We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting every February for the past 8 years. The beach is pristine, the grounds clean beyond compare and the staff exceptional in their helpfulness and willingness to go the extra mile. The units look and feel like I am the first guest using them. Personally, I don't want an all inclusive experience, so I am glad not to be required to eat all my meals there. The hotel zone has enough good restaurants and the city of Cancun has fabulous restaurants for all pocket books. Taxi rides are expensive, but the bus is very convenient. If visiting Cancun and opting to stay in the hotel zone, I can't imagine a better place than the Royal Sands.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndreaSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are convinced our staff is the most important part of our company second only to our customers. We value their hard work as much as you do. On behalf of everyone working at Royal Sands we appreciate your kind words.

We are already looking forward to continue welcoming you to your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,560
    873
    314
    118
    74
See reviews for
1,734
1,220
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just got home from 4 nights with a cousin/friend and her dad at the Royal Sands 1 in Cancun Mexico. The resort was absolutely fantastic. We pretty much stayed at the resort the whole 4 days, restaurant on the property was excellent, an express restaurant on the property helped me stay with a fast salad for lunch. The spa and gym again helped me stay in my regiment that I'm used to, and what beautiful facilities those were. What a beautiful spa, very clean! The palapas were reserved by Dad early in the morning, and it was a great treat to have that at our service. Most everyone we dealt with was more than accommodating and there to serve us. I was so impressed with how friendly and welcoming everyone was. The sand was cool on our feet, the water beautiful, the huge conk shells were the highlight of my trip, digging them out of the wet sand. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The staff who ran the zumba class, the water aerobics class and the bingo were a lot of fun and so energetic. We looked forward to seeing them at each class those days. I enjoyed every minute. The facilities were great and the villas are well equipped and well cleaned every day. All of the little touches like folding the toilet paper, rolling the towels, leaving extra soap and making our beds is priceless when you are on vacation.

Room Tip: great view from the 6th floor of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s89hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post about our resort.

We are happy to learn you found our resort to fulfill your needs. We'll make sure to take one of those water aerobics classes because they seem to be very exhilarating! Also: we're glad you appreciate our staff's hard work. We are convinced they're the basis of the Royal Experience by giving always the extra mile with a smile on their faces.

We look forward to welcome you again here, at your home away from home.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just returned two days ago from this resort. I visited on an II trade that was done prior to the mandatory all inclusive deadline. This property is immaculate! Very, very well maintained. The units are cleaned every day except Sunday. The lock-out unit that I was in had a coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge. Two pools that adequately meet the needs of the guests. The resort was at capacity due to school vacation week in the northeast but it was never too crowded. You do have to rise early (between 5 and 6 AM) to reserve a prime beach or pool location.
Inter-resort shuttles were very convienent as was the grocery store that is on the property. You have to place a $500 credit card deposit at check in. The resort stores and restaurants don't accept cash so you have to charge it against your credit card deposit. The Thomas More Travel company was very reasonable and easy to use for providing airport transportation. Only cost $20.00 round trip. Highly recommend this resort. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the best service to our customers and is rewarding to learn you found our resort to fulfill your expectations. We're convinced our staff is the most important part of our company, second only to our guests. They maintain the facilities as you found them and we appreciate that as much as you do.

We hope to welcome you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Ca.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well even though I read bad things about the all inclusive change we gave it a chance. We booked before the all inclusive requirement so we didnt have to pay for it..... If we did I would not go there. We have been going there every year for the last 5 or 6 years. We used to love it. The resort is still nice and well kept. But the mandatory all inclusive is a rip off. $150.00 per day.... wow. Then there is an upcharge for lots of items on the menus...... Funny I didnt see many people there wearing wristbands so I dont know why they continue it. If you read here nobody likes the All Inclusive. Like I said we didnt pay for it. However the service has gone down hill in their resteraunts and Sisals. The portions have gotten smaller. The food quality has gone down hill. The prices have not gone down. Sisals is very expensive for what you get. LaVeranda is the same. Portions were small and the food is not nearly as good as in the past. Service was slow in LaVeranda but ok in Sisals. Some nights they only offer a buffet and no menu in La Veranda. We had the Asian buffet. HORRIBLE and EXPENSIVE. We started eating off resort and that was fine as long as we didnt have to buy the AI. In the future we would have to buy it........ Unless they fix this and get rid of the mandatory AI we will have to find a new resort to call home. Glad I never bought a time share. I had really considered it. So Glad I didnt do it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhinomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

We are always listening to our customer's feedback and yours won't be an exception. We've forwarded this comments to the responsible Manager who will discuss them with the management team and they will find a way to improve our service. As you point out, being a mixed use resort does lend us to a few challenges, nevertheless we always strive to achieve the highest levels of satisfaction and we are sorry to learn you didn't felt this way.

We thank you for noticing the hard work from the staff members. We're convinced they're the most important part of the company, second only to our customers. They put a face in our company and most important: a face with a smile on it.

We'd like to point out that the Taxi Rates are not under our control. The Taxi rates are specified by the taxi drivers union and Royal Resorts has no power to change them.

We are looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Cancun and to this resort. What a gorgeous place! The people are friendly and helpful, the rooms are great, and although this sometimes is an issue when you stay away from home, the bedding and mattresses are exceptional! There is a market on the first floor that has almost everything you could need, food and beverages, including a mail drop box. There is a pharmacy in the market which comes in handy. The pool is huge and well maintained as is the beach area. Shuttles are easy to use to take you to other Royal resorts and the city bus is convenient for rides to malls etc. This was one great vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesthebeach07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate you kind words. Is very rewarding to know our efforts are leading in the right direction to achieve the highest possible satisfaction in our customers. We are glad to learn you appreciate the amenities and you got the most from the Royal Experience.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean

Warm Regards.

Cristobal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The resort is not all inclusive, they have extra charge on the bettler thing that they offer, The amenity,is very boring, they have no nightclubs, food is averaje, most things in the buffet seems heated old. they use cheap alcohol for the drinks, if you want good ones, then has to pay extra. Everything closes at 11pm and and has nothing near entertainments, their is no nighclub, I think that there are better all inclusive resort for the valuein the Cancun hotel zone. I'll look for better deal.

Room Tip: This hotel is very expensive for what it offers, and at 11pm everything is closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hector M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges nevertheless we always strive for our customer's satisfaction and we're sorry to learn we didn't achieve it with you. Rest assured we will review your feedback with Resort's Managers and will find ways to improve our service.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

LOVE CANCUN/RIVIERA MAYA area! I have been going to this resort since it opened and other Royal resorts before this one opened. My parents own 2 weeks timeshare here. We didn't use the All-inclusive feature, since they have a full condo unit with full kitchen and full grocery store right on site, with excellent variety. To give you some background I have been to Cancun/Riviera Maya area around 20 times. I LOVE all-inclusive resorts. But I didn't use that feature here. The Royal Sands is an excellent resort. It is beautiful, exceptionally clean, friendly, responsive, great locations for walking or talking the bus/taxi around Cancun, beautiful blue ocean and white sands, and great activity team. I would highly recommend it, with a few reservations if these matter to you.
The internet doesn't work well in the rooms. The hotel doesn't have nightly entertainment like other all-inclusives. I don't think they have the all-inclusive thing down yet. . . they are working on it. They should not impose the all-inclusive feature and give people an option if they want it or not. You can only avoid the all-inclusive if you purchase a week directly from an owner. If you go through Royal resorts directly or Expedia, they require it. Having gone to many other all-inclusives they don't have this working well yet. Lot of extra surcharges for certian foods. Again, it is a great resort! If you have any questions, feel free to email me, I am willing to share what I know about the Royals and other All Inclusives in Cancun/Riveria Maya area.

Room Tip: All rooms have some form of ocean view. I would suggest a higher floor 5 or higher, but all are go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words and will make sure your comments are reviewed by the appropriate channels so that our service may improve. We know there's always something new to learn and somehow to improve, reason why we're always listening to our customers feedback in order to continue to strive looking to achieve the highest satisfaction level available.

We hope to welcome you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean

Warm Regards.

Cristobal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing