We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Royal Sands was again a beautiful and accommodating resort in 2013. We visited for the first time in 2012 and loved the experience, and other than some cooler than normal days, 2013 was every bit as good. The villas are large and allow for meal prep and indoor entertainment. The spa provides yoga and zumba classes. The facilities are beautiful But the star of the show is the beach and the waves and the sun... The co-stars are the the staff who are attentive and gracious. The location in the hotel zone allows for walking distance meals at what I would consider 5-star restaurants. This is a prime destination for anyone who wants to experience a luxurious vacation in a top-of-the-line resort. One suggestion is to improve the wi-fi. Although it is provided for no extra charge, the service was spotty even when inside the villas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TJA7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words which we find very rewarding. We know our staff works very hard in order to keep the facilities clean and enjoyable and also attending our customers needs. On the other hand: we are taking note of your suggestion and we'll make sure this is read by the appropriate channel so we can improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back here at your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,993 - 2,999 of 4,503 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have owned at the Royal Sands for 12 years. I love how they say "Welcome Home" when we get there. Each year we meet new friends. I love the Sands becasue the staff is wonderful and the resort is so clean and comfortable. Everything you need is there. Restaurants, shops, pools, spa, sports bar... The location is fantastic. Right in the middle of the strip by great restaurants and shopping. We had a great time and will count the days until we can return.

Room Tip: all of the roomave great locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

Is an honor for us to have such loyal members for all these years. We cannot be anything but thankful about this. We're glad to learn you find our Resort to fulfill your needs completely. We'll make sure to continue putting the same enthusiasm in all our duties to keep customers as satisfied as you.

We hope to welcome you again soon here in your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have traveled all over the Caribbean and Mexico but oddly enough this was our first trip to Cancun. Boy did we pick the right place. We asked for an ocean front room and got exactly that on the third floor. The view was awesome and we could listen to the waves crash all night long. The place has great security and we felt totally safe. It was my wife and 12 year old daughter and me.

This is a time share facility so if you are not an owner and you book directly then they put you on the all inclusive plan. That was ok with us, we are not too big on food anyway but actually found the food to be good and most of the time the service was great. The biggest annoyance was that even though you have a wristband you have to use your room key to get drinks and such from any of the bars. To me this as unnecessary.

We had some sort of concierge who stopped by a couple times but I could not actually figure out her purpose. She said she was supposed to have some free gifts for us but unfortunately forgot them, then she wanted us to have breakfast with time share sales agent. I said no thanks. One day it rained so she asked if I would again talk to sales agent, I said sure send him over and she called back and said he was busy and couldn't do it. No problem by me.

The facility is beautiful. the room is great, the pool is awesome, the staff friendly. The beach awesome and you can walk up and down for miles. Had some big waves too and we rode wave boards on them which was great. They had an activities staff that was very nice and played games there around the pool. Most of the crowd is older, a lot of retirees for sure but it was still very fun and I am now a big fan of Royal Resorts. Planning to try the Playa Del Carman location soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good but ocean front are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 600BillF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are very honored to host you during your first trip to Cancun. We sincerely hope you've enjoyed your whole Royal Experience during this visit. We are aware of the hard work done by our staff and we are glad to learn you appreciate it too. We know that being a mixed use resort does lend us to a few challenges and we'll make sure your suggestions regarding our service are read by the appropriate channels in order to improve our service.

We certainly hope to meet you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Royal Sands in Cancun, Mexico is located between the lagoon and the ocean. The best beach in Cancun! There is nothing like waking to the sound of the sea and a glorious sunrise. A most beautiful resort that our family has enjoyed for over 10 years. Choose from two huge pools to relax by. Always clean, staff is friendly (always welcome us "Home") food is awesome and weather is mostly perfecto. Located next to the Kukulkan Mall and some of the best restaurants on the strip. A spa on site for massages and skin treatments. A gym for those who must workout while on vaca is on site also. Safe, beautiful, and lots to do, this is is a first rate resort.

Room Tip: Whole villas available as well as lock-offs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miyuki e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words which we find very rewarding for the hard work done by staff members who are always willing to go the extra mile to obtain the highest level of satisfaction in all of our customers. We're glad to learn you found that our resort fulfills all your needs. Is an honor for us to have such wonderful members as part of our Royal Family.

We sincerely hope you've enjoyed your stay with us and we're already looking forward to the next chance to welcome you to your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

As always this place is extremely clean and the staff is excellent. But, I agree with other reviewers that it is loosing it's top place in Cancun. It seem the resort's management is the cause. This place should not be an all inclusive!! I don't care what the management says, they are slowly pulling down this great place. I hope the higher-ups rethink this.

Room Tip: Try getting a villa in building E, nice view of the sunrise and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate to have such a participative community among us. We know there's a lot of things yet to be learned reason why we appreciate your comments and we'll make sure this are read by the appropriate channels in order to improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend one week at The Royal Sands and then one week at The Royal Haciendas. We were aprehensive after some of the reviews regarding the speed of service because of the all inclusive guests but we did not have any problems, the service was excellent, the suite we got was absolutely gorgeous. We are members at The Royal Haciendas and we requested an unit comparable to our penthouse unit there. The manager at the Royal Sands contacted us to assure us they would do their best to accomodate our request and they did. There are limited choices for dinner so we decided to eat at the local restaurants instead. the beach is nice but a little rough compared to other much calmer beaches. You will get a workout on the beach. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACR_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words and we're sure this great community will find them helpful when planning their Cancun trip.

We hope to welcome you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time in Cancun and at a Royal Resorts facility. Went as a guest of friends in an owners room. Great location in Cancun, nice beach and pools. Room was cleaned daily and cleaned very well. Food was great at the next door Mexican rest., as well as at the on-site restaurant for a couple of breakfasts and a dinner. Had a great dinner at the Captains Cove (Saw a few crocodiles). Had a great trip to Chichen Itza (One of the 7 Modern wonders of the modern world) and would certainly recommend seeing the Mayan site. The site was cheapened a bit, in my opinion, by the large number of souvenir vendors on the site. Only criticism at the Royal Sands was the WiFi didn't work. Looking forward to future visits. Also, not a criticism of Royal, but we had a steak dinner at the Ruths Chris just down the road and it was just "OK". Needs to be more than just OK for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We feel honored to be your hosts during your first visit to Cancun. We know there's no second chances for first impressions and we're glad to know you received the service you've come to expect from Royal Resorts. We appreciate your comments and will make sure they're read by the appropriate channels so that our service may improve. We're glad you enjoyed visiting Chichen Itza since we're proud of our ancient mayan heritage.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.9 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,072 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $216 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing