We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Royal Sands Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saskatoon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Royal Sands Rocks”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Royal Sands is a wonderful property that we enjoy coming back to every year. We feel comfortable and sleep amazing. The beach is awesome and the staff is supreme. The drinks at the bar are better than any resort we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,707
    941
    336
    129
    81
See reviews for
1,870
1,295
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We just returned last night from six days at The Royal Sands. We enjoyed our visit very much. We rented a two bedroom beachfront unit from an owner and were very pleased with the accommodations. While the furniture is looked a little worn and could stand to be replaced, the unit was very clean, the TVs worked fine, the view was great, Wi fi was good, and the maid service was very good.

A number of the reviews comment on the new all-inclusive policy and how this has caused the resort to go downhill. Since we rented directly from an owner, I cannot comment on this. We found the service and food to be good at the Veranda restaurant where we had the breakfast buffet each day (not a bad deal at $15/person), and around the pool. The sports bar at the resort is good for watching TV or playing pool. The beach is very nice as well.

The spa is very nice as well. My wife and I got massages that we bought from some guy on the beach so we got a little discount.

All in all, not a five star resort, but this suited our family vacation just fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Unfortunately, the Royal Sands has continued to go down. If you are a timeshare owner (as we are), you will have noticed this. If you are an all-inclusive guest experienced in all-inclusives, you will acknowledge that there are superior choices in Cancún. A brief description of our time there this year is, on the bad side:
construction noise (5 out of 7 days there, though we were told this was only going to last one day),
loud speaker noise from 10am everyday except Saturday,
noise from the bar past 11 pm,
a very loud restaurant (La Veranda),
bad food from all restaurants,
smelly and dirty corridors from trays not being collected (and birds nibbling at the leftover food),
staking out of territory;
and on the good side:
good-sized villa with nice view (but this has never changed),
slightly improved wifi,
good (though overworked) waiters.
Overall, will we go back next year? Although we are owners, we are seriously considering renting our villa out and staying elsewhere. We think we have given the Royal Sands enough of a go.

Also, we noticed that much of the beach in the middle of the resort had significantly eroded away. Every day the lifeguard and security moved some posts further inland to avoid people falling or swimming in that area. We don't know how bad it will be now, but it only took two weeks for the sea to eat a big chunk of the sand away.

So here are a few words of advice if you are going. First, check what the beach issue is. There was still a nice area to go swimming but this was only in one side of the resort (the further south side). The middle part was a no go area and the north part had very limited swimming on it. But a few years ago, Cancún lost a lot of beach and now, unfortunately, this seems to be happening at the Royal Sands (interestingly, it seems ok in other parts of Cancún).

Second, be aware that this is primarily a timeshare with owners owning a particular apartment on particular weeks. This means various things for outside guests: (1) you cannot get the apartment you want even if you arrive early because owners own particular apartments on particular weeks; (2) you cannot check in until after 4pm, so no need to take the red-eye; (3) if you check in and stay through a Saturday, you will be moved from the apartment you were in to another (this happens between 11 and 12.30 on the Saturday and someone has to be onsite to move stuff); and finally, (4) if you go on Xmas or New Year's weeks you will notice there are less staff. This is because owners don't get maid service on the day and there are less staff generally on site. The result is that the resort is dirtier than usual: the beach is not cleaned so you'll see more seaweed and rubbish lying about, and you will definitely see more unremoved trays from room service (we saw breakfast trays pile up on top of dinner trays).

Third, all-inclusives should be aware that the better restaurants are off-site, but you need transportations for them. El Conquistador and Captain's Cove are 5km away and, although the resort provides shuttle, it has limited hours and needs to be booked. You should also note that food from La Veranda is truly shocking. Even food cooked to order is average. So be prepared to not eat well or pay taxis to make it to the other restaurants. On the up-side, there are very good restaurants walking distance from the Royal Sands, but then why would you pay an all-inclusive?

Fourth, you will be pitched a sale of a timeshare. I always think that if a product is good enough, it will speak for itself and you will look into buying once you have been there a few days. So I would initially say no to the timeshare presentation and then go back to it later on in your vacation time if you want to.

Fifth, if you are going to Cancún to relax then this is not the place for you. Saturdays are the check in days for timeshare owners and, whereas before people would start on the loudspeaker at 12pm, giving everyone a chance to recover from their travel, this is not so anymore. At 10am on Sunday morning someone starts on the microphone trying to teach you to make paella. That continues until 12pm when Coco Bongo comes full with drums and does a presentation. Then there is the welcome party, which continues until 3.20pm. So it is continuous. Unfortunately, the layout at the Royal Sands (in particular, of what is called the First Phase) is such that sound travels everywhere, so it is impossible to sleep in or relax on Sunday.

All in all, my advice to non-owners of the timeshare is to take all this into account and, if don't mind much of what I have said, then go and try (if you can) to get an apartment or bedroom in the Second Phase (much less noise) or beachfront away from the First Phase.

Room Tip: Try to stay beachfront away from Phase I or in Phase II. Also, try not to have them at pool level be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NZyMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback. It helps us as we review our procedures and take steps to improve the quality of our services.

The launch of the all-inclusive package at The Royal Sands has not affected the quality that our members and guests are accustomed too; it has remained the same, we have increased the number of employees in the food and beverage division by around 20 to 25 % percent. Demand for the new room service menu is increasing and in order to maintain our high standards and ensure prompt deliveries, we are planning to hire more room service staff. .

There is always room for improvement and we continue to strive for excellence. I am confident that we are on the right track and will soon remedy the issues you mention in order to provide the highest quality services to members and guests.

Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay and I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you in the future at The Royal Sands, your vacation home.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Given the option I would rate it 3.5 stars, but only allow 3 or 4 so I gave 4. (I would give the Iberostar Cancun a 4)

Great hotel with great service, food, and amenities. There is one restaurant in the hotel but they really do change things up often enough and there are other restaurants available for free off-site that were really good too.

I loved the rooms. We had a suite and it was nicer than any other all inclusive hotel rooms i have stayed in. They were large and had a separate living room and a large balcony.\

I also liked that it was quieter and not a party atmosphere (we have small kids), so it is good for this.

Now, tell them immediately and firmly that you are not interested in a time share (if this is the case), and then they will not bother you, otherwise you will have friends/concierge always coming up to you if they think there is hope and that is annoying.
Only other complaint was that I did not like having to bring my room-key everywhere, as normally the wrist band itself should just suffice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torontolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.

As you point out, our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. However, we always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and for sure we will put an effort to insure on your next visit we get a 5 out of 5 stars review instead of a 4 stars one.

We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

You really are treated differently if you are not a timeshare owner. If you phone this hotel and they tell you something, make sure you have them EMAIL you their statement. Once you get there verbal conversations hold no leverage. Get everything in writing - however this is a good idea anywhere you go!

The all inclusive was inconvenient. You had to give them your key & room # for food, drinks, etc. Buffets should be convenient when you pay for all inclusive. I couldn't even pick up a glass of juice for on the go without finding a waiter then signing a "bill" for $0.00. I wore a wrist band proving I was all inclusive, Why waste my time & paper signing a bill for nothing?? Never had to do this on any other all inclusive stay,

The rooms were nice, the King size bed extremely comfortable. Ask for a foam topper if anyone is using the smaller beds.

The beach is nice, watch out for the big dip in the sand. A few of us did some faceplants! It was funny to watch. Even the people selling wares on the beach are not intrusive at all!

The timeshare experience the Concierge offered to me was very disappointing & dishonest. They said 1.5 hrs and it turned into 2+ hours to finish his sales pitch - I didn't even want breakfast but we sat in the buffet for 45 min talking about nothing pertinent to the sale - very strange. Don't take their honest faces & kind sounding words to heart. I am now dealing with fraudulent activity on my credit card. Be careful and only say yes if you have done your homework. Canadians - this is in US funds - I stopped signing the paperwork when I realized this and they still took my money!! Now I'm going through the red tape to get it back!

Overall, I rather stay in the Mayan Riviera as it is more secluded. The people at the markets are way too aggressive in the city. That was my first and last stay in Cancun - possibly Mexico as a whole due to my terrible dishonest time share experience.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so I don't think it matters where you stay you will always hear the wav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vivian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

we enjoyed our stay but the all inclusive is not an all inclusive many food items and drink choices have a surcharge are service was excellent ,the amenities were good most disappointed with what you, the resort calls an all inclusive, which one is required to purchase rating is a poor because of the limits you have put on the all inclusive

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maryannesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had a nice time during our stay even though it rained for 5 days. I am sad to read that instead of coming home to thr Sands we are now guests of a hotel. I am questioning what our investment and 21 year membership means?
The Sands is a beautiful and comfortable place where we can relax.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
0.9 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#16 of 175 in Cancun
3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing