We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Family Vacation, Don't Use Gray Line Transportation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Detroit,MI.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Memorable Family Vacation, Don't Use Gray Line Transportation.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

First time to this timeshare resort with family of 5, 3 young adult children, mom & dad all-inclusive pkg. It was awesome from start to finish. All employees at this resort should hold there heads high, you all impressed us. The room was spacious for us, mattress in both bedrooms could use to be replaced, seemed worn out to us. All other features of the 2-bedroom ste were great. The frig & mini bar stocked with pop, water & beer. Maid service did a great job for us. The pools were heated which was a big plus. The pool bar & Char Hut was awesome. The Beach waiter service was fantatsic. The beach chairs & papolas were plentiful. The ocean never disappoints, we boggie boarded which was a blast. The spa was a nice touch. The resturant on site LaVeranda was without a doubt supreme service & great food. Surcharge items where worth the extra. Slidelines bar was fun for adults before bed. Captain's Cove(off-site) but included was yummy for a sunset dinner, limited menu. Market on site a plus. Use Thomas Moore Transportation to & from airport, best prices. We prepaid roundtrip transfers for the entire family from GRAY LINE, I highly recommend, stay AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. We prepaid & have a written confirmation from them and when we arrived they wanted more money, said we didn't pay enough. Hotel service read confirmation paperwork and agreed that they should honor our voucher, they called on our behalf and they wouldn't budge. So we made other arrangements to get back to the airport with Thomas Moore at $40.00 one way for six people. GRAY LINE charged $133.00 one way. This is a scam and this company should be put right out of business. It's these type of companies that hurt the tourism industry by profiting off tourists, bad practice.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are convinced our staff is the most important part of our company, second only to our customers. We know the big effort they put on keeping the facilities clean and nice for you to enjoy and we're really happy to learn you appreciated their hard work. We're also glad that you enjoyed our restaurants so much.

Finally: we know this travel community will appreciate your comments regarding third party services. Thank you for sharing.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,665
    917
    328
    126
    78
See reviews for
1,812
1,283
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stay here 2-3 times a year, even when it's not my own weeks on the beachfront. I prefer to stay in the beachfront villas; love sleeping to the sounds of the surf and watching the glorious sunrises.
The spa is a peaceful refuge and appreciated on the rain days or in the evening.
For families, the groundfloor units are the best.
The location is conveniently located close to many restaurants and shops.
The quality of food and service at the on site Sissal restaurant is top notch.
Having the option to cook in the full size kitchen or go out is good.
I continue to make new friends every visit.
I will continue to come here for many years.

Room Tip: The staff are very helpful and want to help; use them when you need help. The security do a good job...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

Thank you very much for your kind words which we find truly inspiring. We're always striving in order to achieve the highest level of satisfaction in all of our members and guests. We're sure your fellow travelers will find your advices very useful when they're looking for vacation options in Mexican Caribbean.

We truly hope to welcome you again soon here at your home away from home in Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a fantastic vacation at the Royal Sands. The villa was very nice, met our needs and was very clean. The staff was very friendly and made sure that we had a great stay. Unfortunately, the wi-fi service was very poor. The service as fine when we were some of the first to connect in the morning, later in the day it was slow at best. We rated service at 4 instead of 5 only because of the Internet service available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkb170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

We are always listening to our customers feedback and yours won't be an exception. We will pass this comments to the appropriate channels so that our service may improve.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay in Cancun and sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We all enjoyed our family vacation thru an Interval exchange. The rooms and entire resort was very clean and immaculate, staff was always cleaning and very friendly. Kidz Club had some nice activities daily that my 11 year old granddaughter participated in, pottery painting, making a pinata, making a beaded bracelet, painting. Pools were clean, beach was fabulous. We were all inclusive and food was excellent. We usually ate at the pool bar for lunch and La Veranda for dinner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandmommala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to achieve high levels of satisfaction in all of our customers and is rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad also your granddaughter had a great time at Kids Club.

We hope to welcome you again soon during your next visit to Cancun.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming here (Royal Sands Phase II) for several years and have been very happy. However, this year's experience was completely different!!!

The one good thing: This resort is spic and span clean!!! However....

It was obvious from Day 1 that something had changed. The staff was indifferent, some openly rude toward us, and the service was beyond terrible at the pool restaurants at BOTH Phase I and Phase II.

Our typical experience consisted of ordering a soda or salsa, for example, and either receiving them 45 minutes later...after asking 4 times for them...or not at all! Many times there was no service at the pool for drinks so I'd have to go find them for myself. Then be prepared to wait an hour for your tab to be closed out at the end of the day.

When I did receive food, the quality was awful. I got so sick of COLD french fries I could scream. It was no use sending them back....believe me, I tried.

One morning we checked in at the podium outside at the Phase I (Veranda Restaurant) pool restaurant for breakfast. We were told we'd have to wait 10 minutes for a table even though I counted 14 empty tables! The lady who then sat us was extremely rude and left us feeling like we were imposing on her.

When we needed a cab, there was no one stationed at that podium. We went back inside to the front desk to ask about this. We were told that employee had gone to a room to help someone else get settled. So, hire more staff!!!!

Bottom line... Awful, awful service! After many happy years here, we will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HHS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

We are sorry to learn you didn't receive the top notch service which you've come to expect from Royal Resort. Rest assured this is not a behaviour we encourage in our staff members and we're conducting an investigation to understand what happened and to guarantee that will never happen again to any of our customers.

Please accept our sincere apologies. We honestly hope you enjoyed the rest or your vacation on Mexican Caribbean.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was very impressed with the property. The service is excellent. The grounds and the rooms are very clean. This is a true, high end resort. The restaurants affiliated with the Royal Resorts are excellent and reasonably priced. The happy hour drink specials at the pool bar can't be beat. I loved sitting on the balcony, looking at the water, taking a walk on the beach and relaxing at the pool. I didn't even want to leave the resort. I highly recommend the Royal Sands. It was one of the most relaxing vacations I've ever taken. I will do separate reviews of the spa and the restaurants but please know they are top notch, too.

Room Tip: I loved being on the first floor, close to the pool in phase I of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCOTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction to our guests and customers and is rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay at Royal Sands.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Webster, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We bought our first Royal (it was then called Vacation clubs) in 1979 and never stopped coming to Cancun. We have had units at Royal Mayan, Royal Islander and Royal Sands and have never had a bad experience. The restaurants are all good; love the deli and The Spa is just excellent. You can do as many activities, or as few as you like. The staff is so friendly, we look forward every year to seeing many of the same faces. There is a safe and secure feeling so we have no worries about visiting Mexico.

Room Tip: Second floor gives a good view of the pool and excellent for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

It's an honor for us to have members like you in our family for so many years. We appreciate your kind words about staff and facilities. We're sure TripAdvisor's community will find your comments to be very useful about not only the Royal Sands but about Mexico too.

We are looking forward to welcome you again here at your home away from home.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,030 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
8.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing