel where our friends were staying we were told that aquamarina would be sufficient for our needs.

the staff were great the cleaners were keen and always did your room everyday (sometimes a bit too early)

the main problem that having seen our friends hotel for £200 more we were slightly jealous.

they had 7 restaurants, we had one. they had a great beach view we had a seaweed jetty. thier pool was hot, ours was freezing cold even after midday.

the food wasnt that great, but there was a good selection. it all seemed a bit samey after a few days. the entertainment team was lively and enthusiastic to a diverse audience. and really did try hard.

all in all if you are looking for no frills this is the place. spend just a little bit more somewhere else and the experience is increased 20 fold.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank easy1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed in the hotel from 17 Dec 2008 to 1 Jan 2009.

The hotel was adequate and would be clasified 3* in South Africa where we travelled from. The rooms were clean, the staff went out of their way to be friendly, the outdoor facilities and activities were good for what we wanted to do and the food, although buffet style which I do not normally like, was OK and something could be found to eat no matter what your taste even if you are a vegetarian.

The only thing we didn't like was that the main bar is in the lobby and not very cosy and because there were activities every night you couldn't just sit and have a quiet drink. However that was a minor irritation and there are hundreds of bars a short and inexpensive bus ride away.

The beach area was clean but it was difficult to swim because of
the shallow water clogged with seaweed and the close proximity to several boat jetties.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SharksSupporter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

I'd like to thanks Oscar and his staff at the Aquamarina Hotel for a
fantastic vacation home base while in Cancun.
I contacted the hotel prior to arrival to let them know we would be
celebrating our 11th anniversary and asked several questions regarding
restaurants, massages, and tours. Much to my surprise, each email was
answered in a timely manner.

When we checked in to the hotel Alex the bell boy helped us up to our
room which surprise! Had been upgraded for our anniversary and the
cutest kissing swans made from folded towels and flower petals awaited
us on the bed. I took many pictures. The room had a nice view of the
pool, activity area and blue Caribbean. The room was very clean and
AC had a handy remote control. The King size bed was nice and firm
and the sheets didn't have that funny hotel smell to them.

Later that night and throughout the weekend the bell boy Alex became
our go to man. Where to catch the bus downtown, how to get to Puerto
Juarez, drink coupons for various restaurants. I also had an 80
minute massage on the beach by a lovely woman from Columbia.
I'm from Northern California where every 6th person is a massage
therapist and I have to say she was one of the best I ever had.
Another great thing on staff were these women who worked the concierge
desk. They fully understood we were not the Senior Frog kinda
tourists and told us how to get to the Downtown Cancun Square near the
big church where we ate corn on the cob dipped in Parmesans cheese and
chili while watching the local talent show for the 8 year old set.
Charming.

The hotel fulfilled all our basic needs. Clean, moderately priced,
good service. 2 things that made this a 4 star and not a 5. We only
ate one meal at the hotel, breakfast. I didn't like it at all. And
second, the Jacuzzis were never warm while we were there. Someone
pointed out that you don't want to sit in a 110 degree jacuzzi in 90
degree weather, but on a 65 degree night in December after 3 days of
Scuba I sure wouldn't have minded a bit of heat.

Anyway, stay at the Aquamarina Hotel if your not looking for big party Cancun. I loved the place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bandstalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel with my wife and my 1yr and 3 months old son since Nov 23th to Nov 27th, I chose the European plan (only room), since i'd prefer to go out for lunch, so I cannot tell you anything about food,

The room was always clean and all the people in the hotel were very friendly. They put a cradle in our room.

The jacuzzi was very comfortable, my baby loved it the temperature was perfect for the windy days.

The beach is not so nice as the other ones since the hotel is in a part where the waves are very calm and the waves looks like lake and this bring on some kind of grass in the water because of absence of flow, but the hotels in the same beach are much more expensive and have the same beach, so there was no problem for me.

Anyway we spent some nice days and the best part is the price.

I got the room for less than 100 USD, I consider a very fair rate.

The next time I'll stay at Playa del Carmen, its beaches are beautiful, better than Cancun, since the beaches in Cancun were impacted by hurricane Vilma and they lost a lot of sand

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Miguel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#106 of 177 in Cancun
909 reviews
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#72 of 177 in Cancun
3,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#63 of 177 in Cancun
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
2.4 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarina Beach Hotel

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $100 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquamarina Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquamarina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquamarina Beach
Aquamarina Beach Cancun
Aquamarina Beach Hotel Cancun
Cancun Aquamarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing