We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and wild!”
Review of Coco Bongo Cancun

Coco Bongo Cancun
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Coco Bongo Nightclub in Cancun with Open Bar
Ranked #2 of 51 Nightlife in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Weave your way through crowds of half-naked and thoroughly inebriated college kids and dance the night away to pulse-pumping, eardrum-throbbing rhythms: this club is the mecca of Cancun's often rowdy nightlife.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and wild!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

All drinks were included and the show was "over the top"! Centrally located, it was a good time night out, overall!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,623
    2,741
    1,110
    503
    792
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waupun, WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little too crazy”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This just was not my idea of relaxing or fun- but it is something to see and I would recomment going at least once. Its a fun club with a full show going on all night and great music. However, its very loud and the number of people they pack in- stepping on your feet- is what turned me off.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Night Club”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Awesome night club. At least I have never been to a club like this before where they combined performances and dancing. Definitely a must visit place while you are in cancun. The only downside is the huge crowd and you get tired after a while standing. Also, ticket prices were expensive $60 per ticket

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller123434678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Coco Bongo is a must-do, must-see!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Don't listen to any negative reviews people have written about this place....unless you're BORING. It's impossible not to have a good time at Coco Bongo! Dancing, music, shows, confetti, drinks, beautiful people...it's all there! It's interactive and is more than just a night club. It's a night club and show all in one. The vibe is fun and positive with a wide range of music so you should be able to enjoy no matter what taste in music you have. I would definitely go there again when I'm in Cancun again!
My only tip would be to book with your hotel as a tour group...that way you pay one fee and you get transportation to and from Coco Bongo, endless drinks, NO LINE UP and your own designated spot in the club. Oh and if you aren't used to wearing heels all night long, I would suggest you wear flats or something comfy as you'll be dancing alllll night long! YOU HAVE TO GO TO COCO BONGO!!! It's an unforgettable experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After reading some of the varied reviews of Coco Bongo, I’ll share our story & provide some tips if you’re planning on going.
We were at Coco Bongos on Friday Feb. 8th, 2013. We had a great time and feel that we definitely got our $70.00 USD worth of booze & entertainment for our night out.
We paid and got our VIP wrist bands from our Resort Entertainment staff. If you’re staying at a resort that offers this service USE IT! They drove us to the club from the resort & I was shocked to see the huge line ups (almost a block & half long). One of our resort entertainment staff escorted us past the main line up into a VIP line up (maybe 200 people in this line). He disappeared for a minute & when he returned he escorted us passed this VIP line up, straight through to security & to our table in the floor VIP section. Total time spent outside the club from the van to the table was less than five minutes… AMAZING considering the huge crowds outside the club, and show was about to start (time was close to 11:00pm).
The place was packed with people, standing room only; everyone just dances where they stand. Our server was fast, polite and we never once had empty glasses. We only tipped once at the end of the night & our tip reflected the quality of service we received. As for the reviewers stating that there is no fire exits, from our table on the floor two large double doors with “Emergency Exit” illuminated in both English & Spanish was clearly visible to the left of the stage.
The show was fun, enjoyable & had lots of audience participation. You will spend a lot of time covering your drinks, as confetti, streamers, bubbles, & balloons were being fired into the air often. Another tip to offer you is to avoid ordering fancy mixed drinks, we just drank beer and we never once ran out.
We left at about 3:30 am when the show wrapped up, and our server escorted us from our table to the nearest exit.
We would recommend checking out Coco Bongo’s show, but be prepared for the crowds, and standing (or dancing) throughout the show (4 hours+). Also book VIP tickets through the resort & ask prior to leaving as to where your seats will be, or have them escort you to your table.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda and Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Bongo Cancun also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Coco Bongo Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing