We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Flora
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Food, was good, the customer service was great. Rooms were large and clean. We love Cancun, their beaches were very nice. The drinks were good. We loved our stay here. My wife and I drink mixed drinks and they had some of the best we have had in the 4 stays in this area. You have to go to the markets they are fun to shop and dicker with the locals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudgecableguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,621
    895
    319
    120
    75
See reviews for
1,776
1,254
48
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Perfect in every way from the greetings of "Welcome Home" when you arrive to the positively pristine beach the Royal Sands is a wonderful place to stay.
We stay in an A B unit for a girlfriends beach week vacation, leaving our husbands at home.
The A unit has a master bedroom with a king bed, an open living dining room full sized kitchen. The living room TV entertainment wall contains two full sized Murphy beds. The B unit has two full sized beds, full bath, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. We do not purchase the all inclusive, but we do eat lunch on the property and purchase drinks on the beach during half price happy hour.
The staff speaks English.
The pools are spacious with plenty of sun and shade for those that had too much sun on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front and always request a unit on the upper three floors for the best view and breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I used an Interval exchange for a one week stay which means constant harassment from the Concierge about doing a tour. It got to the point that we were sneaking through the lobby trying to avoid her. Additionally, unless you are a resort owner, the "all inclusive" package in mandatory. Mixed reviews on the food. Some was pretty tasty but some was close to inedible. The "premium drinks" that are included in the package are any thing but! House liquor with mixes. Upcharge for a Corona seriously?? That being said, the rooms are spacious and the resort is very clean. The location on the beach is amazing and many of the bar and waitstaff are very accommodating and gracious. All things considered, if you can get a great deal on a room and want some extra space for family it's pretty good just don't go expecting amazing drinks or food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clyde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review about our resort.

We are sorry to learn you had a bad experience with the concierge. Please rest assured knowing this is not a behavior we encourage. Our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. However, we always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels available and we regret we didn't accomplish this goal with you.

We appreciate your comments about the room, we are sending all your comments to the management so actions can be taken.

We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in a ocean facing suite on the fifth floor which was really spacious.

The wifi is bearable so if you need to do serious work you will need to purchase extra in room internet

It's all inclusive however the servicing of the rooms was pretty poor, we had to call on 2 days from 4 to get the fridge restocked, and ten stock in the fridge is pretty average, ie crappy beers not corona no wine or spirits if your expecting that

The pools are good and large and family friendly and ten kids club is great

The service around the pool is average unless you start off with a tip

It's in a good location so you can walk down the road to shops and the Mexican restaurant out the front is great and is included in the package

The tour to chichen itza is worthwhile however next time I would drive out myself and hire a car so I don't have to go through the tour guides friends shop on the way in and back

The beach out the front is great for a swim

All in all we would go back and be smarter about how we use the facilities

It's good for all ages except romantic couples

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
277 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Sitting at home and thinking about a beach vacation this would be my ideal place. The location, the beach, the room were all just what you would want. There is only a limited number of places to eat on the all inclusive plan and some of the items have a surcharge, but the one main restaurant keeps having daily specials for dinner. There is also a pool/beach bar that serves lunch. We were able to take a free shuttle to the other hotels in the chain and eat at their restaurants, but after reading their menu and trying it one day, we thought the menus were pretty much the same or the different items had a surcharge. The surcharge was not a lot, but we just figure all-inclusive is just that. The full kitchen was fully stocked with pot, pans, silverware, and dishes. The room was large and was able to sleep 6 people. There is a mall right next store, and one just a few block down the road from that one that we walked to. We really enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious. We actually liked the lower level room better. We stayed on phase 2 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldBridgeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We visited the Royal Resorts, without All Inclusive, as we had booked before this became mandatory. The Royal Sands is very nice. Loved the facilities and the beach. We found the service by most staff to be exemplary! We were very happy with the food at most of the restaurants.

However, having been reading further reviews, I think that there are some real misconceptions. And, the Royal Resorts seem happy to be less than forthcoming with the details. For example, The Royal Roast coffee venue is not even included in the AI. Seriously, and AI where you can't visit the coffee shop???? That is almost insulting and disrespectful to guests. There are a LOT of things that are not included in the AI package. They proudly announce "Stay at one resort, enjoy 5"... Ummmm, NOT so fast. Even snacks and drinks at the nearby Royals are not included. Nothing at all. So, yes one is free to walk around the property... But I find the idea that one feels welcome to 'enjoy' these resorts, and/or feel welcome there, when not even a cold soda is included in the All Inclusive one has paid for... That is truly ridiculous. A recent review just above/below, which makes misleading statements about this situation, is actually what prompted me to post this review.

The fact that one can be siting there at The Verandah at breakfast, right next to people who are ordering nice al a carte dishes, but having actually paid for the All Inclusive, that is not included for you, and you are limited to the buffet... Again... ??????????

They proudly announce a variety of activities available... well, if one considers BINGO and water aerobics to be considered adequate options for enjoyable activities... One is lucky to find anything else. And, as far as entertainment... not so much. Pancho and Willie's I think is the one option. Unless they have changed this, even at Hacienda Sisal, there is no music/entertainment. Mariarchi only one night per week. We never even saw or heard any music at the pool. No other evening music or entertainment anywhere.

Again, this is a very nice resort.
And, if one does their homework, this can be booked at a very low rate.
The condo, versus a hotel room accommodation at most other resorts, is another big plus.
But, one should be very aware of the limitations and the lack of what is being offered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wishingonastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels available and we regret we didn't achieve that goal with you. We'll put extra attention on the opportunity areas you showed to us. Our management team is working on solutions for these and other subjects.

We hope to see you again soon and show you our improvements.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and location was great. Beautiful view of ocean!! However, we have felt harassed from check in. We were given green bands but the staff is constantly asking to see room keys. My friend had a green band on but was refused a drink because she didn't have the room key so what is the point of the band!!! The customer service was horrible starting with Alejandra!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our customers and we're sorry we didn't achieve this goal with you. We are sharing this information with the appropriated channels in order to improve our service.

We hope you've enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing