We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arcola, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Beach”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Where do I start. From the very beginning the check-in process was quick and pleasant. We have been to Hawaii, Bahamas, LA, Virginia Beach, Hilton Head and Florida and I don't think that their beaches can beat Cancun. Absolutely beautiful! We usually go to the Riviera Maya because we aren't much for the beach, but, if that's what you like, it is perfect. If you want to go into town to Coco Bongo, Sr. Frogs, or the mall, the bus stop is right in front of the hotel and it costs $1.00 each way! I was a little concerned as to how they were going to mix Mexico with Hard Rock, but they seem to do it well. The lobby is a little small and crowded, but I hear that is going to change as they are building two more bars. One for the younger crowd and a quieter one for us old geezers ( I'm 58). Yes, the music is quite loud in the lobby at all times, so if you want to read a book, better go sit by the pool or beach. One nice thing is that there is free wi-fi everywhere, even by the pool. I've been to Hard Rock in Punta Cana and Riviera Maya and the food just might be better here than anywhere, although Riviera Maya is close. I hate to give any special shout outs to the staff because they were all great, but Jamie and Victor were amazing. I've read the "terrible reviews" and I would like to meet those people because I just can't believe their reviews. Most complain about the rooms that they thought they had booked, but only to find out that they didn't get what they thought they booked. For those, I would only say that you get what you pay for. If you get a room for a discounted price, you will probably be overlooking the parking lot. They should blame their online booking agent, not the Hotel. My advice is to go directly to the Hard Rock site and you probably won't be disappointed ( that is not a guarantee). There might be better properties on the strip, but I'm very happy with this one and will go back. The pool staff was great as they always had something for us to do. Shows at night were fantastic. One night the Karaoke show featured a live band that could play anything that was put to them. (as far as I know, but it was great!) Any questions, I will be glad to answer!

Room Tip: Just be sure to get a beach/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHoladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear RHoladay,

Thank you for the EXCELLENT review about our resort! I enjoy reading our loved guests comments and even more to hear that you were pleasantly enjoyed our staff service; certainly you love our rock n' roll style! . Thanks again for your comments and hope welcoming you back to the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.

KEEP THE GOOD MEMORIES!
Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,654
    1,561
    559
    212
    164
See reviews for
3,343
3,084
115
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denison
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our second stay at this resort. We were there 6 years ago when it was called Cancun Palace. We are Palace Members- mid 50's - and enjoy the service level we receive. The change has it's benifits and it draw backs. The Hard Rock change brings a younger and more active crowd. The resort was very busy compared to the previous trip and the pool was a fun environment. The food is better now with the Brazilian Resteraunt addition. The hotel bar is now more usable than the prior arrangement....smaller but better. The decore is fun to look at if you are a music lover. The one draw back is the loud level of music in the lobby. They could turn it down 30% and more people would enjoy it.

One thing we do notice is that the service level of the long time employees remains very good. The new younger group is much more hit and miss, but that a fact of life everywhere.

Palace does a nice job...but don't be bashful. if you don't ask you might not get all you want.

Employees we really enjoyed:

Luis Martinez and Cinthia Rodriguez in the Sallon. They were very entertaining and made the Mani-Pedi thing fun even for a guy! The Spa in general is very good...but book early and double check your times.

My wife made a jewelry purchase in the lobby store and Veronica was very helpful. She even cleaned a silver necklace my wife was wearing at the time and helped get the best price with the promotions she had to work with.

A special note about the Wine Sommelier, Nelson Bouchot. We attended a Wine Event to pair food with varius wines.....he did a very nice job and was entertaining. Two days later we attended a Member Thank You event......he immidiately noticed us when we walked in and in short oder he had a nice bottle of wine at our table and thanked us for coming. Classy touch.

Also...at the Brazilian Resteraunt we sat on the North side. The 2 gentlement that served the tables with meat were very good...but I did not write down their names.

We go to Mexico about once a year and have stayed at 2 non-Palace resorts to save money. it is always fun in Quintanaroo but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Get a gulf side room....not the Lagoon side. Consiere level is nice at floors 10-11-12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hi Carol B,

We want to thank you for your great review. It is very encouraging to learn that there were many little things you loved about our facilities and the rock star service from our staff that made your vacation very enjoyable like the characteristic Mexican hospitality. We appreciate your great comments and also your suggestions as our goal is to always provide excellent service and unforgettable vacations, we thank you one more time and hope we can welcome you again soon.

EXPECT THE UNEXPECTED!
Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We weren't sure what to expect but as soon as we got to the hotel the staff is very friendly and caring. From Hector outside to Willy at the front desk and Adela at the concierge desk. My daughter has many allergies and I didn't have to worry because Chef Jonathan made her meals separately and the other chef's also took good care of her. It was nice not having to worry that I may have to use her epi-pen. The rest of the staff, Luis, Nami Yummy and the gang were very nice and friendly and made it so fun for us. The rooms are like any other hotel and it is not a big hotel but the staff make up for it. The spa was amazing, we enjoyed a beach massage and the best facial ever. The 1800 credit really helps and we were able to do things we normally wouldn't. The kids said it was the best vacation ever. Thank you Hard Rock!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Pinder B,

Thank you very much for your review i had such a good time reading all your comments about you experience at our resort, comments like yours really boost our passion for service! Looking forward greet you back and make you feel like Rock stars.

THROW A RAGER!
Juan Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Legendary members, first time guests in Cancun. Joined in Punta Cana so comparisons were inevitable.

We thought the service was great, food was very good, our room was comfortable and the view was excellent overlooking the beach. A special thank you to Ramos in Zen for his top notch service.

Now for the so-so things. As others have said the bed is hard, but we did not mind it. Walls are thin, as we heard our neighbour snoring. In general they were quiet but we could hear normal conversations. Gym is small but reasonably adequate.

Most of what we disliked centered around the beach and pool area. While the pool area is nice and generally lively, take the advice of others and grab a spot very early. People were saving spots before the sun was up and many guests had no chairs by mid morning. The beach is nice however the surf can be rough (not as bad as Punta Cana) and for us, we need a little shade. If there is any wind, they will not put up umbrellas, meaning we spent 2 days in our room, as the pool area was booked solid, and we choose not to fry in the hot sun. We did manage to book the cabanas at 150 resort credits for the latter part of the week, which helped with shading. The travel planners told us none were available early in the week but there were many unused for entire days.

To us, Punta Cana feels like a resort, Cancun is a hotel on the beach. I am not sure our Legendary membership did much for us in this case and unless they can provide a little more shade on the beach and restrict chair hogs by the pool, I doubt we would return.

Room Tip: The view is terrific if you can get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougKim41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear DougKim41,

Thank you for sharing your comments! We are pleased to hear you loved the view from your room and the great service that our staff always delivers specially Ramos at Zen, I will pass on your words to his supervisor.
However I regret to hear about the inconveniences you had around the pool and beach. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, we would like to offer you our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and I would like to let you know that I am working with the management team here to ensure we reinforce our policy in this regards and we are seeing a good improvement as we are implementing said policies. However we will continue working on this to ensure our guests have always a spot available to enjoy the amazing beach and pool at our resort.

I invite you to come back soon to enjoy of our resort and the VIP treatment our members are accustomed to in the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.

Cordially,

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very first time in Cancun .Unbelievable place to stay hard rock. Everybody here is crazy nice and would do anything and everything you need them to do. if I could change anything about the place it would be nothing. We are already planning to come back next year maybe even this year again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badcrd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hi Badcrd3,

Greeting from the sunny Cancun!.Thank you for the short and sweet review!
We are so glad to hear your comments regarding your experience at our resort. Nothing rocks our world more than hearing that you enjoyed every moment of your vacation. we can’t wait to welcome you again and give you the best rock n´ roll vacation here at Hard Rock hotel Cancun.

ALL IS ONE
Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very nice. Hotel is very noisy don't expect to sleep day or night. People always working outside, room service cart going 24/7 and downtown and bars are somewhat far to walk to. It's a 15 US dollar taxi fare

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Antonietta1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Antonietta1085,

Thank you for your short but sweet review, is a pleasure to read you had a good stay, in regards to your comments about noise we clearly missed our mark. Nevertheless to continue being the top vacation destination for our valued guests we have started an ambitious project to drastically reduce the noise coming from the hallways and adjacent rooms to provide a quiet environment and privacy. Everybody in Hard Rock Hotel Cancun send their regards hoping to have you back soon.

Rock on!

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had a wedding at the Hard Rock Cancun (I am a wedding and event planner) and was there for 4 days for the event. From the event side, everything was accommodated and went absolutely wonderful for the client. Would definitely recommend to any brides doing destination. Be aware though, receptions on the beach or in the terraces at night can get VERY windy…I would suggest a beach ceremony and indoor reception.

Anyway, I was blown away by the hard rock! Food quality was fantastic, much better than I was expecting for this hotel. The Italian was by far my favorite restaurant, but we also enjoyed the chinese, brazillian steak house and mexican grill by the beach for lunch as well. The service was great and the entire staff was always keeping us smiling.

Because I was there for work we didn't drink much or swim but I know the wedding party had a great time doing both. We typically travel to adults only hotels, but the hard rock is so fun and upbeat that we will absolutely be back with a group.

This hotel is great for the value, and my only complaint would be that the beds were kind of hard. Maybe it was just our room, who knows.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hey there Molly R,

Wow! What an amazing review, it is so encouraging to hear your comments regarding your experience at our resort. Nothing rocks our world more than hearing that you enjoyed every moment of your vacation and will return in a heartbeat to enjoy the amazing sunsets by the beach. We can’t wait to welcome you again and roll the red carpet for you and your crew and provide you with the stupendous service that you already know. Keep the good memories!!!

LOVE ALL SERVE ALL
Juan Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.4 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 175 in Cancun
5,862 reviews
7.9 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Cancun Palace Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
#21 Family Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun- Where Stage Front meets Beach Front At our unique Cancun beach resort, we've created the ultimate beachfront celebrity playground and transformed the typical All Inclusive vacation into a rock star paradise, which reflects our Mexican setting and cosmopolitan flair. Located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room hydro spa tub, fine dining at, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists. There are no limits at our All Inclusive Cancun resort. Go on a world tour with the internationally inspired restaurants of the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun. Give meetings the rock star treatment. Plan the ultimate celebrity-style wedding. Rock out at the beach or the luxurious pool area with swim up bars. Indulge in a glorious spa day. The Hard Rock Hotel Cancun truly has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing