We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
$336
$329
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$372
$292
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$508
$412
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$263
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$465
$342
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$538
$387
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$315
$224
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$495
$328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$604
$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$468
$311
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,135)
Filter reviews
5,135 results
Traveler rating
3,378
1,106
401
150
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,378
1,106
401
150
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla verandahacienda sisalchar hutcaptain's covephase iitime sharethomas moorepersonal conciergewelcome partysports barroyal mayanfull kitchenroom keytimeshare ownersall inclusive optionwelcome homebedroom villa
Filter
Updating list...
3,520 - 3,525 of 5,135 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This resort has changed dramatically over the last few years so when reviewing these reviews be sure that they are current.

First off the drink menu at the pool bar does not list prices for drinks. When asked the servers most of the time do not know the prices themselves and have to go ask.

This resort counts towels and it is very difficult to get more towels than one per person.

On the pool deck their are not enough umbrellas. When requested the security staff said they would look into it and get back to us which did not happen.

The pool in phase II was full of kids. Kids are to be in the kids pool. Security continually allowed kids throughout splashing water and being very loud. Rules were not enforced.

On a positive note the beach is great. It is very well taken care of with the sand groomed nightly.
The staff is very friendly and most know english very well although I attempted to speak as much spanish as possible. The gym/spa was the highlight of the resort! Great sauna, jacuzzi, showers, and weights. The coffee shop was great as well.

Room Tip: The rooms are very basic. Nothing very special to speak of.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaredjamison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have stayed at all of the Royal Resports in Cancun and are an owner at the Simpson Bay Resort in St. Maarten which is affiliated with Royal Resorts. Their slogan is, "In Search of Excellence" and the management and staff really do seem to strive for this goal.

The Royal Sands is probably the premier location in Cancun among the five resorts located here.The onsite restaurants are very good and have a nice variety among gourmet (read, "expensive"), inexpensive and in-between. Best of all the villas are very comfortable so you won't mind staying in and preparing your own meals some nights to relax before the next beach day. They have an in-house travel agency, Thomas Moore, with whom you can arrange airport transfers from home and an assortment of various day tips and activities.

The large pool is spectacular and the entrire resort is well suited to families. The beach is exquisite and only a few steps from the pool. It is clear management tries to foster a family atmosphere while allowing for a reasonable amount of "fun" with two swim up bars int he main pool.

What has always amazed me is that staff performing even the most menial, tedious tasks do so diligently. They really do appreciate the value tourism brings to the area and do not want to risk seeing it diminish.

We will return to Cancun and hopefully a Royal Resort here many more times in the future.

Room Tip: The onsite store has a good variety of essentials but you may want to plan a start of the vacation run to Walmart downtown, to stock up on items you need a lot of, and save a lot of money.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We value your kind words and we find them very rewarding. We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction available and we're glad to learn you've really enjoyed your stay. As you point out: we are always In Search of Excellence and we know that the hard work done by our staff is the greatest component to the greatest results.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We love the Royal Sands in Cancun! It is a beautiful destination spot, with the beautiful aqua blue water and the white sand beaches! We enjoyed staying at the hotel because the rooms are lovely and the grounds and areas of the hotel are so clean. The restaurants included in the all inclusive package are wonderful! We didn't take advantage of the all inclusive but we did eat at some of the restaurants offered and the food was excellent!
You can't go wrong with the Royal Resorts Sands Hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 503gaylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words and sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Cancun. We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have been going to this resort for 6 years and while the location and the oceanfront view hasn't changed the amenities and service have gone so far downhill it was a chore to stay there. The linens are so thin I thought I was at Motel 6. We used to enjoy "steak night" but since they have gone all-inclusive the food is mediocre and the steak was inedible. The drinks are in smaller cups and there is no alcohol in them. They do not provide any toiletries or paper towels. There are many other choices that offer much more value for the money and have the ocean view.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cathleen Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. Nevertheless, we always strive to provide the highest level of satisfaction and we regret that we didn't achieve this goal with you. We are sharing this information with the management so we can examine all of your comments as a team and provide a prompt answer to insure this perception is not shared by all of our guests and visitors.

We sincerely hope you've enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Cancun.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We split a week of our timeshare and traded for the Royal Sands and only stayed 3 nights,it was nice everything is so clean,employees are very nice. We wanted a quick get away just to hang and relax which we did we spent our time at the pool in phase 2 because its much more laid back. Was disappointed with the servers at the pool unless your young and cute forget getting a drink we had to make our way to the swim up bar, they took good care of us at the bar. You have to do the all inclusive plan which if you do all inclusive before you will be disappointed its strange way they have it set up, why put a band on you when they take your key every time.Over all it was a very relaxing 3 days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happy2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels in our customers and we're sorry to learn we didn't achieve this goal with you. Please rest assured knowing that we don't promote nor encourage this kind of behavior within our staff and that we'll conduct an investigation to stop this and insure none of our customers share this perception of our resort.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation at Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews