We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long time Owner (daughter) tries All Inclusive plan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Long time Owner (daughter) tries All Inclusive plan”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Have been coming to this resort every year since it opened. The room was very clean, as usual, and the beach is one of the most beautiful . . . all white sand,with water every color of turquoise. This year the water was great for boogie boarding or getting beyond where the waves are breaking and swimming or just bobbing in the waves. (not a snorkeling beach) The food and drinks are were good. No issues, but not outstanding. Lunch at the Char Hut is a great place to eat with a wonderful view. We opted for the All Inclusive this year just to compare the experiences. We usually do all Inclusive when we travel to the Riviera Maya other times of the year. The food choices are the same, you just pay the surcharge for some higher end items. Not a big deal. The biggest item I didn't like as an All Inclusive person, is the presenting of your room card and the signing for everything. I understand the signing (charged to your room)as a normal member . . . .but not when I have the all Inclusive plan. They need to find a way to eliminate this. It is annoying and strike against them when comparing to other all Inclusives. There definately are differences in treatment when you are just a Owner/member or if you have an all inclusive band on. I experienced it first hand. . . some are good and some are not so good. Some staff and some other members treat you differently when you have the band on, not necessarily positive. We were sitting with a another owner and order the same diet coke, the member/owner got a tall glass with ice and the bottle, we got a small plastic cup with soda. When we asked if we could have the same, we were told no. We could have as many small plastic cups as we would like, but that was it. Two days later when I wasn't wearing the band, they gave me the tall glass and bottle. Silly little things like that along with others, all not major, but no need for the difference. I understand current members concerns also, this is not what they bought into. The Royals are unfortunately now not pleasing either group to the fullest. Entertainment in the evening is lacking for the All Inclusive group. But love hanging out in the Sidelines bar and playing cards and enjoying the popcorn. We liked the All Inclusive part, and used it. But if you don't like to eat and drink (and want to cook), just stick with the condo and visit the onsite store. All and all we had a great time and it feels like home. . . . will be back next year. It's a great place for families with little ones.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,614
    893
    318
    120
    75
See reviews for
1,771
1,251
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Have stayed at all of the Cancun Royal Resorts many times thru the years. At the Sands this year. One recent change is the "all-inclusive" option, and I need to comment on it.

The folks using this option seem to abuse it somewhat, both in the amounts of food they order/waste, and in the way they treat the always accomodating service staff. Not sure if it's the way to go; my sense is that the staff will get burned out, and on some levels I feel the food was not as great as in previous years. It's hard to produce exceptional food and service when the customers are basically taking it for granted.

As usual, the room and amenities were first-rate.

The front desk personnel were not the most friendly however. I know they're busy, but a smile and courtesy would be appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have no complaints. Beautifully decorated around Christmas time. Great family atmosphere. No Spring Breakers. Weather and water were perfect. The food is out of this world. The Mayan people are the nicest most outgoing people I've ever been around. Every worker seems to understand that tourists make their economy go and they treat you like royalty. There is something for everyone, from adventurers to just relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smclerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one week at this resort with my girlfriends and we had an Awesome time. From the moment we arrived we were treated with such kindness. The staff went out of their way pampering us! A special kudos to Patricio at the swim up .bar He was always treating us well with a big smile on his face. He is a very valuable asset to this resort. (We all wanted to take him home) We would all return to the Royal Sands in a heartbeat

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millard, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from a week in Cancun. Beautiful weather, perfect for sunning on the beach or by the pool. ‎That is, if you can find a chair. Unless you get to the beach/pool before 5:00 AM, you will need to go off-‎property to get a chair. There seems to be a real problem with people staking out their territory with resort ‎towels. I have no problem with grabbing a chair and leaving for a short period of time to get a drink or a ‎snack, but we watched people saving 4, 8, 10 chairs at 5:00 AM and leaving. They would not show up until well after ‎noon. Meanwhile, we were forced to wander endlessly in search of a place to sit and eventually moved on ‎to the other Royal Resort properties. Unfortunately, we found the same problems there. We did not complain ‎to the management but spoke to many others who had to no avail. There needs to be a no-show or time limit policy ‎so that all can enjoy the facilities. The property is beautiful, the food is OK (typical all inclusive food) and ‎the resort clean (except for trays left outside doors). If it were not for the chair problem, we would think of ‎returning. As it is, next time we'll try our luck with a resort that doesn't allow such selfish behavior‎

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dubers T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable week at Royal Sands. A beautiful facility, friendly and efficient personnel, couldn't have been better. Took advantage of many activities. Facilities are well maintained and have been updated since our last visit. Weather even cooperated. Hope to see you again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've always considered The Royal Sands our home away from home since we became owners in 2003, and never left there with any complaints. However, this year was different. Everything is still kept spotless, the employees still the friendliest and most caring people. Our complaint is, unless you wake at 5:00 am to claim a palapa on the beach or a chair by either pool, you are out of luck. After much complaining to management, we were finally able to get an umbrella and a lounge on the beach. For the first 11 days we were there, we were told there were no umbrellas. We then saw where they were being stored, and had to insist that we be given one. After that no one had a problem getting an umbrella on the beach. My point is, why weren't we accommodated from day one?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lyn807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,703 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,905 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Vacatia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing