We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly resort”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankfort, IL
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly resort”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The grounds, rooms, pools, and beach are all beautiful. We enjoyed the food, as well as the beverages. Great poolside service and daily maid service in your suite. The room is large, even if you don't use the locked out portion. Very comfortable king size bed and bedding. Loved the pillows. Kitchens large and fully equipped. Although their breakfast buffet is good, we ordered food from the on site market delivered before we arrived and made breakfast in rom most days. Activities such as water aerobics, casino night, and pottery painting are fun. The location is wonderful as it is located right next to the Kukulcan and Luxury Avenue shopping mall. There is a fabulous onsite spa where I enjoyed two hot stone massages that were excellent. Public bus is under $1 and runs quickly and efficiently to anywhere in Cancun.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the ocean. All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

4,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,706
    939
    336
    129
    81
See reviews for
1,867
1,295
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Royal Resorts jewel in Cancun. We visited the four other Royal properties in Cancun and while each are nice with wonderful staff, the Sands is our favorite. The staff, smiles and service at Royal properties is appreciated and is 'Four Seasons' worthy. You can tell that the owners and management understand the need to take well care of those they employ to take care of their guests. The service is excellent and the suites/rooms are good. If you own at Royal you know and most likely agree. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in Cancun, do not overlook this property or brand.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My friend and I just finished 5 days at the Royal Sands and Spa. We had the most amazing service. The drinks were excellent with 75 different sweet/blended drinks, beer, wine etc. You could sit by the pool and the waiters would bring you drinks and food while you sat pool side. As for tipping. We started the day at the pool bar by tipping $2 (USD) and would give the odd dollar here or there for about $6 total per day while we were at the pool The waiters also brought you food at the pool. We had spare ribs, nachos and cheese, quesadilla, calamari, burgers etc.
The buffet wasn't huge but the quality of the food was there! It didn't taste mass produced.
Believe it or not there are 3 other restaurants you can go to off the resort. There is a bus that picks you up and brings you back. You do have to sign up for a bus 1 hour before your reservation. To make reservations at these restaurants all you need to do is call from your room anytime between 8am-6pm and you are in! We went to Captain's cove and anything that is a surcharge literally says "surcharge" and the amount. We tipped $10 as the food and atmosphere is pretty fancy! We never had a surcharge for anything as all the food was enough without having to goto the surcharged food. The drinks are surcharged if you want a premium drink. We didn't have any premium drinks at all. We also went to poncho & willy's after Captain Cove's as its right next door and is included.
We also went to Hacienda Sisal the day we arrived and had no problem getting a reservation that same day. We tipped $5 at that restaurant and they were very happy with that much!
You do have to give your room key every time you order food or a drink but its almost like giving your credit card when you walk into a restaurant and they keep the tab open. It will always say 0 unless you got premium alcohol. I read a lot of the reviews about surcharges and I didn't experience anything like this as an inconvienience.
The time share people didn't approach us once...it was nice not to be harassed.
We did the fish pedicure at the spa for $35. It was a little scary to me but my friend really enjoyed it! We went to Coco bongos and I highly recommend it for any age. We got our tickets as we were at the pool and the Coco Bongos guy sold us tickets for $65 which included the open bar and we got to bypass the line. This resort doesn't have night shows but they do have Karaokee in the sports bar in the early evening. This resort is not a wild and crazy resort. If you are looking to relax and unwind with great food/drinks this is the place to go!
For those of you that need to be connected the wifii in my room on the 6th floor (5638) Phase 2 worked wonderfully. I am actually typing this review from my room!
We have nothing but wonderful amazing things to say about this hotel!!! This is definatley a 5 star resort hands down!!!

Room Tip: Bring $1's for tips. They are very appreciative of it. The room in Phase 2 had excellent interne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Food, was good, the customer service was great. Rooms were large and clean. We love Cancun, their beaches were very nice. The drinks were good. We loved our stay here. My wife and I drink mixed drinks and they had some of the best we have had in the 4 stays in this area. You have to go to the markets they are fun to shop and dicker with the locals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Perfect in every way from the greetings of "Welcome Home" when you arrive to the positively pristine beach the Royal Sands is a wonderful place to stay.
We stay in an A B unit for a girlfriends beach week vacation, leaving our husbands at home.
The A unit has a master bedroom with a king bed, an open living dining room full sized kitchen. The living room TV entertainment wall contains two full sized Murphy beds. The B unit has two full sized beds, full bath, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. We do not purchase the all inclusive, but we do eat lunch on the property and purchase drinks on the beach during half price happy hour.
The staff speaks English.
The pools are spacious with plenty of sun and shade for those that had too much sun on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front and always request a unit on the upper three floors for the best view and breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I used an Interval exchange for a one week stay which means constant harassment from the Concierge about doing a tour. It got to the point that we were sneaking through the lobby trying to avoid her. Additionally, unless you are a resort owner, the "all inclusive" package in mandatory. Mixed reviews on the food. Some was pretty tasty but some was close to inedible. The "premium drinks" that are included in the package are any thing but! House liquor with mixes. Upcharge for a Corona seriously?? That being said, the rooms are spacious and the resort is very clean. The location on the beach is amazing and many of the bar and waitstaff are very accommodating and gracious. All things considered, if you can get a great deal on a room and want some extra space for family it's pretty good just don't go expecting amazing drinks or food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review about our resort.

We are sorry to learn you had a bad experience with the concierge. Please rest assured knowing this is not a behavior we encourage. Our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. However, we always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels available and we regret we didn't accomplish this goal with you.

We appreciate your comments about the room, we are sending all your comments to the management so actions can be taken.

We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in a ocean facing suite on the fifth floor which was really spacious.

The wifi is bearable so if you need to do serious work you will need to purchase extra in room internet

It's all inclusive however the servicing of the rooms was pretty poor, we had to call on 2 days from 4 to get the fridge restocked, and ten stock in the fridge is pretty average, ie crappy beers not corona no wine or spirits if your expecting that

The pools are good and large and family friendly and ten kids club is great

The service around the pool is average unless you start off with a tip

It's in a good location so you can walk down the road to shops and the Mexican restaurant out the front is great and is included in the package

The tour to chichen itza is worthwhile however next time I would drive out myself and hire a car so I don't have to go through the tour guides friends shop on the way in and back

The beach out the front is great for a swim

All in all we would go back and be smarter about how we use the facilities

It's good for all ages except romantic couples

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing