We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything About This Hotel Was Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #22 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 6, 2013

There's a lot of positive things to be said about this hotel from the staff, the location, the food, and the service. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the staff was very friendly and always eager to help. There was a variety of food which could be ordered pool side and at the on-site restaurant which features a buffet and menu items. In front of the resort is the Sisal restaurant which also has good food and service. The resort has multiple large swimming pools with swim up bars, good pool side service, and free wifi. Located within the resort is a gift shop, small grocery store, pharmacy, doctor, and sports bar. The resort is next to a luxury mall and only minutes away from all the downtown shops and restaurants (we used the city bus which stops right next to the resort. The bus is also fast and just under one U.S. dollar per person). I would definitely not hesitate to return to the same resort.

Room Tip: Phase 1 facing the main swimming pool has better internet service.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoelG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resorts.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed our resort as much as you did. We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels available and we're glad to learn we achieved this goal with you.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,334)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,739 - 2,745 of 4,338 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I booked a month in advance and I had a good deal on my room. I think that if you book too close to your stay you probably won't have as good of a deal to where the all inclusive is a good deal. At $187 per night, mine was a good deal. At $300, not so much.

I loved the Mexican restuarant that was on site. The restaruant by the pool was ok. Both were immaculate with great service. However, Mexican food and margaritas were noticeably better at the Mexican place. The place by the pool was more of a general restaraunt. I screwed up when calculating my tip when I mixed up the exchange rate. The waiter came out and found me to confirm my tip amount. I was very happy with this as I did not want to leave a $80 tip.

The room was immaculate and cleaned very well. The bed is soft. Not a pillow top, rather one that you sink into. Lots of pillows. Extra blankets are available. Very easy to sleep at night. I read that there was sound proofing of some type in the rooms.

Every morning there people by the pool cleaning everything to make sure that everything was perfect. At night they have a tractor that rakes the sand on the beach. Very clean sand because of it. The water is blue and pretty just like in the pics. Not crystal clear, but blue and pretty.

The on-site travel service, Thomas Moore, was a big help with the transfers back and forth to the airport.

My overall impression is that the staff seriously cares and wants to take care of you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels and it's rewarding to learn we achieve that with you. We know that TripAdvisor's community will appreciate your comments as much as we do and will follow your recommendations.

We are already looking forward to welcome you here, at your home away from home.

War regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our week at the resort. We were a bit worried about what the food would be like since we booked all-inclusive. The reality was the food and drink were very good (great at Captains cove, Sisal, Char Hut, La Veranda; good at El Conquistador) at the resort and at the restaurants we visited at sister-properties. If you like to eat and drink, the all-inclusive is a good deal at this resort. The service at all of the properties was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and generally comfortable (beds were a bit firm for some in our group). We wish the second room in the villa had queen beds vs. double beds...but we knew this going into our stay. Finally, the only complaint was in regards to the constant push to attend a time-share sales presentation by the concierge. A couple in our group are owners at this resort (though this trip was not part of their timeshare) and we elected to use their name as the contact for the resort. Had we known we would be pushed everyday to attend the sales pitch we would not have used the member's name as the resort contact.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukefpnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post about our resort.

We are glad to learn you had such a great time during your last visit to Royal Sands. We always strive to provide the best service available at our resorts and it's rewarding to learn you enjoyed not only the facilities but also the restaurants. We will put extra attention to our sales procedures since we do not want to interfere with your vacation. However, since several new programs are being launched and we consider this information is very important for our members.

We hope you enjoyed your time with us and we're already looking forward to welcome you again here, at your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I treat this place like a rented apartment, just ignore all the salespeople and buy your food at the supermarket. Take advantage of the resort shuttle to move between the Royal properties. Great beach, altough the one at RCI (which you can get to using the shuttle) is a bit more suitable for kids. The Murphy beds are great.
If Roberto still works as a PR there for the nightclubs the wisest thing to do is search for him and befriend him since day one, he knows what day is the perfect one to go to each distinct nightclub and also gets you great deals on entrance and open bars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay at Royal Sands. We're sure that TripAdvisor's Community will value your comments as much as we do.

We hope to welcome you again soon, during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My cousin and I checked in and were told for our all inclusive week we had to pre-pay on our credit card for the week. We were told by Wendy there was a 4 night minimum. We actually stayed 4 nights. Upon checkout July 10th, we were told to look for a refund which we have yet to see! I called Mexico and I Do have receipts. I was told when I called it was processed yesterday. This was last week. This week I have still yet to see any refund. When I went through Interval to have them call for me today I was told by front desk that first "they don't see it" then the guy "found" it and said he sees the manager Rosa is reviewing it. What is there to review? Oh and no toll free number to call and I'll give them 2 more days before I go through my financial institution.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicnae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We would like to apologize for this situation which is completely beyond our capabilities. Our financial institution has been notified and is processing the refund and will notify your financial institution and instruct them how to proceed with the refund as soon as possible. However, this is a slow process and sometimes it can take more than we would like to. We offer you a sincere apology since everything that can be done from our side is already been done.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

And they mean it. I've been here many times and except for slow Internet, have never had a problem.
The upkeep is great compared with some timeshares in Florida where the furnishings are old and worn.
I'm sorry they chose to go all inclusive. Their food is great, mind you, but we always like to try local restaurants as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to announce that your comments have been addressed and our wifi service is now under major improvements which will allow us to provide you with a better service during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As in all Mexico in general and specifically in this part of the country, courtesy, service and attitude from personnel is a plus: always at your service, always with a smile. I.- This is a resort that operates regularly under a 7 week stay either in an all inclusive plan or not. "Villas" ( as they call units) are divided in two so you can rent :1)only the one with a king bedroom, bath, huge closet with safe box, kitchen , dining- living room with table for 4 and 2 Murphy beds and a huge terrace with a nice view ( all have sea views) that has a table for 4 and a lounge or 2) just the adjacent room with 2 double beds and not a terrace but a small veranda, bath, huge closet with safe box and coffee/minibar/microwave appliances or 3) all the villa which means maximum capacity for 8. It´s worth mentioning that the villa has 2 independent entry doors in case you rent only one part of it and has a communicating door between both areas. This is an old construction ( more than 20 years old) and not very fancy but very well mantained , clean and huge. II.-The resort was built in two phases of 3 buildings each so you have 2 big swimming pools and a lot of palapas at the gorgeous beach. Royal Resorts has other properties in the area and also in Playa del Carmen ( around 40 minutes away by car) and as a guest, you have the opportunity to spend the day ( and get the same services) in whichever you like , transportation provided.III.- Concept for this resort is to provide you with everything you may need within its premises: car rental agency, tours agency, spa, very good mini market, souvenir and general store, tennis courts, restaurants, laundry and parking (free). Cooks and nannies are also provided at demand ( I don´t know the rates) IV.- Drinks and food are very reasonabily priced relatively to average prices in Cancun. You can travel as an all inclusive or cook/have your meals at the villa. Good news is you can bring your snacks and drinks to the beach or pool just following house rules ( no glass - plastic or disposable plates and cups-, all taken in coolers and no garbagge allowed - each palapa has a garbagge bin and there are bigger ones all around).V.-Location? great. You are just next door from "Plaza Kukulcan" mall ( duty free stores of all kind in a roofed area) , a 10 minute walk ( or a 2 stop ride in the local city buses)from the most popular open door mall ( with restaurants, shops and cinemas)called "La Isla" or a 15 minute bus ride from the "night life" area. Also, you have at least 6 of the best restaurants in the area just minutes away. Nice and easy.
VI.- Also very thoughtful is the fact that you don´t have to carry any money within the premises. Your villa key is also your credit card. You pay for everything with it so you can relax leaving your cash and credit cards at the safe box in your room.
Only thing I dissaprove is the fact that one rule specified since the moment you arrive is not respected: reserving/holding deck chairs/palapas for more than one hour. People send cooks, nannies or whoever very early in the mornig to hold palapas or a series of deck chairs for hours till they arrive (around 11 o´clock) and the personnel at those spots do nothing about it. It is very unpleasant, an abuse, to get to the beach at 9 30 in the morning and find that all palapas at the beach are "taken". I expressed my anger to one of the employees at the beach and he said they could do nothing about it as they don´t want to have any trouble with the guests because some of them get really angry if they arrive and find out their things were taken away. This is then a complaint to the resort administration and a warning for guests. Make the rule work: go to the resort manager and demand the rule is applied.
I repeat : this is not a fancy resort, construction and furniture are old fashioned but it very clean and well mantained

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view but higher floors avoid pool noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yomeramera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We really like to read complete reviews as yours since they give us lots of feedback from our customers. You know we always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels, and we are sorry to learn there's still one more star to earn from you. We will strive so in your next visit we turn that 4 stars rating into 5. We do have a policy regarding the reservation of beach chairs and we will continue to enforce it. We appreciate your information on this matter and will send it to the appropriated channels so that our service may improve.

We certainly hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,000 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
1.9 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 176 in Cancun
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $214 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing