We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Royal Sands”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very good resort. The people and staff are very friendly. Resort is quite and peacful. We always get our skin face analysis which is free and has helped us greatly. The beach is great and very relaxing.

Room Tip: I like a room with the sun in the morning and shade afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your most recent stay at The Royal Sands and we're already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,614
    893
    318
    120
    75
See reviews for
1,771
1,251
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paintsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The perfect paradise! I have visited the Royal Sands on at least 7 occasions and have never been disappointed. The months I have been there are February, April, May, July, September and October. Never been disappointed and would highly recommend it. All the Royal Resort properties in Cancun are similar and are of the same quality and value, I just like the location of the Royal Sands the best.

Room Tip: All villas above the third floor have great views of pool and ocean. My favorite are any of the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1989MsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your most recent stay at The Royal Sands and we're already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Another fabulous vacation at the Royal Sands! I am an owner. We decided last year to trade to a resort in Cabo. The resort was so awful I came home miserable and couldn't wait to get "home" this year to the Royal Sands.
The staff is friendly, courteous, attentive. We had not been in 2 years and some of the staff still remembered our names!
Our room is clean, since our last visit they had changed out the mattresses, a new microwave, updated the drip pans on the stove. The main bedroom bathroom toilet was running and before we could even call the plumber was there to fix it. We had condensation leaking from the air conditioning because of the humidity we had during the week and they arrived within 10 minutes of our call, it was 930pm and then also changed a flickering light bulb. I have been going to the Royal Resorts since 2004 and have never come home dissatisfied.
The food is great, and has offerings for all price ranges. We have never had a problem getting reservations. No one asks if we are members when we call. I am surprised to hear the drinks are watered down, I would like a little less alcohol in mine. I watched the bar tenders serve the all inclusive guests, I saw nothing different from my service.
The pools are sparkling, you could eat off the pool decks, the chairs sparkle, they are changed at the end of every week. The beach is spotless. If you rise early enough you can see the staff picking up even the smallest of pieces of seaweed. At one point a waverunner came close to the beach and the security guard and life guard where down to the water in a flash to wave them out.
The SPA area is clean, attendants are always available and happy to assist with questions, towels, water, tea, etc. The massages are the best I have ever had! They have updated this area several times since we have been staying.
Several years ago we told them we were not interested in purchasing another week and have not been approached since. I am not thrilled with the idea of all inclusive guests as an owner, however, I do know that any behavior that is not family friendly is quickly addressed when brought to the managements attention.
My family and friends look forward to spending many more fabulous weeks at the Royal Sands with their staff!

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Than you for taking time to post about our resort.

We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience last year in another resort. However, we are always expecting you with arms wide open at royal Sands. As you know by now: we always strive to provide our customers with the highest satisfaction levels available and we find rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you.

We are already looking forward to welcome you next year and welcome you here, at your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was one of the best trips to the Carribean. The staff was attentive, food excellent, and resort was quiet and peaceful. Views incredible. On this trip I wanted to relax and that's exactly what we did. I will definitely come back to this resort. Can't say enough positive things about it. I did not try the spa but they do have the fish pedicures there!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your most recent stay at The Royal Sands and we're already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My second stay at The Sands (week 34) never a disappointment! I've been to The Sands once before with family and friends. Well I planned a trip for myself (Yes a women is safe in Cancun alone) from my flight to check-in everything was beyond fantastic! I was a bit apprehensive setting up my personal vacation but all was well. On arrival I was greeted with "Welcome Home" Check-in was fast and easy and my room was ready at 11 A.M. (didn't have to wait until 4 P.M.) Everyone from house keeping, beach security to the life guards where amazing! I can say that I will never stay anywhere else in Cancun! An absolute joy, Thank You again to The Royal Sands and the entire Royal Resorts Family!!!!

Room Tip: Phase 1 is more lively, Phase 2 is more laid back and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandBaby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your most recent stay at The Royal Sands and we're already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the Royal Sands with my family in Cancun. This was my first visit to Cancun and the Royal Sands. We typically stay at the Royal Haciendes. The Royal Sands was outstanding. The staff went above and beyond and made our stay comfortable and memorable. We released baby sea turtles on the beach, boogie boarded and snorkeled by day and saw sea turtles come up on the beach at night to lay their eggs. We took an ecotour from the hotel and swam with the whale sharks (an OUTSTANDING TRIP!) and also got to swim with a Manta Ray! I have never visited Mexico in August previously, however, I may visit in August every year from now on! An outstanding trip. I can not wait to visit the Royal Sands again!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are second to none! If you are staying in August, ocean front is the way to go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed that much your stay at The Royal Sands. We always strive to provide our customers with the highest satisfaction levels and is rewarding to learn we achieved that goal with you.

We are already looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have been an owner/"member" at the Royal Sands since it opened ... the facilities are magnificent, the beach is absolutely the best, the pools, spa, and other amenities cannot be beaten..

HOWEVER, since they've added the "all inclusive" vacation package for non-owners, the service has gone WAY down, the food quality has followed, ... and, of course, the quality of the experience has suffered.

WORSE YET is the obnoxiously incessant need to try to SELL something to someone who has (1) already bought; and (2) JUST WANTS TO RELAX !!! If the Royal Resorts want to build newer and nicer resorts all up and down the coast of the Yucatan - bless them, but don't keep trying to sell them to me. I am not a buyer - I am an OWNER. I don't want to be pressured with one program or another - most importantly, I don't appreciate my vacation time being taken up with misrepresentations of what "new programs are available to members"...

This was once a beautiful resort with good food, great facilities and fabulous service. Since they have initiated the "all inclusive" program the food and drinks have suffered, the service has suffered and, by extension, the entire experience has suffered. I will still return, but only because I am already an owner.

Specifics available upon request.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,905 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing