We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,886)
Filter reviews
6,886 results
Traveler rating
4,731
1,349
490
184
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,731
1,349
490
184
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la veranda hacienda sisal char hut captains cove phase ii time share thomas moore pool bar personal concierge royal mayan room key all inclusive option full kitchen welcome home change rooms all inclusive plan free shuttle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 6,886 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020

So far, we have been here for 2 days. The first morning we got roped into the high pressure sales effort to buy a time share. It was supposed to take only 90 minutes but it took well over 2 hours. They promised that they wouldn't give us pressure but they certainly did.

On the second day, my wife spent the morning trying to redeem her gift and got passed around and was told to wait 10 minutes and the girl disappeared for an hour.

It seems a shame to spoil a beautiful place by pressuring your guests to buy something instead of letting them enjoy the facility. If you come here, it would be best to avoid the office and sales efforts completely.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wesp285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_MRL, Online Community Care Agent at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear wesp285,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Royal Sands.

We truly appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I've contacted you offline so that we can learn more about your stay experience.

We hope we have the chance to connect with you offline and welcome you back once more to enjoy a vacation that's up to the high standards we've held for our Royal Resorts members and guests for over 40 years.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

The people here could not be more friendly. Everyone on staff smiles and goes out of way to help. Pool and restaurants are amazing. Hats off to beach life guards who made an awesome rescue in rough waters!

Room tip: Phase one E bldg dead center
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_MRL, Online Community Care Agent at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mark D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent vacation with us.

We couldn’t be happier to see that your time spent with us was a fun and relaxing experience.

We're sure that the TripAdvisor community will appreciate your insights about our resort and your overall experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Great time as usual. The staff at the Sands is always completely helpful and top notch. This ranges from the bell staff to the restaurant staff to maid staff to the pool staff and even to the staff that does the gardening, the cleaning of the general areas, and any realtime maintenance. The staff is great top to bottom.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_MRL, Online Community Care Agent at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JT W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We're convinced that our staff plays a key role in our company since their interaction with our guests makes possible what we like to call "The Royal Experience".

We're glad to learn that your time spent with us is usually a great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

22 of us spent this past week at The Royal Sands. One of us owns at The Royal Sands and the rest of us rented from other owners. The resort is kept very clean and all the staff are amazing. When we checked in they greeted us with “welcome home”.
The service we received was outstanding! Luis Kinil, Luis Ulin, Gabriel, Lilibet, Moises, Eduardo, Veronica...just to name a few...did a fantastic job!

I cant wait to visit this resort again!

Room tip: Choose beachside rooms! The view is amazing!
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gayleh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_MRL, Online Community Care Agent at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear gayleh1982,

Thank you so much for your review.

We’re so happy to hear that you had a great vacation. We hope that you and your family made some incredible memories that will last for years to come.

We appreciate your kind words about the staff that left such a good impression on you by providing outstanding service.

We'd love to see you again soon!

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

I am a member, I went last week for the first time in 8 years. The first time since they changed their "pitch" from exclusive to "all inclusive". Clients is different. Service is lacking..employee to client reduced. Food quality is DOWN..Drinks are weak weak..Biggest disappointed was ElConquistator. horrible. I spat out my first bite..shrimp dish over cooked..over salted. Husbands meal was equally bad. Steak Diane..boiled meat at the best. Banana foster..not the same. This use to be the best place to eat at the The Royal Resorts in Cancun...I will never go back..The All Inclusive is a joke..anything "good" or suppose to be good...has an "uncharge" ..Did not save any money...and will never do that again as well. Did not have one good meal at the Royal Sands or its sister restaurants...ended up going out on our own..big waste of money. Lesson learned. Very disappointed.feel like "bait and switch" from exclusive members only to all inclusive..totally different feel..people. Not what we signed up for years ago.

Room tip: stay elsewhere
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TBGOAT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra_MRL, Online Community Care Agent at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear TBGOAT1,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Royal Sands.

We truly appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that your recent stay didn't meet your expectations. I've contacted you offline so that we can learn more about your stay experience to make this right.

We hope we have the chance to connect with you offline and welcome you back once more to enjoy a vacation that's up to the high standards we've held for our Royal Resorts members and guests for more than 40 years.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews