We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have owned at the Sands for about 8 years now and they never leave us disappointed. The friendliness of the staff there is second to none and they really make our stay there comfortable and fun. All the Royal Resorts have that feeling but the Sands seems to go to another level with their service. One example is every night during the turtle season the Sands staff release baby turtles, when we checked in the bell boy made sure we knew about it and my kids love this. Well, one night we got side tracked doing other things and the bell boy noticed we weren't there to help release the baby turtles so he called our villa to remind us, my kids were very appreciative they didn't miss it. This is truly a home away from home for us and we look forward to this trip every year. Thank you Sands Staff!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same, just depends on what you want your view to be. We like being ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,707
    941
    336
    129
    82
See reviews for
1,870
1,295
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We own a week here and love it. We just got back and we had a fun trip. Our 4 year old really enjoys the kids activities, the face painting and pirate treasure hunt, etc. The food is good and the prices are reasonable. Its very easy to walk out front to the bus stop and get a bus ride to anywhere that you would like to go. For the 3 or us to take the bus it was about 25 pesos if I remember correctly. The beach is nice now and the big ledge is gone. Other than the rain we had a great trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkyvett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The positive things about the Royal sands and #one, the staff - very friendly and knowledgeable. The pool, drinks and the food were top notch. We really enjoyed the Sunday Welcome Back party along with the bingo, water aerobics and the activity center for the kids. The suites, with two bedrooms and a kitchen were the best we have stayed in for a long time. Weather was great and the sand on the beach did not get hot (somewhat strange to me) as the beach sand here in NC gets too hot to walk on.....The spa was probably one of the best I have used in a long time. The only negative (and not much of one) was the lack of water sports. We will return next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJerryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

stayed for 2 weeks in beachfront i5227, or maid daisy was the best and victor out front was super, check in was very easy and cashless shopping made for very easy stay, the rooms are large enough as there was six of us. check out was very easy also. the pools were warm and the drinks excellent. the food onsite was very fresh and not overpriced.easy walk to luxury ave shopping and outside eating, my advice is rent a car and save on overpriced cabs, if you do take a cab leave resort go next door to luixury ave and negotiate a price, driving in mexico is easy just follow speed limits and no problems, rented from easyway same car at resort was 700.00 more for the 2 weeks from adocar, plus there insurance, so with easyway we saved over 1000.00 in all for a mini van that seated 6, if you have 4 or more just one tour to chitzen iza or pdc done on your own just paid for the rental of the car for the week , and rooms have kitchens so save a few bucks and drive to costco or mega or superrama for food, we had 3 kids with us so doing this saved us a fortune over the store at the resort.we will for sure be back as we are looking to become owners

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebig-e73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, MO
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Enjoyed the Royal Sands for our 2nd time from 9/22-9/29 with an Interval International exchange. We thought our room location last year was spectacular, but it was even better this year with a unit that fronted the beach, literally steps from the sand. Everything from the rooms to the grounds to the beachfront is very well maintained. As so many others have indicated, the staff is simply exceptional, doing everything in their power to enhance your vacation experience. Spoke at length with several of their non-management staff and I can tell you that they are fabulous ambassadors for Royal; they talked of how well Royal treats and trains their employees. Fabulous dining at Captain's Cove and Sisal.....alas, El Conquistador was not an option as the resort was closed for maintenance that week.

The one and only disappointment for us was learning of a policy change; beginning soon, non-owners will be forced to buy an all-inclusive food/drink package when they stay at this resort. While the economics of this plan may work well for those who enjoy multiple alcoholic beverages each day, for those who drink much less or not at all, it will cause their food/beverage expense to escalate dramatically. I hope that Royal will rethink this policy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just returned from a 7 day stay at the Royal Sands while staying with friends in their time share. We also own a timeshare villa, Wk. 38. (odd years). Royal Resorts and expecially the Royal Sands is our choice of ownership. You are greeted at the reception area with "Welcome Home" by the staff and you truly feel you are at home. Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leathermen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been coming to The Royal Sands for about 9 years and it gets better every year.. I think they have the best employees here. I have had a couple of experiences that i could have been ripped off because i left jewelry one time and cash another time out in the bed by accident And the wonderful cleaning ladies made sure i got it back. The beaches here are the best around and i guarantee you will not go by an employee without them greeting you. Once you come to the sands you will never try anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayRay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
0.9 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#16 of 175 in Cancun
3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing