We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
packmybagsreadytogo
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, wonderful stay”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Royal Sands is a beautiful hotel with a great location. You can sit by the pool and see the ocean or can sit on your balcony and watch the ocean. The locations on this popular area of Cancun is just great. The set up for hanging at the beach is perfect with palm unbrellas to shield you from the sun if needed.
what really sets this hotel apart is the staff. I was so impressed with the courtesy, helpfullness and overall excellence of the staff and help at this hotel. I was always greeted with a smile and everyone was very helpful. I would go back here again for the beauty and the wonderful people

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank packmybagsreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,621
    895
    319
    120
    75
See reviews for
1,776
1,254
48
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for one week with the all inclusive package. Breakfast buffet at La Veranda was great with lots of options. Lunch was more limited but if want something and don't see it, just ask, if they have it they will make it. Lunch and drinks at Char Hut was a regular this week, since you can sit in the pool at the swim up bar and see the ocean all while eating lunch. Shrimp caesar was my favorite here. Drinks included is pretty much whatever you want except top shelf. There well liquors were better than most places. Pool and beach service was a little slow during peak times of the day, probably due to few attendants working. Finding a chair on the beach can be difficult in the afternoon. Pancho Willys and Captains Cove are also great. Both are located down by Royal Mayan, but there is a free shuttle service once an hour. Pancho Willys does karoake on Wednesday and Friday night, lots of fun, drink service can be a little slow here. Captains Cove had amazing food! Anything on the menu that labeled chef's selection is a guaranteed good meal. FYI, we are both Chefs. Also did some sailing on there free sunfish boats and participated in there sailing race they have every Friday. Maid service was great. They tidied up twice a day, always had fresh towels, did a turn down service, stocked the mini fridge once a day (it's free with the all-inclusive.) A very family oriented resort, but wasn't bothered by any screaming kids. Most parents keep them in the kids pool. The large pool has a section separated just for them. Mostly older people, very few young adults and most had kids. Everything on resort was well maintained and cleaned. Every staff member was always smiling, said hello, and very helpful. Best vacation experience ever! Extra thanks to a few staff members that made it so great, Carlos at the sports desk, Rodolfo at La Veranda, and Maria Isidra our maid.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the 3rd floor and higher for better views. Lagoon side gives you a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My friend and I stayed here Jan 11th -18th in one of the lock-offs in Phase 2. We booked flight & hotel through Expedia and felt we got a great deal. Our 5th floor room was very clean and spacious. We were most pleased to have a beautiful ocean view from our balcony, which was awesome to wake up to each morning! Maid service was great. Drinks were available in the small fridge. Having paid for meals last year at the Islander, we decided to book the all-inclusive fare here. We were quite pleased and happy with our decision. We mostly ate in the Phase 1 restaurant, La Veranda, which was very good with excellent service. We also took the shuttle 2x to Captain's Cove for great food too. The surcharge for the prime rib is well worth it! We had intentions to go to the other Royal restaurants, but just got too busy. You have to watch the shuttle schedule at night. We had to take the local bus home one night - not a problem, but you have to keep the times in mind. We did not feel we were treated any differently b/c we were wearing our yellow AI bracelets. The frozen drinks were delicious and our favorite waiter in La Veranda was Hugo! They all surely aim to please!
The location of the hotel is ideal in the middle of the Hotel Strip and right next door to Kukulcan Plaza. So easy to take the local bus right in front of the hotel to downtown or wherever for $1. Everyone at the hotel is very friendly, most speak English, and are there to please you in every way! Beach and pools are lovely. Rules about staking claim to a lounge chair with your towel are not enforced and if you wait until after breakfast to claim your spot, you can be out of luck. Best to put towels, magazines, (non-valuable items) etc. on your spot and then head to breakfast. Ocean is rather rough in the winter, but we were still able to swim in the yellow flag areas. You do have to use caution while swimming and be aware of the huge waves. It's fun!
We did not have to hear a sales pitch about time share ownership as we were there without our husbands, so lucky for us!
Take along lots of $1 bills with you. Conveniently, US money is accepted and sometimes the desk will have change for you. Take along many dollars with you for tips - all meals, drivers, bell boys, maids, etc. and for local buses. You don't even need Mex. pesos if you don't want to bother. Even the shops in the mall take Am. money, give you Am. bills for change, but with Mex. coins. Was not a problem as we just put our last coins in the maid's envelope when we left.
Can't wait to return next year!! Hoping to get a few friends to join us. Highly recommend this affordable vacation destination. Thank you, Royal Sands!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights as a family of 6. Asked for a room with views which was provided. The resort is exceptionally clean and tidy and very big. The room was comfortable and a good size for us. Room servicing was very good and the fridge was topped up every day as part of the Refine package. La Verandah restaurant served ok breakfast and average meals for lunch and evening. Service here was terrible. We utilised all the restaurants as part of our package and generally found food between average to very good but service was hit and miss with mostly miss. Getting a drink poolside was slow but we didn't see many staff there so the poor buggers were running around like mad. This was our first visit to Cancun and were very disappointed with The Royal Sands. The time share selling was pushed very hard on us even though we stated many times we werent interested. There is a laundry on site which is very handy but it is always very busy. I think that compared to Cabo Cancun is a lot more glitzy and expensive. This resort was mostly occupied by owners and we felt like we were on the set of the movie Cacoon. The biggest pain was having to move units in the middle of the day on Saturday. Stupid! The resort info book in the room has a list of rules many pages long. These timeshare places might work for owners but not for visitors.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigdog_tboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.

As you point out, our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. However, we always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and we regret not achieving this goal with you.

We hope to have the chance to host you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been going to the Royal Sands for 9 years now. It has changed over the years. The best thing about the Sands is the beautiful beach that it is on and the staff. Yadira, Moses, Fernando, and Armando are wonderful. The villas are getting outdated,but the staff work hard to maintain them. The food is still great at the Veranda and the Char-hut. We were very disappointed about the beach chair situation. We own a beach front villa and watched at 5:30 am people putting towels on the chairs at this time. I am not talking about one or two loungers, but 6 lounge chairs, four regular chairs and several tables at one time. It wasn't until 10 am that they would occupy the chairs. I had to play the game myself in order to get chairs by the beach. The chairs around both pools, phase 1 and phase 2 would all be taken on the sunny sides before that! When I spoke to our concierge about it, they all knew that this was going on. Maybe they could have a separate beach area for owners only?
Even with the hard sell to its members, the Royal Sands is still the best place to go.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trvellinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Overall, my stay at the Royal Sands was very good. I would like to take the time to detail some experiences.

Positive Experiences:

1) The customer service is very good! Mostly everyone is extremely friendly and it's nice to get to know everyone over the course of a week's stay.

2) As most other people noted, this resort is extremely clean. You always see the team around property cleaning, whether it be the ground around the pool, the mini-pool guests step in to get the sand off their feet, your room, etc.

3) Guests seem to really utilize the amenities, which is nice to see! The bar on-site always seemed to be busy, as were all the restaurants. It's nice to see guests participating in activities, ie: karaoke and water aerobics.

4) Wi-Fi worked great in the room

5) Good location in the hotel zone. Very short walk to Luxury Avenue. The bus stop is close and it does not take long to get to La Isla or the nightclub area.

6) Fried plantains in the breakfast buffet. Seriously. Mmmm!

Not-As-Positive Experiences:

1) It's policy that standard weeks are Saturday to Saturday and if you come on a Friday, you may have to change your room on Saturday. That is fine and understood. We were told at check-in that the switch would happen at 11:00am. I had to be ready for a wedding at 1:00pm so that worked fine. I'd start getting ready at 11:05 or so after the switch. As it turns out, they weren't able to switch us until 12:30, but we didn't find that out until 12:00. I had no choice but to start getting ready in our original room and it was highly inconvenient to have to switch to a room far away 30 minutes before I needed to be in the lobby. To make it worse, it is unfortunately standard that the room you are switched into may not be cleaned yet (but will be shortly thereafter). I had to finish getting ready in a used bathroom with used soap and one clean hand towel, because I didn't have the option to wait or I would have missed the family photos. This is fine if you are chilling on the beach for the day, but not okay if you are family of the wedding party. I wish that could have been taken into consideration somehow, or that we could have just stayed in our original room until 1:00pm from the get-go.

2) There is no hot tub. That is actually really important to me when on vacation.

3) While the Wi-Fi worked great in the room, we were not given our room specific Wi-Fi code at check-in. I found out from another family member that there is room specific Wi-Fi that comes with the all inclusive package. I wish this could have been given to us at check-in instead of struggling to do some work for the first 3 days trying to use the pool Wi-Fi in our room.


Overall, no harm, no foul...everything worked out and we had a great stay. Would I stay here again? Sure! But I'd like to try out other resorts, too.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean and not the lagoon. Very nice! Phase II is going to be quieter than Pha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LAAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

One of my favorite places to stay! Rooms and pools are always clean, staff is so friendly and they love to make you smile and laugh. The staff even helped me work on my spanish. The view of the sunrise is unbelievable! Very close to a large mall, and short bus ride to bars downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Vacatia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing