We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay at The Royal Sands again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #20 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Pros: friendly staff, very clean, clean white sand beach, activities, on site tour arrangements, grocery store, good food, someone will wait on you at every turn.

Cons: air conditioner in room makes slightly more noise than average

Was there 8/28 thru 9/4. Visited Tulum (Myan ruins) and it was smokin hot. If I was to return under those conditions I would go straight to the adjacent beach. Spent a day @ Isla Mujeres where we rented a golf cart. Toured the isle and ate at a couple of there sea side restaurants. Good time. You will become very aware of the disparity of income among its residents. I found that under very hot conditions the place to be was at the resort enjoying the beach front, the pool, the room, and the fantastic service provided by the staff. It was the low time (summer and hurricane season) which was evident by availability of tables at restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_DC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR_Community_Manager, Royal Resorts Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Dear Royal Resorts Valued Guest:

Thank you for your comments! They are very valuable for us and help us serve you better. I appreciate the time you took to leave us your review.

I'm glad to read you had a great time at your home away from home. We constantly receive praise for our hard working staff, and I think its well deserved. Our #1 objective is always to make our guests feel at home away from home; we work very hard to make it happen!

I'll also be channeling your comments about the a/c to the resort's management, so they can address the situation. I'll be contacting you by private message to request more details about your stay.

Please, let me know if theres anything else I can do for you.

Hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards from paradise,
Camilo Olea
Royal Resorts Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,525 - 3,531 of 4,401 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

We returned yesterday from a week at the Royal Sands Cancun. We were six people, three adults, one teenager age 13, and two children ages 8 and 5. This is our fifth trip to the Yucutan in the past 4 years and our first staying in Cancun. We are extremely seasoned travelers having been to many different resorts all over the us, caribbean, mexico, including those with 5 star ratings.
Our purpose of this trip was a leisurely week at the pool and beach at a reasonable resort that could provide us a two bedroom villa/apartment, and the Royal Sands fit the bill. On arrival, we had an easy check-in and our room, although not cleaned, was available to us to change into swim wear and hit the pool. The resort is immaculate, cleaner than most I've been to, and this is clearly a priority to the staff. The two bedroom villa was spacious, with a full kitchen and two nice sized bedrooms. The beds are a little soft, but that's just a preference issue. The best part of the villa was the large terrace which overlooked the ocean. We used it every time we were in the room, and ended most days having wine and cheese while listening to the sound of the waves. The staff is very friendly and courteous throughout the resort and the beach is well-maintained.
Now the bad. This is a time-share resort, not a hotel. As such, stays are designed to be saturday - saturday WITHOUT EXCEPTION. This is not told to you when you book your trip and is not mentioned on the website clearly when booking. It is mentioned on your confirmation letter you receive after booking at the end in fine print. IF YOUR STAY INCLUDES A SATURDAY YOU WILL BE MOVED TO ANOTHER UNIT. Well, when I received notice friday that I had to pack up 6 people and move to another room, just to unpack and then re-pack to leave sunday I was quite upset. I spoke to the manager, but this is the policy without exception. After arguing to no end, I had no choice but to move. They at least moved me next door which was easier to deal with and ultimately fine, but talk about annoying.
We had a very nice week at the Royal Sands Cancun, but I will not stay there again or at any timeshare resort, because policy cannot be changed and ultimately you are a second-class citizen compared to the unit owners.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The staff make you feel very welcome, safe and caring about having an enjoyable trip.
The only thing is that if you have an accident on the property, they take no responsibility. Be prepared to pay for doctor on property or visit to hospital. Outside of that, I would visit this property again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWR614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR_Community_Manager, Royal Resorts Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Dear Royal Resorts Valued Guest:

Thank you for your comments; they are very important for us and help us serve you better.

Once again, I'm glad to read your praise towards our hard working staff. This is something we take pride of, to make our guests feel at home away from home.

I'm sorry to read about your accident, I'll be sending you a private message to request more info in order to get this addressed.

Regarding the Doctor at the resort, it is an independent service, and that is why it is not covered by us and you have to pay for the service.

Please let me know if theres anything else I can help you with.

Warm regards from paradise,
Camilo Olea
Royal Resorts Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Me and 4 other closely related family members stayed at the Royal Sands resort for one week and used the "lock out". We had an amazing trip and upon first arrival the lady who checked us in first said "Welcome Home", which is exactly how I felt, HOME!
It was a great place to relax and one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to in my life. Can't wait to go again next year!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank Dalton736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR_Community_Manager, Royal Resorts Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Dear Royal Resorts Valued Guest:

Thank you for your comments! They are very important for us and help us always serve you better.

I'm happy to read that you felt just at home-- that is our #1 priority!

Let me know in advance next time you plan to come so we can give you a warm welcome.

Please let me know if theres anything else I can do for you.

Warm regards from paradise,
Camilo Olea
Royal Resorts Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Just returned from our week at Royal Sands. We liked it so much last year when my husband and I went for our 30th anniversary, we returned again this year with our grown children. We traded for our Marriott week. We love the layout, the comfortable suites (especially the huge balcony overlooking the ocean), and the friendly staff (except for our check-in receptionist who was not very welcoming). The facility is immaculate, and we like the convenience of the grocery store on the premises. Our maid was very sweet, and did an outstanding keeping our suite clean. Our only complaint was the firmness of the king-size mattress, and the air-conditioner which was really loud every time it kicked on in our bedroom. It kept waking us up. We would still return in a heartbeat, and would definitely recommend it to friends. P.S. Victor and Pepe were great as water aerobic and dance instructors, and we loved black jack night in the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR_Community_Manager, Royal Resorts Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Dear Royal Resorts Valued Guest:

Thank you for your comments! They are very important for us and help us serve you better.

I'm glad to read you had a great experience with us, your home away from home. I've read other comments about the a/c, rest assured I'll be channeling your comment to the resort's management in order to get it addressed.

I'll also be sending you a private message requesting more details about your stay to address the issue with the receptionist.

Please let me know if theres anything more I can do for you.

Warm regards from paradise,
Camilo Olea
Royal Resorts Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Just return from another wonderful trip with royal resort, Royal Sands. The places was very clear. large two bedroom suite, staff excellent. I exchange my Horborside Atlantis for this trip. if i could exchange my timeshare for royal sands I would do it in a heart beat. royal resort owner a bless. know that what owning a timeshare should be about. great job royal resorts. Iam totally ashame of being an owner at the Atlantis. The only reason this resort does not get a five star is there is no kids room with xbox and simular gaming. it has just ping pon tables and nothing for kids 10 and up or teens. saw teens running around resort at night with nothing to do.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank sagitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR_Community_Manager, Royal Resorts Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate all the feedback our guests give us.

I'm glad to read you had a fantastic experience with us, and would like to inform you that theres Xbox gaming available at the Activity Center in the Royal Sands on Tuesdays at 2:00 P.M.

Also, let me do some research to see if theres the possibility for you to be a part of the Royal Resorts Family Members.

Again, thanks for your comment and warm regards from paradise!
Camilo Olea
Royal Resorts Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Royal Sands is great for families, units are very nice, clean, well decorated. The beach is one of yhe nicest in the area. It is located near Plaza Kukulcan and a very short bus ride from La Isla. Great for younk kids, teens and their parents and grandparents! Attentive staff.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR_Community_Manager, Royal Resorts Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Dear Royal Resorts Family Member:

Thank you very much for your comment! We appreciate and pay attention to everything our family members have to say.

I'm glad you had a great time and that our staff met your expectations. If you'd like to send a thank you or just say hi to a particular member of our staff, feel free to do so, I'll make sure they get your comment.

Also, please let me know in advance the next time you plan to visit us!

Warm regards from paradise,
Camilo Olea
Royal Resorts Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
0.9 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
1.9 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#39 of 177 in Cancun
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $205 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing