We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!! Old!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Ranked #94 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Vidalia, LA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Horrible!!! Old!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room was very small, the bed was hard, the air conditioner didn't cool the room. There was no microwave, refridgerator or coffee pot in the room. There was not even any coffee in the lobby, and had to wait till 7 for the resturant to open. When I asked how I could get coffee earlier, I was told to walk across the street!!! We booked this for our honeymoon through a company called Special-T-Travel. This was an all-inclusive stay, but the food was greasy and old tasting. There weren't any activities to do, but lay by the pool and listen to way too loud techno music. We checked out the next day! I hope I get my money back, but this place is terrible!!!! The only thing I can say is the girl that checked us out was courteous. AS for the value, I wouldn't stay here again IF THEY PAID ME!!!!

Room Tip: Find out how old the building is. Find out if the place you are staying is in the old hotel zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pattie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    267
    169
    90
    112
See reviews for
202
209
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with one if my friends for 2 weeks. When we arrived we were greeted and welcomed which was wry warm the rooms were spacious with air con a safety deposit box and very clean. The view was lovely overlooking the pools and beach. The hotels entertainment was great nite and afternoon was lots to do. The al inclusive food was great a wide variety and very tasty , and you could have drink any time which was good. The hotel wasn't right on the nightlife but all you had to do us catch a bus which was a 5 minute ride for when you wanted to party and if you wanted a relaxing night the hotel catered to that:) would definitely go back again!!!!!!! Love Mexico cancun altho 11 hour flight is hard as direct flight but goes quickly lol hope this helps.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank emmakabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It is best to be direct: the beach is one of the worst ones in Cancun; the hotel is 30 years old, not renovated; There isn't internet in the room. There is a karaoke until 11pm in face of the rooms, loud and not fun. Food is not bad, but nothing especial. Since you can pay the same or a few dollars more to stay in dozens of excellents hotels in town, you will stay here just if you act as I did, without look any review.

Room Tip: Hotel Acquamarina, Cancun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mdv1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Three girls on holiday for 2 weeks - Spring break. The Hotel was nice, large rooms and beds, great bar! however; our room got broken into and a large amount of money stolen from the ''safe'' on the first week we arrived (the safe was opened with a key!!!). We then got upgraded to another room where the air-conditioning unit leaked all over our clothes.... apart from being skint practically the whole holiday, the activity staff kept us occupied with games and entertainment during the day, they were amazing!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Colt922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Food was bad. The bar at the pool closed at 4 and the beach bar was never open the whole time we were there. Also you couldn't take out the kayaks or sail boats after four. So if you do an excursion you probably won't be back to do any of the "included" activities at the resort. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. But it was a good price. I guess ya get what ya pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica92407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

we looked for a hotel having as follows:
- reasonable price, all inclusive with good quality food,
- fullequipment of room ie. bathroom.wc, clima,
- silent region (no traffic to hear!)
- balcony with seaside viev perferably

Aquamairne Hotel fulfills all of a/m conditions.
Additionally sevice personnel including maids and other auxiliary personnel was very polite with smile, creating family-like climate.
Very good location Busstop, church, boat harbour

Good conditions for swimming - there were no strong vaves on sea bay in spite of winy water.
Bottom of bay partially sandy only, there were some sea plants. However, they did not bother in swimming, but in walking-in-water.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton uk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our first time to Mexico, we went for 2 weeks and were on a budget. So I thought £850 pp was quite a good deal. The hotel is fine, room big, nice big beds (not 2 squished together), satelite tv,very clean etc. plenty of space to hang up clothes. However no facilities for tea/coffee/fridge but this did not really matter. It is 3 not 4 star. Our only complaint was noisey neighburs and this was delt with swiftly, be warned this is a base camp for young mexican and young American revellers, if you cant beat em join them?

Food was was ok, breakfast was probably the best, eggs cooked anyway you want, if you ask nicely someone will get you some crispy bacon...Nice touch. Themed food nights yet still repetitive meals, there was always somene on the grill, cooking the 'theme' to order. The salads were great and vast selection meant there was always something to eat. There was a a la carte resturant, that we only discovered on our second week there, better food, and I think we didn't pay any extra for it. If we did it wasnt much. The staff are brilliant, if you have kids the entertainment team will keep them happy. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is not the hotel for you. Boom Boom music from 9am till night fall, and very repetitive. We just wanted to chill, and didnt feel that you could do this here.

The beach.... well lack of it. You can't really swim in the sea as there was so much seaweed. If you have it in your mind that coming to cancun will mean white sandy beach for miles...... this is not the hotel for you as it is on a bay. Book elsewhere. This was not the end of the world beause we like going on an adventure.

We went out every day on the bus in searh of better beaches, we found them beautiful and quiet. Nice waters etc. Not too much hassle from locals, just the usual, cigars, drugs etc. Just shrug them off, fruit ladies always welcome. If you pitch far enough away from a bar, you wont be hassled.

Trips, dont book with Thomas Cook, we booked with Brad across the street, to Chichen Itza, a great day and half the price of Thomas Crook.

We found a great bar called El somboero's, a chap called Victor was very accomodating, and did not give us the hard sell, we enjoyed his banter and went back most days. We said we wanted to swim with the dolphins, he said no problem, this was an amazing experience, again cheaper than TC. We also went on a catamaran day to Isla Mujeres, with a lobster lunch ( lunch not so great) but the day was fab.

overall the hotel is fine, it just depends what you want from your stay, it was a great base to go and explore and when it rained for a whole day we took advantage of the open bar, and great service from the staff, boy they can mix up a good cocktail. My partner lost his sun glasses one day and another day his wallet, both were handed in which was a nice touch. We asked who handed them in and gave them a nice tip, rude not to.

Go if the price is right.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank travelgogo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#101 of 175 in Cancun
897 reviews
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 175 in Cancun
2,918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#61 of 175 in Cancun
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 175 in Cancun
2,054 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
3.2 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarina Beach Hotel

Property: Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquamarina Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aquamarina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquamarina Beach
Aquamarina Beach Cancun
Aquamarina Beach Hotel Cancun
Cancun Aquamarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing