We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to vacation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great place to vacation!!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Royal Sands for vacation during week 42. We are not timeshare holders, but rather made our arrangements through Entertainment.com travel. We opted for the all inclusive package. We had an ocean-front condo and it was absolutely one of the most relaxing vacations we've had! The resort is beautiful right on the beach. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and are super friendly. The food was really very good too, with each night having a different "theme". The little touches they do to make your stay nice is appreciated -- making a swan out of your washcloths, providing robes for you, and turning down your bed at night and leaving you candy on the nightstand. The resort also provides you shuttles to the other Royal resorts in the area which was really very nice. Another nice thing about the resort is that we were not constantly being approached about buying a timeshare there. They explained that if we were interested we could schedule an appointment and left it at that. It was very refreshing compared to other timeshare places we had visited. The staff there were all exceptional! There were activities there for all ages there, including bingo, pool volleyball, zumba, etc. Everything was so nice and I really do recommend the Royal Sands for a vacation!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to go to ATMs that say "dispenses US Dollars"; if it doesn't say that, you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgfhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,548
    870
    311
    118
    74
See reviews for
1,722
1,214
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with friends who own week 43. Although we have no opinion on timeshare we had a wonderful time. The place is spotless inside and out. Very friendly staff and maid service is awesome. I really the food was just ok. You can also rent here with all inclusive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is our third stay at the Royal Sands. The 1st trip was a family reunion the 2nd trip was with our close friends and this last trip was with family. The Sands Resort is very well maintained, the common areas as well as the villas. Might I add the daily Maid Service is excellent. Everyone is friendly Staff as well as guests. The White Sandy Beach makes for a great back drop for happiness and letting stress go. This is also a place that Couples can enjoy and spend quality time together. The Staff welcomes you home because it truly is like a home away from home with all the perks of a wonderful vacation. All Villa's provide an Ocean view and the sound of the ocean. It doesn't get any better than this. Also, my Sister and I always hit the Jewelry Store the prices are reasonable and you can get some beautiful pieces. You are also just a bus ride from shopping, food and other activities in Cancun. Enjoy !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontiacman428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I always look forward to returning each year to this resort.
The staff is friendly & anxious to assist in any way they can.
If you are looking for a family-friendly or friend friendly place on the beach, then this is the place to go!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Desertconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The villas and facilities are very spacious and well equipped, lots of english speaking staff available so it is easy to get what you need. MOST Staff is very friendly and eager to help you. i have gone to The Royal Sands as a non-member 5 or 6 times, this was 1st time it was all-inclusive. Non-members are required to purchase the Refine all-inclusive package now and we really enjoyed the package once we found the servers who were willing to serve refine guests. We found some servers avoid all-inclusive guests (wearing wrist bands) I guess since the gratuity is already paid they do not want to serve these guests. We spoke to other all-inclusive guests who were experiencing the same thing. We gave each other suggested servers to look for in different areas which helped. Once you find the servers who are nice, they are really fantastic & then I gave extra tips for the really fantastic service. The servers who avoid helping refine guests might soon realize they can score an extra tip if they are nicer & helpful. Alejandro at La Veranda was incredible, he made our last dinner super special & I really appreciate him. I watched him with other customers as well he is just wonderful. The Royal Roast has good coffee (the restaurant not so much) adn the girl who works there mots dyas was really nice. I went to say good-bye and to get her name but she was not working on the Sunday I departed. I recommend an Ocean Front Villa/Suite, top floors have vaulted/tray ceilings, but if you walk stairs I suggest 3rd floor end unit (for example Villa 5350 in phase 2 is a top floor) so you have top floor space but only have to climb 3 flights of stairs. One section over and i think it is 8 or 9 floors on super slow elevators. Yoga at 8AM everyday, Pilates at 9AM Tues/Thur, beach volleyball at 3PM everyday, no need to wait for happy hour if all-inclusive. You will do a lot of walking in and around Cancun so eat, drink & ¡sé feliz!

Room Tip: I recommend an Ocean Front Villa/Suite, top floors have vaulted/tray ceilings, but if you walk stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M00seM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

If there was a single moment that defined the hotel, it was this: After a day at the amazing beach, we went back to our room to shower and get ready for dinner. My son hung is towel on the balcony railing to let it dry and about 20 second later the phone rang. It was security calling, asking us to please remove the towel from the railing as it looked bad for the other guests. Now as forgettable a moment this should have been, the call it stuck with me because it showed me the care that gets put into every facet of the vacation experience at this hotel. As for the rest of our trip, not a single complaint. Food was about as good as you can expect from an all-inclusive, rooms were comfortable and large, the staff were great, and the beach was amazing. What else could you ask for in a family vacation. Except for wifi in the room. That would have been good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
200 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The moment you arrive, you are given the greeting 'welcome home'. This place is fabulous. It is home, with daily maid service, great restaurants, entertainment, full time maintenance staff, grocery store with reasonable prices, great pools, and of course, that beautiful beach by the ocean. All employees are very friendly, most speak English.

Room Tip: Facing the resort from the ocean, the rooms on the left get shade, the rooms on the right get full s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5,625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
8,737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Vacatia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing