We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fantastic Beach Resort”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Best and only place I've ever been in Cancun. Don't do a timeshare preso unless you have to.
beach great. water great. pool great. rooms great. food, meh... go into town. service great. new tvs just installed. ping pong tournament too for those wanting a challenge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,665
    917
    328
    126
    78
See reviews for
1,812
1,283
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from a family vacation at the Royal Sands. The beach and pool are very pretty as is the view from an Oceanfront villa. A few more palapa's and extra umbrellas for the beach would solve the tendency of some to horde. The villa was clean with more than adequate space for 4 adults. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is excellent; away from the more commercial end of the strip, but within walking distance of several good restaurants. Rented directly from an owner so did not have to purchase the all inclusive plan. Made our own breakfasts in the villa (the Market is well stocked); lunch in the poolside restaurants or the beach was acceptable if not inspired; and had our dinners out at several nice restaurants. Gym is well equipped (daily or weekly pass extra) and the Spa is attractive. Free WiFi available, but slow.

Room Tip: Oceanfront villas have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
209 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from a family vacation in Cancun, Mexico. There were two adults and four teenagers in our group.

We were greeted at the airport by the airport transportation company recommended by the resort. Thomas Moore (the agency) gave us professional, punctual, and courteous service, upon arrival and departure.

Once at the resort, we were thrilled by all the holiday decorations and the fresh scent at the reception desk. We were checked in quickly, our bags were delivered to our room by the bellmen and we were escorted to our villa by our concierge, Rob. He was friendly and enthusiastic, but he was not “pushy” like some of the comments I read on this site regarding the concierge. I explained that we were not feeling well and had no interest in any welcoming receptions. He was respectful of our wishes and left our villa, after giving us a welcoming gift.

Our villa was perfect for a family of six. The rooms were immaculate, the beds and furniture were comfortable. We did think the villas needed some updating, but the villa was enjoyable overall and the balconies and views were most appreciated. We really liked the use of the kitchen and living area and we made breakfast all seven days of our vacation. (We made our reservations in April, before the resort became all-inclusive.) We loved the convenience of the market and visited it frequently. The prices were reasonable, the shelves were well-stocked with the necessary items and the staff was helpful and cheerful.

We noticed how the staff worked so diligently to keep the resort neat and tidy. Norma was the maid who tended to our villa and really went out of her way to make us feel at home. I never saw any trash of any kind on the grounds and somebody was always cleaning something. You could feel the pride of the resort staff.

The pools and the beach were pristine and made our stay memorable. We did not have any problem getting lounge chairs on the beach or at the pools, except for Christmas Day, so we just adjusted a little with no worries.

We did go parasailing, body surfing, swimming, sunning and boogie boarding all at the resort. The girls had their hair braided by Laura and really enjoyed her talents. Two of the kids went sailing with Carlos, who was helpful and fun. He went out of his way to tend to our needs and wants. I got a 90 minute, deep tissue massage at the spa and it was the best I have ever experienced. In addition, three of the kids went to the arts and crafts area and painted pottery, which we picked up before our departure.

We ate almost every lunch at The Char Hut (swim-up restaurant at the pool) and had a delicious meal every time. The chef was excellent, as was the entire staff. Jose, Miguel, Eduardo and all the other staff were consistently pleasant, friendly and attentive. We really looked forward to seeing them each day.

We would most definitely recommend this fine resort. We had an excellent vacation and look forward to returning! We would not return, if our only option was all-inclusive, since we enjoy supporting the local eateries and having the freedom to dine outside the resorts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel was beautifully maintained. We stayed in part B of a members share. Our accommodations were very good...it was very spacious & good layout. However, our part didn't have access to the private deck & we had an old tube-style (not flat screen) tv! There were 2 places to eat, La Veranda & The Hacienda Sisal (Mexican). La Veranda had the same menu for both lunch and dinner! The Hacienda Sisal was excellent but if you do not make a reservation ahead of time, you would not get a table as a walk-in. The policy for the chairs by the pool & beach are not enforced and like the other reviews, the guests wake up at the crack of dawn, put a towel on the chairs/huts and leave them there for hours unused. I feel when you have the all-inclusive wrist band you get less waiter service than those that are not all-inclusive. Unlike other all-inclusives, the gratuity is not included so you are constantly in need of bringing cash with you everywhere for the gratuities. The wi-fi was practically non-existent. There was no complimentary business center. If you wanted to use a pc to print out boarding passes you needed to go to the on-site market which was extremely expensive! AND in order to purchase anything in the market, you have to open line of credit at the front desk, you cannot just charge a purchase or use cash/pesos which was extremely inconvenient. Unfortunately, the inconveniences of the hotel policies will keep me from returning to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDMCALONIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

First let me emphasize that I own a timeshare at the Royal Resorts(Royal Caribbean) and this was an exchange to see what the newer resort was like. Let me say in the future it is back to the Royal Caribbean. While the service for the most part was excellent, we found the villa dirty and it took a complaint on the third day to get the maid to really clean it up. We had an infant with us and there was bird excrement on the terrace floor that required a complaint to management to clean up. Also we found that security that in the Royal Caribbean did not allow chairs and umbrellas to be reserved without people there, we saw groups going out at 7am to take 8 chairs and 3 umbrellas. The remainder of the resort was the usual excellent and kind service that we have come to love on our stays at Royal Resorts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a beautiful resort with very nice apartments called "villas" (suite side sleeps four and full villa includes two bedrooms, a living area, kitchen and a balcony which sleeps 6 but can with an additional fee sleep 7). Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the views of the sea are wonderful. Despite all of this, staying there can be quite stressful. Finding a beach area at Xmas or New Year's can be quite hard work, and you will have terrible wifi service.

Firstly, the beach. Although the Royal Sands is a large resort with quite a wide beachfront area with palapas, if you go at Xmas or New Year's time you have to fight for your palapa at the beach. The reason is that when the resort is operating at full capacity (6 or 7 people per apartment), people get up at the crack of dawn to stake out their beach space. And even though the Royal Sands has a policy against staking out, they rarely apply the policy. You can see under palapas many lounge chairs with towels on them that go unused for hours whilst you are stuck with no shade. Every morning I would see people staking out palapas on the beach from 6am onwards (even before the night lights in the resort were switched off!), and forget finding a palapa at the reasonable hour of 10am. We want to relax on our holiday not work for it!

Secondly, there is no wifi in your apartment, only in the balcony area. And there it is slooooooow... especially in the evenings when everyone is trying to see their email. Forget about talking to someone on Skype -- it won't happen.

Thirdly, the food. Our experience in previous years (we have been here a few times) was that La Veranda was a reasonable restaurant. This time it was unacceptable. I ordered a club sandwich on the 27th of December, and it came with overcooked turkey from their dinner buffet on the 25th! Just from the look of it I sent it back and refused to eat it. My husband had ordered meat which came tasteless. We imagine that going Alll-Inclusive has them scrambling to save money, but this is unacceptable. We complained and the waiter took it off our bill (as members of the Royal Resorts we are not required to use the All-Inclusive package). Even he and the manager recognised it was inedible.

Fourthly, if you stay in Phase I and arrive late on Saturday evening forget about sleeping in on Sunday. They started at 10am on Sunday on the loudspeaker and didn't stop until after their welcome party after 2pm. They didn't use to start on the loudspeaker until 12.30. I can only guess that it is their change to an All-Inclusive that drives the early morning start.

Would we stay there again? Well, here is the thing. We own an apartment on Xmas week in Phase I, so in theory we would stay there again. But it is becoming such hard work to find a spot on the beach, to ask for the loudspeaker to be quieter, to request each year that they improve their wifi, and the downturn of the food, that we are thinking of exchanging it and staying elsewhere in Cancún.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the quieter area with no loudspeakers going, ask for a beachfront room away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NZyMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks..our second time staying at a Royal ( first was Royal Carribean)Boy were we disappointed. Too commercialized and very unfriendly place to go. Royal Sands is a very nice resort but the mandatory $210 a day( for 2 ppl) for 14 days..all inclusive wasn't worth it. We rented a car for the whole 2 weeks and thank god we had a way to get out!! Between the drunken brawl at the pool area and again later at the beach cabana area..the over priced EVERYTHING and the overall unappreciative and snobby attitudes of the employees and most of the locals..we will be going ANYWHERE but Cancun and ANYWHERE but the Royal Sands.There was one or two awesome table servers and bar servers that we wish we had gotten their names but..we tipped them well and thanked them for their good service.
I will say though..we met the nicest people staying there and have made friends that we're hoping will last a lifetime. Our advise..go to the Royal Haciendas..we drove down there and had the best day of our whole trip!! Definitely will be the place we'll be staying next time!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawana--Porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,030 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
8.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing